Skip to Search



A Guide to the William A. McRae Papers

Finding aid prepared by Dept. Staff

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections
March 2005


Descriptive Summary

Creator: McRae, William A.
Title: William A. McRae Papers
Dates: 1945
Abstract: Correspondence of military officers regarding the United Nations Security Council.
Extent: 0.01 Linear feet. 2 folders.
Identification: MS Group 112 1/2-3
Language(s): English
Online Content Items from this collection have been digitized and are available online in the UF Digital Collections. For more information please see the note below.

Biographical/Historical Note

Colonel William A. McRae Jr. of the United States Army Air Corps served as one of several U. S. Joint Chiefs of Staff military advisers to the San Francisco Conference held in June of 1945 to coordinate an international organization, which later took the title United Nations, and draft a charter. McRae's primary responsibility was to ensure that the U.N. charter was consistent with the Inter-American defensive structure, an arrangement made among the American Republics during the Second World War for the purposes of discouraging non-American nations from intervening in the affairs of the Western Hemisphere.


Scope and Content

The collection contains letters to and from several military figures, including U. S. Admiral A. P. Hepburn and Brigadier General A. J. McFarland, daily progress reports of the meetings of the Security Council to determine rules and procedures, journals and pamphlets passed out during the conference, and drafts of the charter itself with editorial commentary.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

The collection is open for research.


Administrative Information

Alternate Form of Material

Digital reproductions of items in this collection are available online via the University of Florida Digital Collections (UFDC). Please read the Permissions for Use statement for information on copyright, fair use, and use of UFDC digital objects.

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], William A. McRae Papers, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.


Selected Subjects and Access Terms

Hepburn, A. P.
McFarland, A. J.
United Nations Conference on International Organization (1945 : San Francisco, Calif.)



For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page