Skip to Search



The John D. MacDonald Collection : Contents List Continued

Return to the main finding guide for the MacDonald Collection.




Secondary Sources and Works by Other Authors



Series 4A - Articles and Publications by Other Authors

This section contains books and articles written about JDM and Travis McGee. Material is organized alphabetical by subject (reverse chronological within subjects).

Box 155

Articles About JDM (copies of articles, tear sheets). 1984-1989
Articles About JDM (copies of articles, tear sheets). 1980-1983

Box 156

Articles About JDM (copies of articles, tear sheets). 1975-1979
Articles About JDM (Chicago Tribune Book World article). 1973 Jul 15
Articles About JDM (copies of articles, magazines, tear sheets). 1970-1974
Articles About JDM (copies of articles, magazines, tear sheets). 1960-1969
Articles About JDM (Siesta Out-Look article). 1956 Oct 26
Articles About JDM (copies of articles). 1946-1959
Articles About JDM (copies of articles, newsletters, tear sheets). Not dated
Articles About JDM - "In Memory of JDM" ("Clubhouse" page 15). 1987 Mar
Articles About JDM - "John, We Hardly Knew You" ("Milwaukee Magazine" page 11). 1987 Mar
Articles About Travis McGee (copies of articles, newsletters, tear sheets). 1969-1985
Articles About Travis McGee (copies of articles, tear sheets). Not dated
Books About JDM - Brogan, John, "The Official Travis McGee Quiz Book" (typescript with an introduction by JDM). Not dated
Books About JDM - Hirshberg, Edgar W., "John D. MacDonald" (correspondence, typescript). 1985
Books About JDM - MacNair, Van Jr., "Morning in Mexico" (typescript). Not dated
Books About JDM - Moffatt, Len and June; Clark, William J., "The JDM Master Checklist: A Bibliography of the Published Writings of John D. MacDonald" (typescript with written corrections). 1969
Books About JDM - Moffatt, Len and June; Clark, William J., "The JDM Master Checklist: A Bibliography of the Published Writings of John D. MacDonald" books (2 copies). 1969
Books About JDM - Moffatt, Len and June; Clark, William J., "The JDM Master Checklist: A Bibliography of the Published Writings of John D. MacDonald" (correspondence). 1963-1969, Not dated
Books About JDM - O'Brien, Geoffrey, "Hardboiled America" (correspondence, articles, typescript with corrections). 1981

Box 157

Books About JDM - Rotsler, William, "The John D. MacDonald Quotebook" (from "Quotebook"). Not dated
Books About JDM - Shine, Walter and Jean, "John D. MacDonald Bibliography Biography: Additions and Corrections" (correspondence, typescripts with corrections). 1983, Not dated
Books About JDM - Shine, Walter and Jean, "John D. MacDonald Bibliography Biography" (correspondence). [See also the "Oversize Materials" series for galleys, printer's copy, coversheets.] 1980, 1984
Books About JDM - Shine, Walter and Jean, "John D. MacDonald Bibliography Biography" - correspondence, articles, scrapbook (copies of book pages with autographs and notes). 1980, 1982
Books About JDM - Shine, Walter and Jean, "John D. MacDonald Bibliography Biography" (permission request correspondence, cover samples). 1980, Not dated
Books About JDM - Shine, Walter and Jean, "John D. MacDonald Bibliography Biography" (correspondence). 1979, Not dated
Books About JDM - Shine, Walter and Jean, "John D. MacDonald Bibliography Biography" (correspondence, copies of short stories, adverts, typescript pages). 1960-1977, Not dated
Books About JDM - Shine, Walter and Jean, "Private Investigators" (copy of typescript) [RESTRICTED ACCESS UNTIL JAN 2012]. 1979
Books About JDM - Shine, Walter and Jean, "A Potpourri of Printings: The Books of John D. MacDonald" (copy of book). 1982
Books About JDM - Shine, Walter and Jean; Research, Reviews, Advertising (articles, adverts, book list). 1964, Not dated
Books About JDM - Shine, Walter and Jean, "John D. MacDonald: A True Bibliophile" (book with "Property-Dorothy P. MacDonald" on cover). 1985 Mar
Books About JDM - Shine, Walter and Jean, "JDM: A True Bibliophile" (typescript). Not dated
Miscellaneous Correspondence. 1982-1986
Published Journals / Books About JDM (copies of journal articles). 1976-1980


