Skip to Search



The John D. MacDonald Collection : Contents List Continued

Return to the main finding guide for the MacDonald Collection.




Professional Papers



Series 2A - Professional Correspondence

Contains correspondence with agents, publishers, editors, members of the media, and others. The correspondence primarily pertains to writing as a craft and profession. The general correspondence files also may include JDM's advice to and/or discussions with other fledgling writers. General files are organized chronologically, while files that have been grouped by correspondent or topic are organized alphabetically. Many correspondents appear in multiple locations.

Box 20

General Correspondence ("Rights and permissions, requests for advice, requests to visit, etc. Fascinating in places merely because of the willingness of some people to use up your life as if it were their own." - JDM). Not dated
General Correspondence. 1949-1964
General Correspondence. 1956-1966
General Correspondence. 1958-1960

Box 21

General Correspondence. 1960-1962
General Correspondence. 1963-1964
General Correspondence. 1965
General Correspondence. 1960-1965
General Correspondence. 1966
General Correspondence. 1967
General Correspondence. 1968-1969
General Correspondence. 1969
General Correspondence. 1970
General Correspondence. 1971
General Correspondence. 1972
General Correspondence. 1973
General Correspondence. 1974
General Correspondence. 1975
General Correspondence. 1976

Box 22

General Correspondence. 1977
General Correspondence. 1978
General Correspondence. 1978-1979
General Correspondence. 1978-1979
General Correspondence. 1979
General Correspondence. 1980
General Correspondence. 1981
General Correspondence. 1982
General Correspondence. 1983
General Correspondence. 1984
General Correspondence. 1985
General Correspondence. 1986
General Correspondence. 1986

Box 23

Requests for Interviews, Commentaries. 1983-1984
Requests for Interviews, Commentaries. 1985-1986
Invitations to appear. 1983-1984
Alfred A. Knopf. 1985-1986
Bahia Mar - Correspondence with Irv Deibert ("This was a brash attempt to tie the McGee into the actual Bahia Mar setup. Curiously enough, the man then with the PR firm handling Bahia Mar is now the manager of Bahia Mar - Irv Deibert." - JDM). 1964-1966
Ballantine Books. 1982
Ballantine Books. 1983
Bibliographic Materials #1 of 2. 1953-1967
Bibliographic Materials #2 of 2. 1953-1967
Bibliophile Correspondence - Len Moffat. 1966-1970
British Publishers. 1978-1981
"The Bullshit File" - Articles by others than JDM (A file of "bullshit" correspondence, articles typescripts, and other musings by JDM that he and A.L. Hart had thought to publish into a book.). 1977-1985
"The Bullshit File" - Articles, Letters to Editors, by JDM. 1947-1986
"The Bullshit File" - General Correspondence. 1968-1985
"The Bullshit File" - Hart, A.L. Correspondence. 1964-1970

Box 24

"The Bullshit File" - T. Carrington Burns (pseudonym) Correspondence, articles, typescripts. 1959-1961
"The Bullshit File" - Comments on Political Climate. 1968
"The Bullshit File" - Commencement speech for Ringling School of Art. "The Artist and the Status Symbol". 1965
"The Bullshit File" - "India Trip" Typescript. Not dated
"The Bullshit File" - Introduction to Slam the Big Door. 1986
"The Bullshit File" - JDM's spoof on Mack Thomas's Gumbo. 1965
"The Bullshit File" - "Madder Than Hell" article. 1985
"The Bullshit File" - Misc. Poetry. 1968
"The Bullshit File" - My Fair Lady spoof. Not dated
"The Bullshit File" - On Style. 1968
"The Bullshit File" - Personal Journal Entries. 1951, 1960, 1980
"The Bullshit File" - "Porcelain Poison". Not dated
"The Bullshit File" - Short Burlesque Vignettes. 1966-1968
"The Bullshit File" - Short piece entitled "I, the Spillane" and other similar titles. 1951
"The Bullshit File" - "Tigers on a Raft" Typescript. Not dated
"The Bullshit File" - Writings for Windhorn. 1962-1963
"The Bullshit File" - "Writing is my Trade…". 1973
"The Bullshit File" - "You and Your Leisure". Not dated
"The Bullshit File" - "The Yucatan". 1986
Burger, Knox (Correspondence). 1959-1961
Burger, Knox (Correspondence). 1962-1964
Burger, Knox (Correspondence). 1965
Burger, Knox (Correspondence). 1966
Burger, Knox (Restricted Correspondence) [RESTRICTED ACCESS UNTIL JAN 2012]. Not dated
Burger, Knox (Correspondence). 1967
Burger, Knox (Correspondence). 1968
Burger, Knox (Correspondence). 1970-1974
Burger, Knox (Correspondence). 1974-1980
Burger, Knox (Correspondence). 1980-1986
Chicago Trip (Correspondence) (Re: itinerary, dinner, JDM's biographical profile). 1969
Manuscript Vouchers. 1946-1948

Box 25

Copyright Renewals. 1969-1976
Copyrights - Correspondence. 1965-1979
Copyrights - LC Forms and Correspondence. 1979-1981
Daigh, Ralph - Restricted Correspondence [RESTRICTED ACCESS UNTIL JAN 2012]. 1975
Diskant, George - Correspondence. 1983
Diskant, George - Correspondence. 1984
Diskant, George - Correspondence. 1985-1986
Dorn, Al - Correspondence. 1954-1958
Early Publications. 1945-1946
Early Publications. 1947-1948
Doubleday - Correspondence (Re: sales conference in Florida, comments of the House Guests, editorial suggestions, list of novels, royalties, promotion, The Last One Left, royalties, publication of Travis McGee stories, comments on Deadly Drug). 1964-1967
Doubleday - Correspondence (Re: royalties on Last One Left, Royce Grimm affair, more royalties, No Deadly Drug out of print at the end of Jan. 1970). 1968-1973
Doubleday - Correspondence. 1974-1975
Fawcett. 1952-1959
Fawcett. 1960
Fawcett. 1961-1964
Fawcett. 1965
Fawcett. 1966-1967
Fawcett. 1968

