
DUANE LOCKE
PAPERS, 1960-1975
8 boxes (4 linear feet)
Ms. Group 80
Description of Papers
(Back to Notes)
Box 1: General, Manuscripts, Miscellaneous, and Unidentified Correspondents
Biographical and General
1. University of Tampa and other academic correspondence and
records; vitas, 1966-1975.
2. Coordinating Council of Literary Magazines - Grant
application, 1972
3 Department of Special Collections,
University of Florida, 1970
4. Publicity about Locke
5. Poetry in the Schools (Tampa Fine Arts Council) 1972-74
Manuscripts by Locke
6. Book Reviews, typed mss.
7. Poetry manuscripts (Individual typed and mimeographed poems)
8. Prose manuscripts (Miscellaneous short and fragmentary
writings)
Other Manuscripts
9. "The Linguistic Realist, Poems" [by
Locke and others] Smith Press. Processed document.
10. Ballantyne, Deirdre. Typed poems. North Bay, Ontario[1974 3
leaves.
11.Barfield, Steve. "The Banjo's Carnival," typed
poem. 1 leaf.
12. Collier, Richard I. Typed poems. Philadelphia, 1974. 7
leaves.
13. Fazio, Damon. Poetry manuscripts, sent with 2ALLS to
Locke, for inclusion in "the Review or whatever." [Bangor, Maine, Dec. 2,
1974, 1975] 20 leaves.
14. Hayes, Charles. Typed poems. 1973-1974. 37 leaves.
15. Hayes, Charles. Manuscripts of poems written by 5th grade
students from Peekskill, NY, in follow-up to the Poetry Review's Student
Issue. 8 leaves Accompanied by TLS to D. Locke, May 17, 1974.
16. Joy, Michael. Typed poems. Southington, CT. 16 leaves.
17. Lustig, Bill. Typed poems. Tenafly, N.J., 3 leaves.
18. MacQueen, James. Typed poems. 6 signed leaves. Accompanied by
TLS to D. Locke [University of Virginia] Feb. 2, 1974.
19. McDonald, Barry. Typed poems (some Xerox copies). Omaha, NE.
41 leaves. One batch is accompanied by TLS to D. Locke.
20. Perpelitt, Manna. "Up in Smoke," typed poem. 1
leaf.
21. Price, Darryl. Typed poems. 2 leaves.
22. Ritter, Lee. Typed poems (copies) sent to Duane Locke,
UT Review, 15 leaves, and one autograph poem. [1974] Authorship of the
handwritten poem is not stated, but it was found with the typed ones. There is,
in addition, one typed (copy) of a poem.
23. Rodeiro, Joseph. The Cube-Root of Pablo. Typed poem (copy),
with autograph note to Locke to consider poem for publication. 2 leaves.
24. Roth, Paul B. Typed poems. Syracuse, NY. 12 leaves.
25. Schermond, Roger. Typed poems. New York, NY. 7 leaves.
26. Stayner, Scott. Typed poems. [Logan, Utah, 1973] 5 leaves.
27. Suarez, Nico. Typed poems. [Logan, Utah, 1972] 22 leaves.
28. Suslick, Edith. "The Rack - for E.H," typed poem. 1
leaf.
29. Unidentified typed and autograph poems. 17 leaves.
30. Student's poems, probably for the Children's Issue of Poetry
Review.
MISCELLANEOUS
31. Essay on Locke's poetry (untitled and author unknown
32. Five photographs by Helene Jarmol. Comments on the photos
are found in her letters.
33. Bonnefoy, Yves - Xerox copy of poems and essay, with note
from Paul Roth asking Locke to write note comparing Bonnefoy and immanentism.
Unidentified Correspondence
34. Letters by Locke, arranged by first name
35. Letters to Locke, arranged by first name
BOX 2: General Correspondence, 1961-1975. Sorted alphabetically by last name. Folders labelled A-Z. 20 folders. Separate folders for M and Mc.