Series 4B - Critical Reviews

This section contains reviews published on JDM's works and general criticisms. They are grouped by title of the work with the general criticisms at the end. The works are organized alphabetically.
Books of John D. MacDonald on the Best Seller Lists (New York Times, Publisher's Weekly, Time). 1975-1985
Ballroom of the Skies (copies of reviews). 1968 Feb -1973 May
Barrier Island (copies of reviews, tear sheets, correspondence). 1986 Apr-Sep, Not dated
The Beach Girls (review clippings). 1968 Apr-Sep
Border Town Girl (copies of reviews). 1969 Jul
The Brass Cupcake (copies of reviews). 1968 Nov
Bright Orange for the Shroud (copies of reviews, tear sheets). 1972 Apr-1973 Mar
Bullet for Cinderella (copy of review). 1966 Jul
Cancel All Our Vows (copies of reviews). 1972 Jun-Sep
Cape Fear (The Executioners) (copy of review). 1967 Nov
Cinnamon Skin (copies of reviews, booklet, tear sheets). 1982 Mar-1983 Sep, Not dated
Clemmie (copy of review). 1958?

Box 158

Condominium (copies of reviews, tear sheets). 1976 Nov -1977 Apr
Condominium (copies of reviews, tear sheets). 1977 May-1978 Jan
Condominium (copies of reviews, booklet, correspondence). Not dated
Contrary Pleasure (copies of reviews). 1969 Jan-Jun
The Crossroads (review clipping). 1968 Oct
Cry Hard, Cry Fast (copy of reviews, tear sheets). 1967 Apr-1971 Jul
The Damned (copy of reviews). 1955 May, 1964 Oct
Darker Than Amber (copies of reviews). 1966 Jun -1970 Apr
Dead Low Tide (copies of reviews). 1953 May-Jul
Deadly Shade of Gold (copies of reviews). 1967 May-1976 Feb
The Deceivers (copies of reviews). 1968 Mar
The Deep Blue Good-By (copies of reviews). 1968 Apr-1976 Apr
The Dreadful Lemon Sky (copies of reviews, tear sheets). 1975 Jan-1976 Jan
Dress Her in Indigo (copies of reviews). 1969 Jul-1975 Jun
The Empty Copper Sea (copies of reviews, tear sheets). 1978 May-1979 Oct
The Empty Trap (copies of reviews). 1967 May-Apr
The End of the Night (copies of reviews, booklets). 1960-1988 Jul
End of the Tiger and Other Short Stories (copies of reviews). 1966 Jul-1968 Mar
Flash of Green (copies of reviews). 1962 Aug-1977 Sep
Free Fall in Crimson (copies of reviews, tear sheets). 1981 Mar-1982 Jun
A Friendship: The Letters of Dan Rowan and John D. MacDonald 1967-1974 (copies of reviews). 1986 Oct-1987 Feb
The Girl in the Plain Brown Wrapper (copies of reviews). 1968 Oct-1973 Aug