Box 26

Fawcett. 1969
Fawcett #1 of 2 (Re: Burger commenting on Max Wilkinson Publications, Burger becoming MacDonald's literary agent, Dress Her In Indigo, editorial comments by Knox). 1969-1970
Fawcett #2 of 2. 1969-1970
Fawcett. 1971
Fawcett. 1971-1972
Fawcett (Re: reprints: Fearful Yellow Eye; other revivals: A man of Affairs; Soft Touch, Death Trap. Advance copies of Cancel All Our vows, reprints of All These Condemned, the Deceivers, the Beach Girls, One Monday We Killed The All.). 1972
Fawcett (Re: release of Scarlet Ruse, royalties statements, Resume of The End of the Night, The Neon Jungle, The Drowner, covers of The Last One Left; buying the House Guests; covers of The Only Girl on the Game and Scarlet Ruse; Royalties; photograph of sales meeting, covers for Flash of Green; promotion, Turquoise Lament.). 1973
Fawcett (Re: reprint of Pale Gray for Guilt, The House guest, The Girl in the Plain Brown Wrappers, End of the Night, Death Trap, The Dreadful Lemon Sky, A Key to Suite, Murder for the Bride, and others. Color covers for these books; Promotion. 25 years with JDM; cocktail party honoring JDM; Royalties; Projection of earnings; Reprint in paperback of Turquoise Lament). 1974
Fawcett (Re: Covers for Girl in Plain Brown Wrappers, The Dreadful Lemon Sky, End of the Night. Gala dinner honoring Fawcett promotion). 1975
Fawcett (Re: Publication of On the Run, new cover and format for Cry Hard Cry Fast, list of re-issues and revivals from Jan to Sept. 1976, covers for A Bullet for Cinderella, Where is Janice Gentry? Murder for the Bride, others.). 1976
Fawcett/CBS - Max Wilkinson. 1975-1979

Box 27

Fawcett - Correspondence. 1980-1982
Fawcett - Correspondence. 1984-1986
Finan, William B. (concordance and correspondence). 1986
Foreign Publishers. 1958-1966
Foreign Publishers. 1967
Foreign Publishers. 1968
Foreign Publishers (Re: Garzanti has published A Deadly Shade of Gold; Gallemard planning to publish MacDonald in their series, Poche Noire; translation of The Last One Left; companion Book Club has bought this title; Information about this book; Transcribing One Fearful Yellow Eye into Braille; Mine Bayou has offered MacDonald's titles to Gallimard; Publishing in London, the Quick Red Fox, Hale publishing Border Town Girl; About translators; Condensed Dress Her in Indigo; sales problems; Translation to Spanish of The Only Girl in the Game; Promotion matters). 1969-1970
Foreign Publishers (Re: Publication in England of The Girl in the Plain Brown Wrapper, and Dress Her in Indigo in paperback, Good reviews of Flash of Green in England, Max Wilkinson having a wretched time, literary rights). 1971-1973
Foreign Publishers. 1974-1977
Foreign Publishers. 1982-1986
Fraser, Robert D. - Correspondence ("Robert D. Fraser, an attorney and cinema buff in San Francisco. In 1969 and 1970 we were discussing our staying at a hotel he then owned in Bora Bora for three weeks on the cuff while I did a treatment for a film he wished to produce and direct." - JDM). 1969-1970
"How to Live With a Hero" - The Writer. 1964, Sept.
Harper and Row. 1980-1981
Harper and Row #1 of 2. 1981-1982

Box 28

Harper and Row #2 of 2. 1981-1982
Lippincott. 1968-1969
Lippincott. 1970
Lippincott. 1971
Lippincott. 1972
Lippincott. 1973-1974
Lippincott. 1975-1976
Lippincott. 1976-1980
Lippincott - "One Fearful Yellow Eye". 1977
Media - Newspapers and TV. 1969-1971
Media - Magazines. 1964-1970
Media - Newspapers. 1971-1976
Media - Newspapers. 1976-1978
Media - Boy's Life Magazine. 1985
Metzdorf, Robert. 1967-1973

Box 29

Millar, Kenneth and Robert Gault - Restricted Correspondence [RESTRICTED ACCESS UNTIL JAN 2012]. 1953-1977
Millar, Kenneth (death, articles). 1983
Moffat, Len (Re: JDM's books, bibliographic comments for the JDMB and Master List; Anthony Boucher Memorial; Mystery Convention, etc.). 1966-1967
Moffat, Len. 1968
Moffat, Len. 1969
Moffat, Len. 1970-1971
Moffat, Len. 1972-1973
Moffat, Len. 1974-1975
Moffat, Len. 1976-1978
MWA Anthology. 1958
MWA Anthology. 1959
Nancy Johnson, Field Enterprises - Restricted Correspondence [RESTRICTED ACCESS UNTIL JAN 2012]. Not dated
"Other Times, Other Worlds" article - Correspondence. 1976-1978
Penzler, Otto - "Widow's Pique". 1978-1979
Peterson, Clarence. 1964-1967
Peterson, Clarence - Restricted Correspondence [RESTRICTED ACCESS UNTIL JAN 2012]. Not dated
Public Media Correspondence ("A collection of letters to and from people in the newspaper business, broadcasting, magazines, etc., regarding interviews, promotional ideas, appearances, etc. Many very strange exchanges herein." - JDM). 1964-1967
Public Media Correspondence. 1967
Public Media Correspondence. 1967-1969
Public Media Correspondence. 1972-1974
Lists - Published Works, Recipients of free copies of new books. 1950-1982
Publishers - General Correspondence. 1946-1960