| 1 | A | 1963-1975 | To Locke: 24 From: 4 |
| 2 | B | 1962-1974 | To Locke 35 From: 13 |
| 3 | C | 1962-1972 | To Locke: 32 From: 5 |
| 4 | D | 1964-1973 | To: 23 From: 6 |
| 5 | E | 1963-1971 | To: 16 From: 4 |
| 6 | F | 1963-1975 | To: 20 From: 3 |
| 7 | G | 1962-1973 | To Locke:26 From: 7 |
| 8 | H | 1962-1973 | To:56 from 11 |
| 9 | I - J | 1965-1972 | To Locke: 16 From: 2 |
| 10 | K | 1962-1975 | To: 40 From: 5 |
| 11 | L | 1962-1971 | To Locke: 22 From: 1 |
| 13 | Mc | 1965-1974 | To Locke: 14 From Locke: 1 |
| 14 | N-O | 1961-1974 | To: 21 From: 5 |
| 15 | P-Q | 1966-1974 | To: 19 From: 3 |
| 16 | R | 1963-1974 | To: 28 From: 6 |
| 17 | S | 1963-1974 | To: 65 From:10 |
| 18 | T - V | 1963-1974 | To: 25 From: 6 |
| 19 | W | 1962-1974 | To: 32 From: 3 |
| 20 | Y - Z | 1964-1973 | To : 3 From: 1 |
Box 3: Individual Correspondents: Ackley - Hoegeberg. 40 folders.
| No. | Name | Date | Note |
| 1 | Ackley, Randall and Martha | 1969 - 1971 | To Locke: 13; from: 5 |
| 2 | Amorosi, Ray | ca. 1970 | To Locke: 10 |
| 3 | Babcock, Barbara | ca. 1970 | To Locke: 4; from: 1 |
| 4 | Bakken, Dick | 1964-65 | To Locke: 6 |
| 5 | Barks, Coleman | 1967-1968 | To Locke: 5; from: 4 |
| 6 | Berner, Jeff | 1963-1964 | To Locke: 7 |
| 7 | Bethel, Gar | 1964-1971 | To Locke: 3; from: 2 |
| 8 | Blazek, Doug | 1964-1969 | To Locke: 9; from: 5 |
| 9 | Bly, Robert | 1971-1972 | To Locke: 10 (Includes signed poems) From Locke:3 |
| 10 | Boothe, Anna | 1967-1968, n.d. | To: Locke 9 (Includes mss.) From Locke: 3 |
| 11 | Briggs, Harold | 1965-968 | To Locke: 4; from: 2 |
| 12 | Brigham, Besmilar | 1968-1970 | To Locke: 5; from: 2 |
| 13 | Brillant, Alan (Unicorn Press) | 1968 | To Locke: 3; from: 3 |
| 14 | Britt, Alan | 1970-1975 | To Locke: 16 Includes mss. and other letters |
| 15 | Cardona-Hine, Alvaro | 1956-1972 | To Locke: 6 |
| 16 | Casciani, Eda (Cardinal) | 1965-1966 | To Locke: 6 |
| 17 | Choyke, Phyllis Ford (Harper Square Press) | 1971-1972 | To Locke: 5 |
| 18 | Coleman, Elliott | 1965-1966 | To Locke: 6. Includes mss. |
| 19 | Collier, Richard I. | ca. 1974 | To Locke: 7; from Locke: 1 |
| 20 | Congdon, Kirby | 1964-1969 | To Locke: 7: from: 1 |
| 21 | Connellan, Leo | 1965-1972 | To Locke: 35; from Locke: 7 |
| 22 | Contoski, Victor | 1966 | To Locke: 4; from 1 |
| 23 | Cornish, Sam | 1966-1971 | To Locke: 19; from Locke: 5 |
| 24 | Cross, Hollace and Jerry Dethrow | 1964-1969 | To Locke: 3; from: 4 |
| 25 | Dacey, Philip | 1967-1968 | To Locke: 6 |
| 26 | Davis, Rik | 1965-1970 | To Locke 9; from 6 |
| 27 | DelaBarre, Adele | 1967-1968 | To Locke: 4; from: 2 |
| 28 | Dorman, Sonya | 1967-1973 | To Locke 5; from 1 |
| 29 | Eaton, Charles Edward | 1966-1967 | To Locke: 6; from: 1 |
| Fairclough, Lizabeth, cf. Mahoney | |||
| 30 | Farris, William "Bill" ( Sunburst) | 1967-1968 | To Locke: 9; from: 4 |
| 31 | Fessenden, Anne | 1970-1972 | To Locke: 5 |
| 32 | Finch, Peter | [ca. 1975?] | To Locke: 4; from 1 |
| 33 | Flaherty, Doug | 1967-1968 | To Locke 4; from 1 |
| 34 | Fowler, Gene | 1966-1967 | To Locke 5; from 1 |
| 35 | Fox, Hugh | 1967-1975 | To: Locke: 30; from: 14 |
| 36 | Gray, Darrell | 1966-1968 | To Locke: 10; from 5 |
| 37 | Greinke, Eric (Pilot Press Books) | [ca. 1975?] | To Locke: 6 |
| 38 | Hayes, Charles Philip | 1973-1975 | To Locke: 33; from 2. Includes numerous mss. |
| 39 | Hershon, Bob | 1967-1972 | To Locke: 10; from 4 |
| 40 | Hoegberg, Norman | 1966-1968 | To Locke: 4; from Locke: 2 |
Box 4: Individual Correspondents: Inez - Scheibli. 31 folders.