Box 159

The Girl, the Gold Watch, and Everything (reviews). 1967 Sep-1968 Feb
The Good Old Stuff (copies of reviews). Sept. 1982 - April 1983
The Green Ripper (copies of reviews, tear sheets, magazine). 1979 Aug-1980 Dec
The House Guests (copies of reviews). 1965 Feb-1973 Dec
A Key to the Suite (copies of reviews). 1962 Apr-1968 Dec
The Last One Left (copies of reviews, booklet). 1966 Oct-1969 Jan
The Last One Left (copies of reviews). Not dated
The Lonely Silver Rain (copies of articles, tear sheets). 1985 Jan-Nov
The Long Lavender Look (copies of reviews). 1972 Jan-Sep
More Good Old Stuff (copies of reviews). 1984 Mar-Dec
Murder in the Wind (copy of review). 1956 Sep
Nightmare in Pink (copies of reviews). 1966 Mar-1976 Jul
No Deadly Drug (copies of reviews). 1966 Nov-1969 May
Nothing Can Go Wrong (copies of reviews). 1981 Aug-1983 Apr
One Fearful Yellow Eye (copies of reviews). 1967 Feb-1978 Apr
One More Sunday (copies of reviews, tear sheets). 1984 Jan-Oct
One More Sunday (copies of reviews). Not dated
The Only Girl in the Game (copies of reviews). 1967 May-1968 Apr
Pale Grey for Guilt (copies of reviews). 1968 Jan-1972 Mar, Not dated
Please Write for Details (copies of reviews). 1959 Feb-1971 Jul
The Price of Murder (copies of reviews). 1966 Apr-1967 Feb
A Purple Place for Dying (copies of reviews). 1968 Aug-1977 Apr, Not dated
The Quick Red Fox (copies of reviews). 1966 Dec-1974 Aug, Not dated
The Scarlet Ruse (copies of reviews, tear sheets). 1973 May-1980 Dec
The Scarlet Ruse (copies of reviews). Not dated
S*E*V*E*N (copy of article). 1971 May
Slam the Big Door (copies of reviews, booklet). 1954 Sep-1987 Mar
A Tan and Sandy Silence (copies of reviews). 1972 Jan-1979 Aug
Three for McGee (copies of reviews, booklet). 1964 Oct-1970 Feb
The Turquoise Lament (copies of reviews, newsletter, booklet). 1973 Sep-1980

Box 160

Wine of the Dreamers (copies of reviews). 1968 Feb-1969 Feb
You Live Once (copies of reviews). 1967 Mar
General Criticism About JDM's Work (copies of articles, tear sheets). 1962-1986


