Skip to Search



The John D. MacDonald Collection : Contents List Continued

Return to the main finding guide for the MacDonald Collection.


Contents List

Personal Papers



Series 1A - Personal Correspondence

Contains JDM's correspondence with friends and family members, as well as some professional contacts who shared a personal relationship with the MacDonalds. Correspondents are filed alphabetically by last name (if available - first name or initial if not). When searching for a particular correspondent, it is recommended to search under both first and last names (including variations on nicknames), as many letters are not formally signed and are, therefore, difficult to identify. Correspondents who are particularly important or with whom there is a large amount of material are filed in their own individual files.

Box 1

Wartime Correspondence. 1942-1943

Box 2

Wartime Correspondence. 1943-1944

Box 3

Wartime Correspondence. 1944

Box 4

Wartime Correspondence. 1944-1945

Box 5

A (Incoming Only). 1958-1982
B (Incoming Only). 1958-1982
C (Incoming Only). 1958-1982
D (Incoming Only). 1958-1983
E (Incoming Only). 1958-1984
F (Incoming Only). 1950-1983
G (Incoming Only). 1965-1986
H (Incoming Only). 1964-1985
I-J (Incoming Only). 1964-1983
K (Incoming Only). 1963-1982
L (Incoming Only). 1966-1984
M (Incoming Only). 1961-1986
N (Incoming Only). 1964-1982
O (Incoming Only). 1959-1983
P (Incoming Only). 1960-1984
R (Incoming Only). 1962-1982
S (Incoming Only). 1961-1987
T (Incoming Only). 1964-1986
U-V (Incoming Only). 1955-1981
W-Z (Incoming Only). 1959-1987

Box 6

A - General (includes replies and outgoing letters from JDM). 1948-1983
B - General. 1948-1983
C - General. 1948-1983
D - General. 1959-1984
E - General. 1949-1973
F - General. 1958-1983
G - General. 1958-1983
H - General. 1960-1985
I-J - General. 1985-1981
K - General. 1951-1977
L - General. 1960-1983
M - General. 1958-1985
N - General. 1961-1982
O - General. 1965-1975
P - General. 1960-1983
R - General. 1957-1985
S - General. 1959-1984

Box 7

T - General. 1958-1982
V - General. 1949-1976
W-Z - General. 1945-1985
Unknown. 1939-1973
Not to/from JDM. 1936-1986
Ballantine, Bill. 1966-1978
Belts, Edward. 1977-1983
Benny, Jack. 1960
Brennan, Summer. 1976-1986
Browne, Dik. 1983-1988
Burger, Knox. 1986-1988
Caldwell, Erskine and Virginia. 1965-1983
Clear, Val. 1958
Collins, LeRoy. 1960-1986
Daggett, Tony and Forrest. 1977-1987
Dickinson, Thomas. 1956-1984
Elmendorf, John and Mary. 1967-1983
Elvgren, Gil. 1960
Hamilton, Donald (Alias Matt Helm). 1986
Harrison, Jim. Not dated
Hayes, Joseph. 1986
Henemen, Harlow J.. 1965-1983
Humphrey, Hubert H. (concerning Jack Paar). 1961
Keasler, John. 1960
Kennedy, Ted. Not dated
Livingstone, Dick and Jane. 1970-1980s
Lord, Jack. 1966-1986
MacDonald, Eugene. 1940-1941

Box 8

MacDonald, Marguerite. 1962-1975
MacDonald, Maynard (and children). 1980s
Dorothy MacDonald (Dordo) to JDM. 1937-1981
JDM to Dorothy MacDonald (Dordo). 1937-1981
Marlow, Stephen. 1986
McNair, John Van and Scotty. 1952-1982
Mentzerstein, Annie and Peter. 1960-1980
Miller, Nelson D.. 1929-1936
Neville, Krisman O. - on racial issues raised in an unnamed McGee novel. 1968
Newhart, Bob. 1961
Parr, Jack. 1960
Prentiss, Rita. 1937
Prentiss, Samuel and Evelyn. 1937-1939
Prentiss, Samuel and Evelyn. 1948-1949
Prentiss, Samuel and Evelyn. 1951-1959
Prentiss, Samuel and Evelyn. 1961-1969
Prentiss, Samuel and Evelyn. 1970-1979
Prentiss, Samuel and Evelyn. 1980-1986
Prentiss, Samuel and Evelyn. Not dated

Box 9

Rowan, Adriana. 1966-1975
Rowan, Adriana. 1976-1980
Rowan, Adriana. 1981-1988
Rowan, Adriana. Not dated
Scandling, William F. 1981-1983
Schlesinger, Henry - Re: Cuban Refugee Situation. 1961-1962
Schulz, Charles M.. 1975
Shine, Walter and Jean. 1977-1978
Smith, Ward. 1967-1985
Solomon, Syd. 1979-1981
Steinmetz, Joseph. 1962-1983
Restricted Correspondence [RESTRICTED ACCESS UNTIL JAN 2012]. 1943-1985
Concerning "La Munequita" (Personal Boat) #1 of 2. 1965-1967
Concerning "La Munequita" (Personal Boat) #2 of 2. 1967-1970

Box 10

Concerning Computer Issues. 1982-1985
Concerning Netsuke Art Collection. 1984-1985
Concerning 50th Class Reunion (which JDM did not attend). 1982
Concerning Trip to China. 1982-1984
"The Game" - Investing Competition. 1981-1985
Postal Chess ("A short-lived venture into postal chess." - JDM). 1973
Stamp Collecting. 1972-1979
With friends from World Cruise trip. 1983-1986
Original Rowan Correspondence (A, B, C, D, E). 1968
Original Rowan Correspondence (A, B). 1969
Original Rowan Correspondence (A). 1970
Original Rowan Correspondence (A, B). 1971
Original Rowan Correspondence (A, B). 1972

Box 11

Original Rowan Correspondence (B). 1973
Original Rowan Correspondence. 1974
Rowan Typescript. 1967
Rowan Typescript. 1968
Rowan Typescript. 1969
Rowan Typescript. 1970
Rowan Typescript. 1971
Rowan Typescript. 1972
Rowan Typescript. 1973
Rowan Typescript. 1974
Rowan Typescript - Deleted Pages from Final Revision. Not dated
Typescript and Correspondence concerning "A Friendship". 1967-1974
Rowan and MacDonald (articles and newspaper clippings). 1986-1989
"When You and I Were Young, McGee": Letters of Dan Rowan and John D. MacDonald - Manuscript #1. 1967-1974

Box 12

"A Friendship: The Letters of Dan Rowan and John D. MacDonald" - Manuscript #2. 1967-1974


Series 1B - Family and Personal Papers

Contains correspondence and biographical information about JDM's family members and military service, as well as material pertaining to personal property (homes, boats, etc.). There is also a large section of medical correspondence, records, obituaries, and condolence letters. Calendars, address books, and other incidentals also are included.
Estate of S. Roy Prentiss. 1929; 1944
Poetry of S. Roy Prentiss. 1919
Correspondence - Rita Prentiss. 1929; 1934
Correspondence - John W. Brayton to E. Harold Prentiss. 1926-1930
Eugene and Marguerite MacDonald - Correspondence, Records, Clippings. 1961-1985
Family Years Outline and History. After 1945
Autobiography of Eugene MacDonald - Phases 1-3 ("A window into the world of Horatio Alger" - JDM). Not dated
Autobiography of Eugene MacDonald - Phases 4-6. Not dated
Autobiography of Eugene MacDonald - Phases 7-8. Not dated
Autobiography of Eugene MacDonald - Phases 9-end. Not dated
Eugene A. MacDonald - Proclamation of Appreciation from Savage Arms Corp.. 1946
JDM's birth announcement, cradle registry. 1916
Early School Papers. 1930-1935
Delta Tau Delta Handbook. Not dated
College Transcripts - Syracuse, Harvard. 1936-1939

Box 13

Early Material " The Academician" and "Utica Free Academy Yearbook". 1933-1934
Diary of European Trip. 1934
JDM and DPM Wedding Invitation. 1938
Army Records, Correspondence, etc.. 1942-1953
Maynard (John P.) MacDonald - School Items, Wedding Announcement, etc.. Not dated
Vital Statistics, Passports, Immunization Records, etc.. 1967-1972
Cruise Certificates, Itineraries. 1973-1985
Travel Receipts, Records, etc.. 1977
Travel Brochures and Corresp.. 1985-1987
Cruise Documents and Itineraries. 1985-1987

Box 14

Sagafjord Cruise - Brochures, Local Newspapers, Newsletter, etc.. 1986
Personal Business - JDM/DPM #1 of 2. 1964-1988
Personal Business - JDM/DPM #2 of 2. 1964-1988
Snizms - Masters #1-25 ("The Jungian approach to Snizmism" - JDM). 1966
Snizms - Masters #26-50. 1966
Snizms - Masters. 1968
Snizms - Masters. 1969
Snizms - Masters. 1970
Snizms - Special Supplement. Not dated
Daily Agendas and To-Do Lists. 1968-1983
Piseco - Correspondence and Receipts #1 of 3. 1961-1983

Box 15

Piseco - Correspondence and Receipts #2 of 3. 1972-1978
Piseco - Correspondence and Receipts #3 of 3. 1983-1986
Piseco - Property Maps, Adirondack Park Maps, and Adirondack Park Development Plan. Not dated
Inventory of Valuables for Insurance Records. Not dated
Misc. Newspaper Clippings and Articles by/concerning family members. 1955-1982
Myakka House. 1964-1980
Samuel Prentiss - Sale of Myakka Property. 1975
House Plans and Bills, "Requirements of New House" - Ocean Place. Not dated
House Plans - Ocean Place. Not dated
The "Penthouse" Condo and Lawsuit - Correspondence, articles, etc. ("Complete file on legal action taken which prevented the construction of a condominium to be called The Penthouse, 8 or 9 stories high, next door to our Ocean Place home." - JDM). 1973-1977
JDM's Dream Journal [RESTRICTED ACCESS UNTIL JAN 2012]. Not dated
Membership Cards. Not dated
Business Cards. Not dated
Patient IDs, Library Card (Travis McGee), Account IDs, Press ID, UF Parking Decals. Not dated, 1984-1986
Misc. Medical Records. 1938-1966
Medical Records - Explanation of Medical Benefits. 1981-1983

Box 16

Medical Records, Insurance, etc. #1 of 2. 1972-1978
Medical Records, Insurance, etc. #2 of 2. 1951-1967
Coronary Research and Correspondence ("The letters to and from Dr. Needles are interesting." - JDM). 1971-1976
Mayo Clinic. 1976
Medical - Records, Correspondence, etc. #1of 2. 1986
Medical - Records, Correspondence, etc. #2of 2. 1976-1986
Medicare Files, New York Life Insurance Corp.. 1985-1986
Medical Corresp. - Cardiology. 1981-1986
Medical - Booklets and Pamphlets. 1986
Medical Records - Autopsy Report, Death Certificate, Estate. 1986-1989
JDM - Obituaries #1 of 2. 1986-1987
JDM - Obituaries #2 of 2. 1986-1987

Box 17

Memorials, Remembrances, etc. of JDM's death. 1987
Condolence Letters - Fans and Strangers. 1986-1987
Condolence Letters - Friends and Acquaintances #1 of 2. 1986
Condolence Letters - Friends and Acquaintances #2 of 2. 1986
Condolence Letters - Close Friends. 1986-1987
Condolence Letters (Misc.). 1986-1987
JDM and DPM Memorial Service Guest Book and Program. 1989
Scrapbook of correspondence recommending JDM for membership in the Florida Artist's Hall of Fame. 1989-1991
FL House of Representatives - Resolution 1529. 1988

Box 18

Christmas Lists (Blue Index Notebook). 1974-1976
Overseas Packages (Blue Index Notebook). 1974-1979
Guestbook to unknown event. 1987, Feb 21
Mini Address Book, black. Not dated
Address Books (3). Not dated
Hanging Calendar. 1969
Monet Engagement Calendar. 1984
Sierra Club Engagement Calendar. 1975, 1979
Metropolitan Museum of Art Calendars. 1973, 1977-1978
Cat Calendars. 1978-1983
Loose Calendar Sheets. 1966


Series 1C - Dorothy Prentiss MacDonald

Contains Dorothy's personal correspondence, materials relating to her paintings, and a number of notebooks and quote collections.

Box 19

Early Personal Correspondence. 1919-1936
Personal Correspondence - General #1 of 2. 1966-1988
Personal Correspondence - General #2 of 2. 1948-1983
Personal Correspondence - Incoming Only. 1936-1988
Letter from JDM promising a Christmas Trip. 1967
Correspondence after/relating to JDM's death. 1986-1987
Collins, LeRoy (Correspondence). 1965-1969
Elvir, Maria Luz (Correspondence). 1969-1977
Hirschberg, Edgar (Correspondence). 1987
Prentiss, Rita (Correspondence). 1937-1938
Business Correspondence (with Index). 1971-1989
Medical Bills. 1989

Box 20

Art - Misc. clippings, correspondence, quotes, etc. #1 of 2. 1958-1965
Art - Misc. clippings, correspondence, quotes, etc. #2 of 2. 1963-1965
Art Shows and Exhibitions (DPM and others). 1960-1961
Petticoat Painters and other art.
Steno Pad with Spanish practice and notes. Not dated
Address Books (2). Not dated
Address Books (2). Not dated
Appointment book with notes from Syd's painting class. Not dated
Diplomas - Syracuse University - BA, Fine Arts - MS, Education. 1931, 1935
Scrapbook of quotes. Not dated
Sketchbooks, notepads (3). Not dated
Sketchbooks, notepads (3). Not dated

Return to the main finding guide for the MacDonald Collection.





For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page