Box 30

Publishers - General Correspondence. 1960-1963
Publishers - General Correspondence. 1961-1964
Publishers - General Correspondence. 1964-1967
Publishers - General Correspondence. 1965-1967
Publishers - General Correspondence. 1968-1969
Publishers - General Correspondence. 1970-1975
Publishers - General Correspondence. 1970-1977
Publishers - General Correspondence. 1974-1985
Publishers - General Correspondence. 1982-1985
Sauderberg, Professor Paul S.. 1980-1981
Smith, James. 1965-1966

Box 31

Smith, James. 1966-1967
Smith, James. 1967-1973
Shine, Walter and Jean. 1979
Shine, Walter and Jean. 1980
Shine, Walter and Jean - Restricted Correspondence [RESTRICTED ACCESS UNTIL JAN 2012]. 1980
Shine, Walter and Jean. 1981
Shine, Walter and Jean. 1982
Shine, Walter and Jean. 1983
Shine, Walter and Jean. 1984
Shine, Walter and Jean. 1985
Shine, Walter and Jean. 1986

Box 32

Shine, Walter and Jean - Restricted Correspondence [RESTRICTED ACCESS UNTIL JAN 2012]. 1987
Shine, Walter and Jean - Restricted Correspondence [RESTRICTED ACCESS UNTIL JAN 2012]. 1987-1988
Wilkinson, Max. 1952-1958
Wilkinson, Max. 1958
Wilkinson, Max. 1959
Wilkinson, Max. 1960
Wilkinson, Max. 1961
Wilkinson, Max. 1962
Wilkinson, Max. 1963
Wilkinson, Max. 1958-1964
Wilkinson, Max - Copies. 1960-1964
Wilkinson, Max. 1964
Wilkinson, Max. 1965
Wilkinson, Max. 1966
Wilkinson, Max. 1967
Wilkinson, Max. 1968

Box 33

Wilkinson, Max. 1969
Wilkinson, Max. 1970
Wilkinson, Max. 1971-1972
Wilkinson, Max. 1973-1974
Wilkinson, Max. 1975-1976
Wilkinson, Max - Restricted Correspondence [RESTRICTED ACCESS UNTIL JAN 2012]. 1961-1977
Wilkinson, Max - Restricted Correspondence [RESTRICTED ACCESS UNTIL JAN 2012]. 1978-1981
Wilkinson, Max - Restricted Correspondence [RESTRICTED ACCESS UNTIL JAN 2012]. 1982-1985
Wilkinson, Max - Contracts, Agreements, Options - Restricted [RESTRICTED ACCESS UNTIL JAN 2012]. 1953-1977
Wolf, Martin J. - Building a replica of "Miss Agnes". 1982-1983


Series 2B - Business Correspondence

Contains correspondence of a business nature unrelated to the profession of writing, such as the sale of vehicles or property, the purchase of office equipment, personal investments and finances, etc.
Misc. Business Contracts and Receipts. 1939
General Business Correspondence. 1957-1958
General Business Correspondence. 1959
General Business Correspondence. 1960
General Business Correspondence. 1961
General Business Correspondence. 1962
General Business Correspondence. 1963
General Business Correspondence. 1964
General Business Correspondence. 1965

Box 34

General Business Correspondence. 1966
General Business Correspondence. 1967
General Business Correspondence - (non-writing and Misc.). 1962-1968
General Business Correspondence. 1968
General Business Correspondence. 1969
General Business Correspondence - (non-writing and Misc.). 1969
General Business Correspondence. 1970-1973
General Business Correspondence. 1973-1979
General Business Correspondence. 1980-1981
General Business Correspondence. 1982-1984
General Business Correspondence. 1985-1987
General Business Correspondence (minor squabbles). 1969-1981

Box 35

General Business Correspondence (minor squabbles). 1982-1984
Gaylor, William - Venice Nokomis Bank and Trust Company - Correspondence #1 of 2. 1969-1970
Gaylor, William - Venice Nokomis Bank and Trust Company - Correspondence #2 of 2. 1971-1973
Slick Rock Mountain - Restricted Correspondence [RESTRICTED ACCESS UNTIL JAN 2012]. 1958-1968


Series 2C - Academic Materials

Contains materials relating to JDM's involvement with various academic institutions such as New College, Ringling School of Art, and the University of Florida. The materials are arranged alphabetically by institution and subject heading.
General Academic Correspondence. 1951-1964
General Academic Correspondence. 1965-1966
General Academic Correspondence. 1967
General Academic Correspondence. 1968
General Academic Correspondence. 1969-1972
General Academic Correspondence. 1973
General Academic Correspondence. 1974
General Academic Correspondence. 1975-1976
General Academic Correspondence. 1977
General Academic Correspondence. 1978

Box 36

New College - Associates. 1975-1979
New College - Auction. 1975
New College - "The Beginning". 1961-1968
New College - Clippings. 1964-1976
New College - College Publications (Bulletins and Handbooks). 1970-1973
New College - College Publications (Campus Calendar). 1969-1976
New College - College Publications (The Catalyst). 1966
New College - College Publications (The Catalyst). 1967
New College - College Publications (The Catalyst). 1968
New College - College Publications (The Catalyst). 1977
New College - College Publications (The East Campus Other). 1967
New College - College Publications (Mascalito). 1973
New College - College Publications (New College). 1971-1976
New College - College Publications (New College Phoenix). 1969-1973
New College - College Publications (New Gonzo Review). 1976
New College - College Publications (New's Letter). 1976
New College - College Publications (This Week at NC). 1971-1975
New College - Commencement. 1969-1974
New College - Environmental Studies Program. 1971-1972
New College - Environmental Studies Program. 1972-1973

Box 37

New College - Environmental Studies Program. 1973-1974
New College - Finances. 1974-1976
New College - Fine Arts (correspondence). 1965-1969
New College - Gala Celebration. 1975
New College - Geckle, Bill (correspondence). 1970
New College - General Correspondence. 1968-1970
New College - General Correspondence. 1970
New College - General Correspondence. 1971
New College - General Correspondence. 1972-1976
New College - General Correspondence. 1977-1978
New College - Handbooks. 1969-1973
New College - Hecht, Mr. and Mrs. George - Restricted Correspondence [RESTRICTED ACCESS UNTIL JAN 2012]. Not dated
New College - Incorporation to South Florida University. 1974-1975
New College - Incorporation to South Florida University - clippings. 1974-1975

Box 38

New College - Institutional Self Study. 1970
New College - Liugle, Kendall. 1971-1972
New College - Memos, Special Announcements. 1972
New College - Memos, Special Announcements. 1973-1974
New College - MacDonald's Creative Writing Seminar. 1973
New College - Merge with USF. 1975
New College - Minutes and Special Reports. 1968
New College - Minutes and Special Reports. 1969 Jan - June
New College - Minutes and Special Reports. 1969 July - Dec

Box 39

New College - Minutes and Special Reports. 1970 Jan - June
New College - Minutes and Special Reports. 1970 July - Dec
New College - Minutes and Special Reports. 1971 Jan - June
New College - Minutes and Special Reports. 1971 July - Dec
New College - Minutes and Special Reports #1 of 4. 1972
New College - Minutes and Special Reports #2 of 4. 1972
New College - Minutes and Special Reports #3 of 4. 1972
New College - Minutes and Special Reports #4 of 4. 1972
New College - Minutes and Special Reports #1 of 4. 1973
New College - Minutes and Special Reports #2 of 4. 1973
New College - Minutes and Special Reports #3 of 4. 1973

Box 40

New College - Minutes and Special Reports #4 of 4. 1973
New College - Minutes and Special Reports. 1974
New College - Minutes and Special Reports. 1975
New College - Minutes and Special Reports. 1976-1977
New College - Miscellaneous. 1969-1972
New College - Miscellaneous. 1976-1977
New College - Search for a President. 1974

Box 41

New College Correspondence - Architecture Communications. 1971-1972
New College Correspondence - Architecture and Financial. 1972-1974
New College Foundation - Meetings. 1978
New College Foundation - Misc. Publications. 1977-1978
New College Foundation - Reports, Fund Appealing, etc.. 1976-1978
New College Foundation - Trustees news. 1977
New College/USF - Campus News. 1975-1976
New College/USF - Campus News. 1977
Ringling School of Art - Campus Master Plan and correspondence. 1975
Ringling School of Art - Chairman of the Board (MacDonald). 1977-1978
Ringling School of Art - Faculty and Staff Handbook. 1977-1978
Ringling School of Art - Finance, Architecture, etc.. 1977-1978
Ringling School of Art - General Correspondence. 1974
Ringling School of Art - General Correspondence. 1977
Ringling School of Art - General Correspondence. 1978
Ringling School of Art - General Correspondence. 1979
Ringling School of Art - General Correspondence. 1980

Box 42

Ringling School of Art - Meeting Minutes, Agendas, etc.. 1975-1977
Ringling School of Art - Miscellaneous. 1977
Ringling School of Art - "Portfolio". 1978
Ringling School of Art - Reports and Finances. 1974-1976
Ringling School of Art - Reports and Finances. 1977
Ringling School of Art - Reports and Finances. 1978
Ringling School of Art - Self Study Guidelines. 1977
Ringling School of Art - Student Publications (Ringling). 1979-1980
Syracuse University - Bulletins, programs, Correspondence. 1971-1980
University of Florida - Book Reviews, Clippings, etc.. 1964-1979
University of Florida - Clippings, Correspondence, etc.. 1990-1992
University of Florida - Condominium. 1977
University of Florida - JDM Master checklist (Bibliography of Published Writings). 1969
University of Florida - "Want List". 1979
University of Florida - "Want List". 1982
University of Florida - Correspondence and articles mostly relating to Condominium.. 1973-1978
University of Florida - Correspondence, booklets, invitations, etc.. 1977
University of Florida - General Correspondence. 1951-1967

Box 43

University of Florida - General Correspondence. 1967-1980
University of Florida - General Correspondence. 1984-1986
University of Florida - General Correspondence - Restricted [RESTRICTED ACCESS UNTIL JAN 2012]. 1980-1987
University of Florida - Manuscript Acquisition Forms. 1960-1968
University of Florida - Packing Lists (Inventory). 1968-1979
University of Florida - Packing Lists (Inventory). 1980-1986
University of Florida - Request for donation to Howe Collection. 1980
University of Florida - Shine, Walter and Jean - Correspondence. 1980
University of Florida - Shine, Walter and Jean - Correspondence. 1981
University of Florida - Shine, Walter and Jean - Correspondence. 1985-1983
University of Florida - Shine, Walter and Jean - Correspondence. 1984-1987
University of Florida - Shine, Walter and Jean - Correspondence. 1980-1990
Rollins College Writer's Conference. 1969-1971

Box 44

University of South Florida - Ed Hirshberg. 1977
University of South Florida - Ed Hirshberg. 1978
University of South Florida - Ed Hirshberg. 1979-1980
University of South Florida - Ed Hirshberg. 1981-1982
University of South Florida - Ed Hirshberg. 1983-1986


Series 2D - Movies and Television

Contains correspondence, publicity and clippings of movies and television productions based on JDM works. The files are organized alphabetically by subject heading. Note that all screenplays are filed in "Articles and Publications by Other Authors - Screenplays." Also, movie posters for Darker Than Amber, Cape Fear, and Man Trap, are filed separately in the "Oversize Materials" series.
Correspondence - Benjamin, Ben; Blodgett, Otis; Higgins, Frank. 1959-1963
Correspondence - Condon, Robert; Kearny, Robert. 1960-1964
Correspondence - Farber, Donald C.. 1974-1977
Correspondence - Gulf Coast Productions. 1958-1989
Correspondence - Lord, Jack ("This is a long, saddening, disheartening and educational account of the contact between the writer and the actor, and how these things get spoiled by the greasy maneuverings of the Industry…" - JDM). 1964-1967
Correspondence - Robinson, Hubbell; Wilkinson, Max; Woodruff, Frank L.; Ziegler, Evarts. 1957-1967
Correspondence - Zieglar, Diskant Inc.. 1975-1982

Box 45

Darker Than Amber - Movie Correspondence #1 of 4. 1965-1973
Darker Than Amber - Movie Correspondence #2 of 4. 1965-1973
Darker Than Amber - Movie Correspondence #3 of 4. 1965-1973
Darker Than Amber - Movie Correspondence #4 of 4. 1965-1973
The Executioners (Cape Fear: Movie Version). 1961-1962
The Executioners (Cape Fear: Movie Version) - Press Releases, Showman's Manual. 1962
General Correspondence. 1959-1966
General Correspondence. 1966
General Correspondence. 1967
General Correspondence. 1968
General Correspondence. 1969
General Correspondence. 1970-1971
General Correspondence. 1971-1973
General Correspondence. 1974-1976

Box 46

General Correspondence. 1977
The Executioners (Cape Fear: Movie Version). 1961-1962
The Executioners (Cape Fear: Movie Version) - Press Releases, Showman's Manual. 1962
Scripts - "Dallas" - "Jack's Trial - Part I," Episode #22. 1980
Scripts - "Dallas" - "Jack's Trial - Part II," Episode #23. 1980
Scripts - "Dallas" - "The Wheeler Dealer" Episode #24. 1980
Scripts - "Dallas" - "A House Divided" Episode #25. 1980
TV Movie: Travis McGee, Clippings. 1983
Venture Bay - Scripts, Correspondence. 1969-1970
Venture Bay - Scripts, Correspondence. 1970-1971
Venture bay - Promotion Kit. Not dated
Venture Bay - Material removed and sent to George Diskant. 1983


Series 2E - Contracts

Contains legal contracts, correspondence, royalty reports, and other materials related to the publishing of specific works. Materials are organized alphabetically by title.
All These Condemned. 1953-1986
April Evil. 1955-1986
Area of Suspicion. 1952-1986
Audio Books. 1987-1988
Ballroom of the Skies. 1952-1984
Barrier Island. 1983-1988

Box 47

The Beach Girls. 1958-1987
Border Town Girl. 1955-1986
The Brass Cupcake. 1950-1985
Bright Orange for the Shroud. 1965-1988
A Bullet for Cinderella. 1955-1988
Cancel All Our Vows. 1952-1987
Cinnamon Skin. 1979-1988
Clemmie. 1958-1986
Condominium. 1976-1988
Contrary Pleasure. 1968-1986

Box 48

The Crossroads. 1959-1983
Cry Hard, Cry Fast. 1954-1985
Copyright Correspondence. 1968-1980
Copyright Correspondence. 1975-1980
Copyright Correspondence. 1982-1987
The Damned. 1951-1985
Darker than Amber (General correspondence, mostly on contracts and copyright information). 1965-1986
Dead Low Tide. 1952-1985
A Deadly Shade of Gold. 1965-1983
Deadly Welcome. 1958-1966
Death Trap. 1956-1980

Box 49

The Deceivers. 1957-1981
The Deep Blue Goodbye. 1964-1988
The Dreadful Lemon Sky. 1974-1987
Dress Her in Indigo. 1967-1988
The Drowner. 1962-1988
The Empty Copper Sea. 1974-1988
The Empty Trap. 1956-1988
The End of the Night. 1959-1987
End of the Tiger and Other Stories. 1965-1987
The Executioner. 1957-1987

Box 50

A Flash of Green. 1962-1985
Free Fall in Crimson. 1979-1982
A Friendship. 1985-1987
The Girl in the Plain Brown Wrapper. 1968-1986
The Girl, The Gold Watch and Everything. 1962-1986
The Good Old Stuff. 1980-1988
The Green Ripper. 1979-1988
The House Guests. 1964, 1973
I Could Go On Singing. 1963-1983
Judge Me Not. 1951-1985
A Key to the Suite. 1965-1984
The Last One Left. 1966-1987
The Lethal Sex. 1959

Box 51

The Lonely Silver Rain. 1979-1988
The Lonely Stage. 1962
The Long Lavender Look. 1969-1988
A Man of Affairs. 1957-1987
McGee Novels Collection. 1967-1986
Miscellaneous Receipts, Royalty Statements, Checks, and Correspondence. 1983-1987
More Good Old Stuff. 1983-1988
Murder for the Bride. 1951-1988
Murder in the Wind. 1955-1984
The Neon Jungle. 1953-1980
Nightmare in Pink. 1964-1988
No Deadly Drug. 1967-1985
Nothing Can Go Wrong. 1980
On the Run. 1962-1985
One Fearful Yellow Eye. 1966-1988

Box 52

One Monday We Killed Them All. 1961-1987
One More Sunday. 1983-1988
The Only Girl in the Game. 1960-1988
Other Times, Other Worlds. 1978-1982
Pale Gray for Guilt. 1968-1988
Please Write for Details. 1958-1986
The Price of Murder. 1957-1986
A Purple Place for Dying. 1964-1988
The Quick Red Fox. 1964-1988
The Scarlet Ruse. 1972-1988
S*e*v*e*n. 1970-1987

Box 53

Short Stories contracts and royalties #1 of 2. 1955-1986
Short Stories contracts and royalties #2 of 2. 1953-1988
Slam the Big Door. 1959-1988
Soft Touch. 1951-1985
A Tan and Sandy Silence. 1971-1988
Travis McGee Novel #22. 1979-1986
Travis McGee Novel #23. 1985-1986
Travis McGee Quiz Book (The Official). 1983-1988
The Turquoise Lament. 1973-1988
Weep for Me. 1951-1979
Where is Janice Gantry?. 1961-1980
Wine of Dreamers. 1951-1984
You Only Live Once. 1954-1986


Series 2F - Correspondence with Authors and Artists

Contains correspondence with other authors (established and novice), artists, and actors. Correspondents are filed alphabetically by last name (if available - first name or initial if not). When searching for a particular correspondent, it is recommended to search under both their first and last names (including variations on nick names), as many letters are not formally signed and are therefore difficult to identify. Correspondents for whom there is a large amount of material are filed in their own individual files.

Box 54

Unknown - A. 1952-1983
B #1 of 2. 1955-1986
B #2 of 2. 1955-1986
C. 1959
D. 1950-1985
E. 1966-1984
F. 1962-1985
G. 1946-1985
H. 1967-1986
I. 1972-1981
J. 1959-1985
K. 1955-1986

Box 55

L. 1959-1985
M. 1953-1985
N. 1949-1974
O. 1969-1982
P. 1959-1985
Q-R. 1952-1986
S #1 of 2. 1952-1985
S #2 of 2. 1952-1985
T-U-V. 1953-1985
W. 1952-1986
X-Y-Z. 1963-1985
Albee, George. 1959-1964
Avallone, Michael. 1969-1985
Bethancourt, Tom and Nancy. 1982-1986
Burns, Eric - Restricted Correspondence [RESTRICTED ACCESS UNTIL JAN 2012]. 1982

Box 56

Collins, LeRoy. 1969-1971
Corley, Edwin. 1969-1970
Cox, William r. 1965-1981
Deal, Borden [RESTRICTED ACCESS UNTIL JAN 2012]. 1964-1977
Dietrich, Marlene. 1975-1976
Gault, William Campbell. 1952-1986
Geckle, William F. 1977-1986
Gehman, Richard. 1959-1968
Gehman, Richard - Restricted Correspondence [RESTRICTED ACCESS UNTIL JAN 2012]. 1968
Glendinning, Richard. 1950-1980
Glendinning, Richard - Restricted Correspondence [RESTRICTED ACCESS UNTIL JAN 2012]. 1977-1984
Glendinning, Richard - Restricted Correspondence [RESTRICTED ACCESS UNTIL JAN 2012]. 1984-1986
Harrington, Joseph [RESTRICTED ACCESS UNTIL JAN 2012]. 1957-1977
Harrison, Jim. 1969-1984
Harrison, Jim (manuscript) [RESTRICTED ACCESS UNTIL JAN 2012]. Not dated
Hensley, Joe [RESTRICTED ACCESS UNTIL JAN 2012]. 1981-1986
Homewood, Harry. 1976-1984
Hunt, Howard. 1955-1985
Jakes, John. 1961-1985
Kantor, Mackinlay. 1958-1977
Keasler, John. 1966-1983
King, Stephen. 1977-1986

Box 57

Lanier, Sterling. 1969-1984
Leonard, Elmore. 1982-1986
MacNair, Van. 1974-1979
Mahan, Bill. 1969-1984
Marti-Ibanez, Felix. 1958-1968
Martin, Robert. 1953-1974
McDaniel, Charles. 1966-1986
Chimney, James. 1952-1975
Nussbaum, Al. 1981-1985
Pratt, Ted. 1957-1967
Rackowe, Alec. 1952-1983
Scrimegour, Gary. 1980-1986
Stahl, Ben. 1960s
Swalm, Neal Chapline. 1953, 1984
Vonnegut, Kurt. 1966-1981
Weisstein, Naomi. 1979-1980
Williams, Charlie. 1953-1970
Woltman, Frederick. 1959-1968


Series 2G - Promotional Materials

Contains correspondence and materials related to various promotional ventures that were not related to any specific work.

Box 58

Clippings, Bulletins, Books on Tape. 1983
Correspondence - Harris, S. Miller (Eagle Shirts) #1 of 2 ("Regarding The McGee, a kind of shirt they manufactured with my permission and sold many of during 1968-1971, my only fee being free shirts, probably 3 dozen in all. Harris is a very witty correspondent." - JDM). 1969-1973
Correspondence - Harris, S. Miller (Eagle Shirts) #2 of 2. 1964-1969
Fawcet - Book covers and JDM biography. 1974
General Correspondence. 1982-1983
McGee Shirts - fabric samples. 1977
McGee Shirts - Wooden Plaque Advertisements. 1969-1970
Misc. Advertisements. 1964-1984
Press Releases. 1965
Promotional Tour of England. 1976
Travis McGee Questionnaire. 1983


Series 2H - Affiliations

Contains correspondence, memos, newsletters, and news clippings related to the professional affiliations kept by MacDonald, including the Crime Writers Association, the Mystery Writers of America, the Writer's Guild of America, and the Sarasota writers' "Friday Lunch Bunch." Affiliations are listed alphabetically by organization.
Allied Arts Council - Correspondence, clippings, minutes, etc. 1963-1966
American Center of PEN Inst. - Newsletters. 1965-1967
American Center of PEN Inst. - Newsletters. 1973-1976
American Center of PEN Inst. - Newsletters. 1977-1984
American Center of PEN Inst. - Correspondence, Membership lists. 1965-1974
American Booksellers Association - Convention. 1981

Box 59

Arents Medal - Syracuse University. 1971, 1978
Author's Guild Bulletin. 1962-1964
Author's Guild Bulletin. 1965-1966
Author's Guild Bulletin. 1967
Author's Guild Bulletin. 1968-1970
Author's Guild Bulletin. 1971-1972
Author's Guild Bulletin. 1973-1974
Author's Guild Bulletin. 1975-1976
Author's Guild Bulletin. 1977
Author's Guild Bulletin. 1981-1984
Author's Guild - Correspondence. 1962-1984
Author's Guild - Miscellaneous. 1962-1967
Author's Guild - Miscellaneous. 1970-1981
Benjamin Franklin Magazine Award. 1956

Box 60

Biographical Data - Who's Who, Contemporary Authors, etc. 1952-1985
Crime Writers Association - Membership Lists and Miscellaneous. 1966-1986
Crime Writers Association - Red Herrings (Bulletin). 1973-1975
Crime Writers Association - Red Herrings (Bulletin). 1976-1977
Crime Writers Association - Red Herrings (Bulletin). 1981-1984
Explorer's Club. 1979
Fiction Writers' Conference. 1952-1953
Field Club - Correspondence. 1959-1965
Friday Lunch Bunch - "A Host of Fridays". 1984
Friday Lunch Bunch - Correspondence. 1972-1982
Friday Lunch Bunch - News Articles re: group or its individual members. Not dated
Friday Lunch Bunch - Records and Summaries. 1968-1985
General Correspondence. 1959
Miscellaneous Bulletins. 1984
Mystery Writers of America - Awards Dinner Program. 1963-1976
Mystery Writers of America - Awards Dinner Program. 1982
Mystery Writers of America - Correspondence. 1956-1962
Mystery Writers of America - Correspondence. 1962-1985

Box 61

Mystery Writers of America - Constitution and Minutes. 1961-1963
Mystery Writers of America - Miscellaneous. 1961-1967
Mystery Writers of America - The Third Degree. 1961-1966
Mystery Writers of America - The Third Degree. 1970-1976
Mystery Writers of America - The Third Degree. 1977-1983
Oceanographic Foundation - Membership Certificate. 1962
The Player's Club - Correspondence, memos, booklets, bulletins. 1966-1968
Writer's Guild of America - Booklets, memos, etc. 1959-1969
Writer's Guild of America - Constitution, bylaws, and amendments. 1969-1972
Writer's Guild of America - Memos. 1968-1970
Writer's Guild of America - Memos, Sales reports, booklets, etc. 1976
Writer's Guild of America - Memos, Sales reports, booklets, etc. 1975
Writer's Guild of America - Memos, Sales reports, booklets, etc. 1974
Writer's Guild of America - Memos, Sales reports, booklets, etc. 1973

Box 62

Writer's Guild of America - Memos, Sales reports, booklets, etc. 1972
Writer's Guild of America - Memos, Sales reports, booklets, etc. 1971
Writer's Guild of America - Newsletters. 1970-1971
Writer's Guild of America - Newsletters. 1972
Writer's Guild of America - Newsletters. 1973
Writer's Guild of America - Newsletters. 1974
Writer's Guild of America - Newsletters. 1975
Writer's Guild of America - Newsletters. 1976
Writer's Guild of America - Newsletters. 1976-1977
Writer's Guild of America - Newsletters. 1978
Writer's Guild of America - Newsletters. 1979

Box 63

Writer's Guild of America - Newsletters. 1977-1978
University Club (Sarasota) #1 of 2. 1969-1970
University Club (Sarasota) #2 of 2. 1970-1971


Series 2I - Civic and Political Affairs

Contains correspondence, clippings, publications, and other materials related to MacDonald's various civic and political concerns, including environmental issues, political campaigns. This section also contains invitations for public appearances. The material is categorized as either National, State, or Local Matters.
Local Matters - Community Goals Council. 1966
Local Matters - Correspondence, Public Affairs. 1968-1969
Local Matters - Correspondence, Public Affairs. 1970-1972
Local Matters - Correspondence, Public Affairs. 1973
Local Matters - Correspondence, Public Affairs. 1974
Local Matters - Correspondence, Public Affairs. 1975-1976
Local Matters - "History of Siesta Key" Newspaper. 1983
Local Matters - "The Meadow". 1972-1973
Local Matters - Sarasota Arts Association. 1956-1958
Local Matters - Sarasota Arts Association. 1961-1968
Local Matters - Sarasota Banyan Club. 1987
Local Matters - Sarasota County Chamber of Commerce. 1965

Box 64

Local Matters - Sarasota County Civic League. 1960-1967
Local Matters - Sarasota County League of Women Voters. 1964
Local Matters - Sarasota County Recreation Council. 1958-1959
Local Matters - Sarasota/Miami Civilian Orientation Cruise. 1956-1957
Local Matters - Sarasota Sign Ordinance. 1964-1965
Local Matters - Save Our Beautiful Scene #1 of 2. 1965-1968
Local Matters - Save Our Beautiful Scene #2 of 2. 1968
Local Matters - Siesta Key Association correspondence and minutes. 1955-1967
Local Matters - Siesta Key Association Newsletter. 1971-1982
Local Matters - Siesta Key Bank Application for Charter. 1968-1969
Local Matters - Shangri-La Isles - real estate. 1967-1968
National Matters - Bruce Valor, National Gay Task Force. 1977-1978
National Matters - Material Against People's Bicentennial Commission #1 of 2. 1975
National Matters - Material Against People's Bicentennial Commission #2 of 2 (news clippings). 1970-1974
National Matters - Miscellaneous Correspondence. 1974-1986
National Matters - Public Appearances, Aspen Institute. 1964-1965

Box 65

National, State, Local Matters - Misc. Civic Clippings. 1983-1985
National, State, Local Matters - Misc. Civic Clippings. 1968-1973
National, State, Local Matters - Misc. Civic Clippings. 1974-1983
Public Appearances - Correspondence. 1953-1961
Public Appearances - Correspondence. 1962
Public Appearances - Correspondence. 1963-1964
Public Appearances - Correspondence. 1965
Public Appearances - Correspondence. 1967-1969
Public Appearances - Correspondence. 1975-1976
Public Appearances - Correspondence. 1975-1978
Public Appearances - Correspondence. 1979
Public Appearances - Correspondence. 1979-1980
Public Appearances - Correspondence. 1981
State Matters - Collins, LeRoy: Advertising. 1966-1968
State Matters - Collins, LeRoy: Campaign Contributions. 1968
State Matters - Collins, LeRoy: Campaign Correspondence. 1966-1967