Series 4C - Academic Research and Scholarship

Contains theses, essays, course information, correspondence, and scholarly journal articles discussing JDM's work from an academic view. Material is organized alphabetically by type of work produced.
Correspondence - Burger, Knox (about student essays). 1969
Correspondence - Carney, Raymond. 1979
Correspondence - Cromie, Alice. 1982
Correspondence - Kelly, R. Gordon. 1972
Correspondence - Schworm, Vixon. 1967-1968
Correspondence - Tolley, Michael J. 1977
Correspondence - Troutman, Richard B. 1980
Course - Tolley, Michael J., "The Hero in Popular Fiction" (radio university book). 1977
Essay - Abrahams, Etta C., "The Trouble with Cops." (typescript, 6 pages). 1978
Essay - Allen, Marcia W., Untitled (typescript for paperbacks class, 2 pages). 1969 Jun 18
Essay - Azar, Karen M., "In Defense of Salvage Experts Everywhere" (typescript for paperbacks class, 3 pages). 1969 Jun 18
Essay - Bente, Diane, Untitled (typescript for paperbacks class, 2 pages). 1969 Jun 23
Essay - Bissette, Sabra, Untitled (typescript for paperbacks class, 2 pages). 1969 Jun 17
Essay - Britten, Norman A., "From the 1940s to the 1980s: John D. MacDonald's Increasing Use of Scatological Language" (typescript, 16 pages). 1979
Essay - Cabot, Joan G., "Critique of a Paperback Book" (typescript for paperbacks class, 2 pages). 1969
Essay - Carney, Raymond, "John MacDonald and the Technologies of Knowledge" (typescript, 6 pages). 1979
Essay - Cheever, Susan, Untitled (typescript for paperbacks class, 2 pages). 1969 Jun 18
Essay - Cromie, Alice, "Travis McGee's Florida" (typescript, 19 pages). 1982
Essay - Driscoll, William, Untitled (typescript for paperbacks class, 2 pages). 1969 Jun 18
Essay - Fleming, Susan, Untitled (typescript for paperbacks class, 2 pages). 1969 Jun 18
Essay - Friberg, Karen, Untitled (typescript for paperbacks class, 2 pages). 1969 Jun 18
Essay - Grimes, Larry E., "The Reluctant Hero: Reflections on vocation and Heroism in the Travis McGee Novels of John D. MacDonald" (typescript, 10 pages). Not dated
Essay - Gross, Hank, Untitled (typescript for paperbacks class, 2 pages). 1969 Jun 18
Essay - Groth, Robin B., Untitled (typescript for paperbacks class, 1 page). 1969 Jun 18
Essay - Handlin, R., Untitled (typescript for paperbacks class, 2 pages). 1969 Jun 18
Essay - Higgins, Anthony, Untitled (typescript for paperbacks class, 2 pages). 1969 Jun 18
Essay - Huntsberger, Marilyn, Untitled (typescript for paperbacks class, 2 pages). 1969 Jun 18
Essay - Hurley, Martha L., Untitled (typescript for paperbacks class, 2 pages). 1969 Jun 17
Essay - Jeffrey, David K., "The Mythology of Crime and Violence" (typescript, 11 pages). Not dated
Essay - Jukes, John, Untitled (typescript for paperbacks class, 2 pages). 1969 Jun 18
Essay - Kelly, R. Gordon, "The Precarious World of John D. MacDonald" (typescript, 21 pages). 1972
Essay - Larry, Melinda, Untitled (typescript for paperbacks class, 1 page). 1969 Jun 19
Essay - Lavoie, Rachel, Untitled (typescript for paperbacks class, 2 pages). 1969 Jun 18
Essay - Lewis, Joe, Untitled (typescript for paperbacks class, 1 page). 1969 Jun 18
Essay - MacAuslem, Russell, Untitled (typescript for paperbacks class, 1 page). 1969 Jun 18
Essay - Matsukawa, Sandra, Untitled (typescript for paperbacks class, 2 pages). 1969 Jun 22
Essay - Modius, Alice, Untitled (typescript for paperbacks class, 2 pages). 1969
Essay - Moran, Peggy, "McGee's Girls" (typescript, 9 pages). Not dated
Essay - Nevins, Francis M., Jr., "The Making of a Tale Spinner: John D. MacDonald's Early Pulp Stories" (typescript, 10 pages). Not dated
Essay - O'Hara, Ann, Untitled (typescript for paperbacks class, 2 pages). 1969 Jun 18
Essay - Rose, Deborah, Untitled (typescript for paperbacks class, 2 pages). 1969 Jun 18
Essay - Shinn, Michael, Untitled (typescript for paperbacks class, 2 pages). 1969 Jun 18
Essay - Spaulding, M., Untitled (typescript for paperbacks class, 2 pages). 1969 Jun 18
Essay - Stopinski, Bettie, Untitled (typescript for paperbacks class, 2 pages). 1969 Jun 18
Essay - Tellerman, Judith, Untitled (typescript for paperbacks class, 2 pages). 1969 Jun 18
Essay - Tolley, Michael J., "Color Him Quixote: MacDonald's Strategy in the Early McGee Novels" (typescript, 22 pages). 1977
Essay - Wall, Donald C., "Ecology and the Detective Novel: The Contribution of John D. MacDonald" (typescript, 16 pages). Not dated
Essay - Willeford, Charles, "Travis McGee and the Big White Smile" (typescripts, 19 pages, note "I do not know if this essay by Charles Willeford was ever published."-JDM). Not dated
Essay - Wood, Arnold A., Jr., "John D. MacDonald's Travis McGee: Hero in Search of Self" (typescript, 31 pages). 1977
Essay - Wright, Lawrence, Untitled (typescript for paperbacks class, 2 pages). 1969 Jun 18
Essay - Unknown Author, "Travis McGee as a Traditional Hero" (typescript, 12 pages). Not dated
Scholarly Journal - "Clues: A Journal of Detection" ("The Disorderly World of…", "John D. MacDonald's Increasing Use…", copies of articles). 1982, 1986
Thesis - Abrahams, Etta Claire, "Visions and Values in the Action Detective Novel: A Study of the Works of Raymond Chandler, Kenneth Millar, and John D. MacDonald" (bound copy, 197 pages). 1973
Thesis - LeBouef, Robert A. (correspondence, prospectus for thesis). 1975
Thesis - Mallory, Margaret I., "The Heroes of John D. MacDonald's Novels of Violence" (typescript, 128 pages). 1976 Aug
Thesis - Troutman, Richard B., "Adam Unparadised" (typescript, 80 pages). 1978


Series 4D - Screenplays

This section contains screenplays relating to JDM's novels, and articles about the films and the filming process. The material is organized alphabetically by title of screenplay.