| 1 | Inez, Colette | 1968-1973 | To Locke: 4; from Locke: 3 |
| 2 | Jarrett, Emmett | 1967-1970 | To Locke: 5; from Locke: 2 |
| 3 | Jarmol, Helene | 1965-1972 | To Locke: 27; from: 6 Cf. Jarmol photographs in Box 1. |
| 4 | Jaworski, Richard and Suzanne | 1967-1972 | To Locke 8; from 1 |
| 5 | Juergensen, Hans | 1966-1972 | To Locke 10; from 3 Includes typescripts of "Sermon from the Ammunition Hatch on the Ship of Fools," and "From the Divide," by Juergensen. Cf. Hans Juergensen Papers. |
| 6 | Kelves, Barbara | 1972-1973 | To Locke: 5 |
| Krohn, Silvia, cf. Schiebli | |||
| 7 | Leonard, Jane | 1965-1972 | To Locke 20; from 4 |
| 8 | Lewis, Henry | 1966-1967 | To: 11; from: 2 |
| 9 | Lustig, William "Bill" | 1972-1973 | To Locke: 7; from Locke 2 |
| 10 | MacQueen, James | 1970-1976 | To Locke: 17; from: 2 |
| 11 | Mahoney, Lizabeth Fairclough | 1970-1974 | To Locke: 17; from 3 |
| 12 | Mangelsdorff, Rich | 1970 | To Locke: 5 from Locke: 1 |
| 13 | Matsuda, Sumio | 1970-1971 | To Locke:4; from Locke: 2 |
| 14 | Matthews, William P. | 1967-1968 | To Locke: 5; from Locke: 2 |
| 15 | Mayer, Parm | 1966-1969 | To Locke: 9 postcards, notes |
| 16 | McCarthy, Gerald (La Huerta) | 1972 | To Locke: 5 |
| 17 | Miller, Brown | 1966 | To Locke: 4; from 1 |
| 18 | Morgan, Robert G. "Bob" | 1968 | To Locke: 3; from 3 |
| 19 | Morris, Richard (COSMEP) | 1970-1972 | To Locke 10; from 3 |
| 20 | Niles, Faye P. (Green World) | 1962-1963 | To Locke: 5 |
| 21 | Oatman, Eric F. (Manhattan Review) | 1965-1966 | To Locke: 8 |
| 22 | O'Sullivan, Garrett | 1970-1972 | To Locke: 20; from 4 |
| 23 | Parrott, Jerry | 1967-1970 | To Locke: 5 |
| 24 | Riccio, Ottone (Premiere) | 1967-1968 | To Locke: 4; from 3 |
| 25 | Rippey, Frances Mayhew (Forum) | 1963-1964 | To Locke: 5 |
| 26 | Rodeiro, Jose (Joe) | 1972-1974 | To Locke: 11; Locke: 2 |
| 27 | Rose, Harriet E. | 1972 | To Locke: 5 |
| 28 | Roth, Paul (Bitter Oleander Press) | 1969-1976 | To Locke: 21; from 8 |
| 29 | Russell, Norman | 1968-1972 | To Locke: 9; from Locke 2 |
| 30 | Sauls, Roger | 1967-1969 | To Locke: 14; from Locke: 4 |
| 31 | Scheibli, Silvia Krohn | 1968 | To Locke: 25; from:11 Includes mss. |
Box 5: Individual Correspondents: Shapiro - Wolven. 20 folders
| 1 | Shapiro, Sid | 1964-1969 | To Locke: 8; from: 3 |
| 2 | Smith, Harry (The Smith) | 1971-1974 | To Locke 11; from 5 |
| 3 | Sobin, A. G. "Tony" | 1968-1972 | To Locke: 8; from Locke: 4 |
| 4 | Sorcic, Jim (Gunrunner Press) | 1968-1969 | To Locke: 5; from Locke: 5 |
| 5 | Spiro, Leon | 1969-1970 | To Locke 8; from 2 |
| 6 | Stern, Steve | 1965 | To Locke: 6 |
| 7 | Stone, Ed | 1967-1968 | To Locke: 5; from Locke: 2 |