Box 66

State Matters - Collins, LeRoy: Campaign Correspondence #1 of 2. 1968
State Matters - Collins, LeRoy: Campaign Correspondence #2 of 2. 1968
State Matters - Collins, LeRoy: Clippings, correspondence. 1966-1969
State Matters - Collins, LeRoy: Guerney Research. 1963-1968
State Matters - Collins, LeRoy: Speeches. 1965-1967
State Matters - Collins, LeRoy: Speeches. 1966
State Matters - Correspondence and Clippings. 1965-1970
State Matters - Correspondence, Civic/Environmental Issues. 1979-1984
State Matters - Cruelty to Animals, correspondence. 1983
State Matters - Eckerd Drug Controversy. 1966
State Matters - Ecological Publications and Materials. 1984-1986
State Matters - Florida Defenders of the Environment. 1981-1986

Box 67

State Matters - Florida Institute of Public Affairs, correspondence. 1969
State Matters - High, Robert King (Miami Mayor): Correspondence, clippings. 1966-1967
State Matters - Obscenity Trial in Tampa ("Correspondence re: testifying for defense in obscenity trial in Tampa when public prosecutor was trying to remove imitations of Playboy from stands." - JDM). 1960
State/Local Matters - Miscellaneous Correspondence. 1957-1962
State/Local Matters - Miscellaneous Correspondence. 1963-1968
State/Local Matters - Miscellaneous Correspondence. 1974-1977
State/Local Matters - Miscellaneous Correspondence. 1978-1979
State/Local Matters - Miscellaneous Correspondence. 1984-1986


Series 2J - Fan Mail

Contains correspondence with fans. General correspondence is organized chronologically. Requests for information are grouped alphabetically by correspondent's last name (if available).
Concerning TV Guide Article. 1979-1980
Directions/Supplies for Anne Guthrie. 1967
Albert Mittal ("Albert first wrote me when he was eleven years old, and working in a book and magazine dealership. There was an ingenuous freshness about his notes, and I tried to write to him without patronizing him. The relationship petered out, as anticipated, when he became 22." - JDM). 1965-1977
Fan Mail used in Redbook Story. 1985-1986
Concerning McGee Party, Piseco. 1981
Fan Mail - General. Not dated

Box 68

Fan Mail - General. Not dated
Fan Mail - General. 1961
Fan Mail - General. 1962
Fan Mail - General. 1963
Fan Mail - General. 1964
Fan Mail - General. 1965 Jan - Apr
Fan Mail - General. 1965 May - Dec
Fan Mail - General. 1966 Jan - Aug
Fan Mail - General. 1966 Sep - Dec
Fan Mail - General. 1967 Jan - Mar
Fan Mail - General. 1967 Apr - July
Fan Mail - General. 1967 Aug - Dec

Box 69

Fan Mail - General. 1968 Jan - May
Fan Mail - General. 1968 June - Sep
Fan Mail - General. 1968 Oct - Dec
Fan Mail - General. 1969 Jan - Jun
Fan Mail - General. 1969 Aug - Dec
Fan Mail - General. 1970 Jan - June
Fan Mail - General. 1970 Jul - Dec
Fan Mail - General. 1971 Jan - June
Fan Mail - General. 1971 Jul - Dec

Box 70

Fan Mail - General. 1972 Jan - Jun
Fan Mail - General. 1972 July - Dec
Fan Mail - General. 1973 Jan - Jul
Fan Mail - General. 1973 Aug - Dec
Fan Mail - General. 1974 Jan - Jun
Fan Mail - General. 1974 Jul - Dec
Fan Mail - General. 1975 Jan - Jun
Fan Mail - General. 1975 Jul - Dec
Fan Mail - General. 1976 Jan - Jun

Box 71

Fan Mail - General. 1976 Jul - Dec
Fan Mail - General. 1977 Jan - May
Fan Mail - General. 1977 Jun - Dec
Fan Mail - General. 1978 Jan - Jun
Fan Mail - General. 1978 Jul - Dec
Fan Mail - General. 1979 Jan - May
Fan Mail - General. 1979 Jun - Sep
Fan Mail - General. 1979 Oct - Dec
Fan Mail - General. 1980 Jan - Mar

Box 72

Fan Mail - General. 1980 Apr - Jul
Fan Mail - General. 1980 Aug - Dec
Fan Mail - General. 1981 Jan - Apr
Fan Mail - General. 1981 May - Jul
Fan Mail - General. 1981 Aug - Dec
Fan Mail - General. 1982 Jan - Jul
Fan Mail - General. 1982 Aug - Dec
Fan Mail - General. 1983 Jan - Jun
Fan Mail - General. 1983 Jul - Dec

Box 73

Fan Mail - General. 1984 Jan - Apr
Fan Mail - General. 1984 May - Dec
Fan Mail - General. 1985 Jan - Mar
Fan Mail - General. 1985 Apr - Jun
Fan Mail - General. 1985 Jul - Oct
Fan Mail - General. 1985 Nov - Dec
Fan Mail - General. 1986 Jan - Mar
Fan Mail - General. 1986 Apr - Jul
Requests for Info - A. 1981-1984

Box 74

Requests for Info - A. 1982-1997
Requests for Info - B. 1981-1984
Requests for Info - B. 1981-1985
Requests for Info - C. 1962-1986
Requests for Info - C. 1981-1984
Requests for Info - D. 1981-1988
Requests for Info - D. 1981-1987

Box 75

Requests for Info - E, F. 1980-1986
Requests for Info - G. 1980-1986
Requests for Info - H. 1980-1986
Requests for Info - I, J. 1981-1987
Requests for Info - K. 1981-1986
Requests for Info - L. 1981-1986
Requests for Info - M. 1981-1984

Box 76

Requests for Info - M. 1982-1986
Requests for Info - N. 1981-1986
Requests for Info - O. 1981-1986
Requests for Info - P. 1981-1986
Requests for Info - Q, R. 1981-1986
Requests for Info - S. 1981-1983
Requests for Info - S. 1981-1986
Requests for Info - T, U. 1981-1986

Box 77

Requests for Info - V. 1981-1986
Requests for Info - W. 1981-1987
Requests for Info - Y. 1981-1986
Requests for Info - Z. 1981-1983

Return to the main finding guide for the MacDonald Collection.





For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page