Box 161

The Beach Girls - McDaniel, Charles A. (outline, production budget). 1970
Cape Fear (The Executioners) - Webb, James R. (review). 1962 May
Cape Fear (The Executioners) - Webb, James R. (final revised screenplay). 1961
Condominium (reviews). 1979-1980
Darker Than Amber - Waters, Ed (photos, correspondence, articles, biographies). 1970
Darker Than Amber - Waters, Ed ("shooting script", final draft). 1969 Aug
Darker Than Amber - Waters, Ed ("shooting script", first draft). 1969 Feb
Darker Than Amber - Waters, Ed (correspondence). 1968 Jun-Sep
Darker Than Amber - Waters, Ed (typescript, corrections). 1968 Jun 4
Darker Than Amber - Waters, Ed (reviews). 1967 May-1978 Aug, Not dated
Darker Than Amber - Waters, Ed (typescript). Not dated
Deep Blue Good-by - Stern, Sandy (typescript final draft). 1970 Sep
The Empty Copper Sea - Silliphant, Stirling (typescript final draft). 1982
The Empty Copper Sea - Silliphant, Stirling (typescript pilot draft). 1981
The Empty Copper Sea - Silliphant, Stirling (articles). 1980 Dec-1983 Jun

Box 162

A Flash of Green - Nunez, Victor (articles). 1983 Jul-1986 Jan
A Flash of Green - Nunez, Victor (autographed typescript). 1983
A Flash of Green - Nunez, Victor (correspondence). 1982 Jun-1986 May
A Flash of Green - Nunez, Victor (confidential offering memorandum). 1982
A Flash of Green - Nunez, Victor (typescript second draft). 1981
The Girl, the Gold Watch, and Dynamite - Zateslo, George (typescript final draft). 1981
The Girl, the Gold Watch, and Dynamite - Zateslo, George (articles). 1980 Feb-1981 May
I Could Go on Singing: The Lonely Stage - Simon, Mayo (typescript). 1961
I Could Go on Singing: The Lonely Stage - Dozier, Robert (typescript). Not dated
I Could Go on Singing: The Lonely Stage (unfinished typescript). Not dated
In the Heat of the Night - Silliphant, Stirling (typescript revised first draft). 1966
Judd for the Defense - McDaniel, Charles A. (typescript final draft). 1968
The Lonely Silver Rain - Browning, Rod (typescript first draft). 1986

Box 163

Show Business Illustrated - The Judy Garland Story (research, 3 parts). 1961 Oct-Nov
The Soft Touch - Hunt, Gordon; Burton, Al (typescript). 1961
The Trap of Solid Gold - Violett, Ellen M. (articles). 1966 Dec-1967 Jan
The Trap of Solid Gold - Violett, Ellen M. (typescript final draft). 1966
Travis McGee - Johnson, Kenneth (typescript first draft). 1982
Miscellaneous Articles About JDM TV / Movie Projects. 1965 Jan-1983 Jun


Series 4E - Bibliophile and Fanzines

Contains Bronze Shadows issues (#6-#12), An Index to the JDM Bibliophile, The JDM Bibliophile issues (#2-#48), The JDM Bibliophile Bulletin issues (#1-#4), Mystery Lover's Newsletter, Mystery Writer's Annual, Obelisk, and Special Confidential Reports . The material is organized alphabetically by publication, and by issue number.
Bronze Shadows #6 (editor: Fred S. Cook). 1966 Sep
Bronze Shadows #7 (editor: Fred S. Cook). 1966 Nov
Bronze Shadows #8 (editor: Fred S. Cook). 1967 Jan
Bronze Shadows #9 (editor: Fred S. Cook). 1967 Mar
Bronze Shadows #10 (editor: Fred S. Cook). 1967 Jun
Bronze Shadows #11 (editor: Fred S. Cook). 1967 Aug
Bronze Shadows #12 (editor: Fred S. Cook). 1967 Oct
An Index to the JDM Bibliophile (Jean and Walter Shine, issues 1-30). 1982
An Index to the JDM Bibliophile (Jean and Walter Shine, issues 1-30, typescript first draft). 1982
The JDM Bibliophile #2 (editor: Len Moffatt). 1966 May
The JDM Bibliophile #3 (editor: Len Moffatt). 1966 Aug
The JDM Bibliophile #4 (editor: Len Moffatt). 1966 Nov
The JDM Bibliophile #5 (editors: Len and June Moffatt). 1967 Feb
The JDM Bibliophile #6 (editors: Len and June Moffatt). 1967 May
The JDM Bibliophile #7 (editors: Len and June Moffatt). 1967 Aug
The JDM Bibliophile #8 (editors: Len and June Moffatt). 1967 Dec
The JDM Bibliophile #9 (editors: Len and June Moffatt). 1968 Mar
The JDM Bibliophile #10 (editors: Len and June Moffatt). 1968 Jun
The JDM Bibliophile #11 (editors: Len and June Moffatt). 1969 Apr
The JDM Bibliophile #12 (editors: Len and June Moffatt). 1969 Aug
The JDM Bibliophile #13 (editors: Len and June Moffatt). 1970 Jan
The JDM Bibliophile #14 (editors: Len and June Moffatt). 1970 Aug
The JDM Bibliophile #15 (editors: Len and June Moffatt). 1971 Mar
The JDM Bibliophile #16 (editors: Len and June Moffatt). 1971 Aug
The JDM Bibliophile #17 (editors: Len and June Moffatt). 1972 Mar
The JDM Bibliophile #18 (editors: Len and June Moffatt). 1973 Apr
The JDM Bibliophile #19 (editors: Len and June Moffatt). 1974 Sep
The JDM Bibliophile #20 (editors: Len and June Moffatt). 1975 Mar
The JDM Bibliophile #21 (editors: Len and June Moffatt). 1976 Feb
The JDM Bibliophile #22 (editors: Len and June Moffatt). 1977 Aug
The JDM Bibliophile #23 (editor: Ed Hirschberg). 1979 Jan
The JDM Bibliophile #24 (editor: Ed Hirschberg). 1979 Jul
The JDM Bibliophile #25 (editor: Ed Hirschberg). 1980 Jan
The JDM Bibliophile #26 (editor: Ed Hirschberg). 1980 Jul
The JDM Bibliophile #27 (editor: Ed Hirschberg). 1981 Jan

Box 164

The JDM Bibliophile #28 (editor: Ed Hirschberg). 1981 Jul
The JDM Bibliophile #29 (editor: Ed Hirschberg). 1982 Jan
The JDM Bibliophile #30 (editor: Ed Hirschberg). 1982 Jul
The JDM Bibliophile #31 (editor: Ed Hirschberg). 1983 Jan
The JDM Bibliophile #32 (editor: Ed Hirschberg). 1983 Jul
The JDM Bibliophile #33 (editor: Ed Hirschberg). 1984 Jan
The JDM Bibliophile #34 (editor: Ed Hirschberg). 1984 Jul
The JDM Bibliophile #35 (editor: Ed Hirschberg). 1985 Jan
The JDM Bibliophile #36 (editor: Ed Hirschberg). 1985 Jul
The JDM Bibliophile #37 (editor: Ed Hirschberg). 1986 Jan
The JDM Bibliophile #38 (editor: Ed Hirschberg). 1986 Jul
The JDM Bibliophile #39 (editor: Ed Hirschberg). 1987 Jan
The JDM Bibliophile #40 (editor: Ed Hirschberg). 1987 Nov-Dec
The JDM Bibliophile #41 (editor: Ed Hirschberg). 1988 Jul
The JDM Bibliophile #42 (editor: Ed Hirschberg). 1988 Dec
The JDM Bibliophile #43 (editor: Ed Hirschberg). 1989 Jun
The JDM Bibliophile #44 (editor: Ed Hirschberg). 1989 Dec
The JDM Bibliophile #45 (editor: Ed Hirschberg). 1990 Jun
The JDM Bibliophile #46 (editor: Ed Hirschberg). 1990 Dec
The JDM Bibliophile #47 (editor: Ed Hirschberg). 1991 Jul
The JDM Bibliophile #48 (editor: Ed Hirschberg). 1991 Dec
The JDM Bibliophile #49 (editor: Ed Hirschberg). 1992 Jun
The JDM Bibliophile #50 (editor: Ed Hirschberg). 1992 Dec
The JDM Bibliophile #51 (editor: Ed Hirschberg). 1993 Jun
The JDM Bibliophile #52 (editor: Ed Hirschberg). 1993 Dec
The JDM Bibliophile #53 (editor: Ed Hirschberg). 1994 Jun
The JDM Bibliophile #54 (editor: Ed Hirschberg). 1994 Dec
The JDM Bibliophile #55 (editor: Ed Hirschberg). 1995 Jul
The JDM Bibliophile #56 (editor: Ed Hirschberg). 1995 Dec
The JDM Bibliophile #57 (editor: Ed Hirschberg). 1996 Jul
The JDM Bibliophile #58 (editor: Ed Hirschberg). 1996 Dec
The JDM Bibliophile #59 (editor: Ed Hirschberg). 1997 Jul
The JDM Bibliophile #60 (editor: Ed Hirschberg). 1997 Dec
The JDM Bibliophile #61 (editor: Ed Hirschberg). 1998 Jul
The JDM Bibliophile #62 (editor: Ed Hirschberg). 1998 Dec

Box 165

The JDM Bibliophile #63 and 64 (editor: Ed Hirschberg). 1999 Jul, Dec
The JDM Bibliophile #65 Memorial Issue (editor: Valerie Lawson). 2004 Dec
The JDM Bibliophile: Special Confidential Report (Jean and Walter Shine). 1979
The JDM Bibliophile - Misc. Papers (title list, memo, newsletters). 1967 Mar-1980 Dec
The JDM Bibliophile - Subscription Renewal Forms. 1982, 1986
The JDM Bibliophile Bulletin #1 (editors: Len and June Moffatt). 1972 Aug-Sep
The JDM Bibliophile Bulletin #2 (editors: Len and June Moffatt). 1976 Aug
The JDM Bibliophile Bulletin #3 (editors: Len and June Moffatt). 1976 Nov
The JDM Bibliophile Bulletin #4 (editors: Len and June Moffatt). 1978 May
The Mystery Lover's Newsletter (editor: Lianne Carlin). 1968 Aug
Mystery Writer's Annual. 1969 Apr
Obelisk Volume VIII (editor: Kathleen Cook). 1967
Obelisk Volume IX (editor: Lisa Hansen). 1968
Special Confidential Report Subject: Travis McGee (Jean and Walter Shine). 1987 Feb


Series 4F - Publicity and Advertisements

This section contains bestsellers lists, marketing tools, and published advertisements for JDM's novels. The materials are organized alphabetically by novel title.
Barrier Island (brochure, tear sheets). 1986 Nov-1987 Feb, Not dated
Cinnamon Skin (brochure, tear sheets). 1982 May-Nov, Not dated
Condominium (Book and Movie) ( tear sheets, magazine, pop-ups). 1971 Jan-1981 May
The Damned (pamphlet). Not dated
Darker Than Amber (Movie) (tear sheet). Not dated
A Deadly Shade of Gold (tear sheet). 1965 Mar
Death Trap (pamphlet). Not dated
The Deceivers (pamphlet). Not dated
The Dreadful Lemon Sky (tear sheets). 1973 Mar-1976 Oct, Not dated
The Drowner (tear sheets). 1963 Jun-Sep
The Empty Copper Sea (tear sheets, circulars, brochures). 1978 Aug-1979 May, Not dated
The End of the Night (tear sheet). Not dated
Free Fall in Crimson (tear sheets, booklet, pamphlet). 1981, Not dated
A Friendship: The Letters of Dan Rowan and John D. MacDonald 1967-1974 (tear sheet). Oct (?)
The Girl in the Plain Brown Wrapper (tear sheets). 1968 Dec-1969 Jun
The Girl, the Gold Watch, and Everything (tear sheets). Feb. 1963, Not dated
The Good Old Stuff (tear sheet). Not dated
The Green Ripper (tear sheets). 1979 Sep, Not dated
I Could Go on Singing (pamphlet, circular). Not dated
A Key to the Suite (tear sheets). 1962 May-1967 Jan
The Last One Left (tear sheets, radio script). 1966 Oct-1967 Apr
The Lonely Silver Rain (circular). Not dated
The Long Lavender Look (circular). 1972 Feb
Man-Trap (tear sheets). 1961 Sep
The Neon Jungle (pamphlet). 1965 Nov
Nightmare in Pink (pamphlet, advertising schedule). 1976 Jan, Not dated
On the Run (tear sheet). 1963 Jun
One Fearful Yellow Eye (bestsellers list). Not dated
One More Sunday (circulars, pamphlets, tear sheets). 1984 Mar-Apr, Not dated
Pale Grey for Guilt (circular). 1971 Aug
Please Write for Details (pamphlet). 1959
A Purple Place for Dying (tear sheets). 1976 Aug-Sep
The Scarlet Ruse (advertising schedule, circular, tear sheet). 1973 Apr-1980 Apr
The Turquoise Lament (tear sheets). 1973 Sep-1974 Jun
Where Is Janice Gantry? (tear sheets). 1961 Feb-Apr, Not dated
General Promotional Material (tear sheets, poster). 1975 Aug-1978 Feb


Series 4G - Reference Files

The Reference Files contain material relating to research and miscellaneous items. Files are arranged chronologically with non-dated material at the end of the section.
Miscellaneous Articles (tear sheets, magazine). 1950-1980
Dorothy MacDonald (articles, letters to the editor, personal notes, correspondence, certificates, etc…). 1953-1988

Box 166

Pamphlets, Brochures, Leaflets (miscellaneous information). 1959-1988, Not dated
Ringling School of Art (articles, brochures, etc…). 1960-1974, Not dated
Raymond D. Fowler Jr., PhD (psychological profiles (JDM, Travis McGee, Meyer, Howard Hughes), correspondence). 1961-1986
"The Working Pro" - Newsletter Idea (correspondence, resume, proposal). 1965
Writer's Associations (newsletters, memos, schedules, etc…). 1965-1982
JDM Journal Entries (may be real and / or invented). 1967 Jan-1968 Feb
Articles by John Keasler (tear sheets). 1967 Oct-1968 Aug
Dowsing (notes, correspondence). 1967 Nov-1969 Dec
Travel (receipts, correspondence, schedules, maps, etc…). 1969-1988
Travel (cruise menus, mementos). 1975 Apr
Miscellaneous Business Correspondence (to JDM). 1968-1985
Notes on Bombay. 1970 Mar, Not dated
Travis McGee (articles, certificates, awards). 1972-1987
Judging High School Newspapers (tear sheets). 1973 Nov
Miscellaneous Environmental Articles, Correspondence. 1978-1983
Miscellaneous Articles (tear sheets, magazines). 1981-1988

Box 167

Plagiarism - Dimitri Gat's Books (Nevsky's Return, Nevsky's Demon). 1982, 1983
Plagiarism - Dimitri Gat (articles). 1983 Jun-Nov
Desk Notes. Not dated
JDM Research on McGee "Attitudes Towards Work". Not dated
JDM Research on McGee "Bahia Mar Marina". Not dated
JDM Research on McGee "Business Contacts - Where Clients Come From". Not dated
JDM Research on McGee "Descriptions". Not dated
JDM Research on McGee "Emotional Attitude". Not dated
JDM Research on McGee "Female Leads". Not dated
JDM Research on McGee "Ft. Lauderdale: Real and Imaginary". Not dated
JDM Research on McGee "Houseboat Specs, Gear, and Operation". Not dated
JDM Research on McGee "Other Possessions". Not dated
JDM Research on McGee "Personal History". Not dated
JDM Research on McGee "Regular Characters". Not dated
JDM Research on McGee "Skills". Not dated
JDM Research on McGee "Social Attitudes". Not dated
JDM Research on McGee "Tastes-Food, Liquor, Etc.". Not dated
Miscellaneous Articles (tear sheets). Not dated
Miscellaneous Personal Letters. 1970-1971, Not dated
"Western" Notes, Tear sheets of "The Western Story's 'New Look'" by Johnston McCulley. Not dated
Miscellaneous Correspondence [RESTRICTED ACCESS UNTIL JAN 2012]. 1944-1987, Not dated
Restricted Articles [RESTRICTED ACCESS UNTIL JAN 2012]. 1980 Jul
Restricted New College Information [RESTRICTED ACCESS UNTIL JAN 2012]. 1984

Return to the main finding guide for the MacDonald Collection.





For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page