| 8 | Suarez, Nico | 1972-1975 | To Locke 26; from 5. Includes mss. |
| 9 | Taylor, William E. (Bill) (Poetry Florida) | 1964-1970 | To: 25 From: 7 |
| 10 | Thorne, Evelyn | 1968 | To Locke: 5; from Locke: 1 |
| 11 | Tucker, Harvey (Black Sun Press) | 1965-1968 | To Locke:36; from Locke: 32 |
| 12 | Umphrey, Robert E. | 1972 | To Locke: 4; from Locke: 1 |
| 13 | Wade, David | 1965-1976 | To Locke: 7; from Locke: 1 |
| 14 | Wagner, D. R. | [ca. 1966] | To Locke: 2; from Locke: 3 (Includes Locke ms.) |
| 15 | Wakoski, Diane | 1964-1970 | To Locke 9; from 2 |
| 16 | Whittaker, George S. (Driftwood) | 1962-1964 | To Locke: 4; from: Locke 1 |
| 17 | Williams, Miller (LSU Press) | 1966-1968 | To Locke: 10; from: 1 |
| 18 | Woessner, Warren | 1968-1969 | To Locke 15; from: 5 |
| 19 | Wolven, Fred (Ann Arbor Review) | 1966-1965 | Letters to Locke ca. 87, includes mss. |
| 20 | Wolven, Fred (Ann Arbor Review) | 1967-1970 | Letters from Locke; ca. 54, includes mss. |
Boxes 6-8: University of Tamp Poetry Review and UT Review
Locke
founded and edited two quarterly poetry journals, the University of Tampa Poetry
Review (nos.1-23, 1964-1971) and the UT Review (v.1-7:2, 1972-1982).
The Papers contain manuscripts and hand revised and corrected galley proofs of
some issues. Occasional correspondence is included with the manuscripts. A
complete published set of the Poetry Review is included for reference.
The University of Florida Libraries does not have published copies of the UT
Review, except as noted in Box 8.
Box 6: Poetry Review (University of Tampa) nos. 1 - 23, May 1964-1971
Box 7: Poetry Review (University of Tampa) Manuscripts, nos. 8-16, 1966-1969. 9 folders.
Box 8: UT Review
| 1 | UT Review | v.1, no.1, 1972 | "Poems accepted." |
| 2 | UT Review | v.1, no. 2 | Manuscripts |
| 3 | UT Review | v.1, no. 2 | Galley proofs |
| 4 | UT Review | v.1, no. 3 | Manuscripts |
| 5 | UT Review | v.1, no. 3 | Galley proofs |
| 6 | UT Review | v.1, no. 4 | Manuscripts and galley proofs |
| 7 | UT Review | v2, no. 1 | Manuscripts |
| 8 | UT Review | v. 2, no.2 (Children's Issue) | Manuscripts |
| 9 | UT Review | v. 2, no.2 (Children's Issue) | Galley proofs |
| 10 | UT Review | v2, no. 3 | Manuscripts and galley proofs |
| 11 | UT Review | v.2, no. 4 | Manuscripts and galley proofs |
| 12 | UT Review | v.3, no. 1 | Manuscripts |
| 13 | UT Review | v3, no. 2 | Manuscripts |
| 14 | UT Review | v.3, no. 2b | Manuscripts |
| 15 | UT Review | v. 1-v.2; v.3, no. 2b; v. 4, no. 1-3 | Published copies |
September 18, 2002
| UF LIBRARIES | SPECIAL COLLECTIONS | MANUSCRIPTS PAGE | MANUSCRIPTS GUIDE |
For further information (please register before receiving staff assistance), please contact: