A Guide to the Hans Juergensen Papers
Finding aid prepared by Dept. Staff
University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections
March 2005
|
|
|
|
|
|
Provenance: |
Juergensen, Hans, 1919- |
|
Title: |
Hans Juergensen Papers |
|
Dates: |
1961-1981 |
|
Abstract: |
Typescripts of articles and poems by poet and teacher, Hans Juergensen, 1961-1981. |
|
Extent: |
3 Boxes |
|
Identification: |
Ms Group 61 |
Hans Juergensen was born December 17, 1919, in Myslowitz, Germany (now Poland). After serving with the U.S. Army in several
European campaigns, he married Ilsa Dina Loebenberg is 1945. He received a B.A. from Upsala College in 1942 and a Ph.D. degree
from Johns Hopkins in 1951. After teaching at the University of Kansas and at Quinnipac College in Connecticut, Dr. Juergensen
joined the faculty of the University of South Florida for the remainder of his academic career. He is the author of numerous
volumes of poetry, translations, and criticism.
The Papers consist primarily of autograph and typed manuscripts of many of Juergensen's poems, often in multiple drafts and
of his translations of The Broken Jug by Heinrich von Kleist and of other works. There are also manuscripts of critical essays, literary correspondence (1962-72),
and some printed material, including news clippings about his career. In addition, the collection also contains manuscripts
of two volumes of poetry by his wife, Ilse Juergensen.
Access
Collection is open for research.
Usage Restrictions
Copyright is retained by Dr. and Mrs. Juergensen.
[Identification of item], Hans Juergensen Papers, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University
of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.
The papers were donated to the University of Florida by Dr. Juergensen between 1972 and 1978.
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Miscellany - Manuscripts, Printed Writings, Biographical Material, Reviews, and Correspondence
|
Box 1 |
"Poetry on the Campus," Lecture delivered before the National Federation of State Poetry Societies. 6/24/67. TS with holograph
corrections. 6pp.
|
|
"Pope's 'Essay on Man.' " TS with holograph corrections. 30pp. |
|
"The Sponge: Learning As a Creative Activity." Ts. 3pp. |
|
"General George H. Thomas: A Summary in Perspective" TS with holograph corrections. 31pp. Published in WEID no. 34, July 1972. pp. 61-92. (Published copy included)
|
|
ALS to Editor, Tampa Tribune, September 14, 1975, 2pp; published Sept. 28, 1975; ALS ("Open letter, not sent," to University of South Florida community),
Oct. 1970, 4 p.
|
|
Typed ms. (carbon) on "poetic image," 2 p. |
|
Publications: "Notes on Teaching poetry," and "A Modest Resolution on Pre-College English Requirements" 3 p. Xerox copy. (2)
"Platitudinous efficacies" in Father Joe's Handy Homilies, Vol. I no. 1, 1969, pp. 4. (3) "The Autobiography of a Pretender," Ampersand: the South Florida Review, 1973, and others.
|
|
Biographical data, includes a 5x7" photograph, Sept., 1971, and a portrait in pencil |
|
Clippings and other material about Juergensen |
|
Reviews of Juergensen's books |
|
Correspondence, 1962-1972, 1977 |
|
Correspondence, 1962-1972, 1977 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Manuscripts and Poems
|
Box 1 |
California Frescoes (1980), autograph and typed manuscripts
|
|
California Frescoes (1980), autograph and typed manuscripts
|
|
From the divide (1970), Typescripts with few corrections
|
|
In Need for Names (1961), "Working manuscript"
|
|
Master William's Epilogue, Manuscript. |
|
Point of Departure, Manuscript. |
|
Point of Departure (2), Typescript with holograph corrections. |
|
"As in the Present," ms. score, and "Crucifixion," duplicated score. Words by Hans Juergensen |
Box 2 |
Towards the Roots (Israeli Poems and Pilgrimages), holograph and typescript mss. Letters of presentation to Laura Monti, Sept.
20 and Oct. 23, 1974.
|
|
Poems - holographs and typescripts, 1977 |
|
Poems - holographs and typescripts, 1977 |
|
Poems - holographs and typescripts, 1977 |
|
Poems - holographs and typescripts, 1975 |
|
Poems - typescripts, 1967-68 |
|
Poems - holographs, 1967 |
|
Poems - holographs and typescripts, 1969-74 |
|
Poems - typscripts, 1959-70. Includes translations of poems of Nelly Sachs. |
|
Poems - holographs and typescripts, 1963-1970 |
|
Poems - holographs and typescripts, 1977 |
Box 3 |
Working sheets of poems, 1977-78, and final version of the "Prophets," July 3-23, 1981
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Translations
|
Box 3 |
Translation of Adler's "Memories," translated by H. Juergensen. Holograph and typescript.
|
|
The Broken Jug by Heinrich Von Kleist, translated by Hans Juergensen. A. manuscript.
|
|
The Broken Jug. A. manuscript (xerox copy).
|
|
The Broken Jug, a comedy by Heinrich von Kleist (1777-1811). Translated by Hans Juergensen. Typed ms. (Xerox). 67 p. Completed, Jan. 26,
1971. Checked and corrected, Nov. 5-6, 1976.
|
|
The Autobiography of a Pretender, an original poem by Hans Juergensen and The Broken Jug, a comedy by Heinrich von Kleist, translated into English blank verse by Hans Juergensen. Homestead, FL: Olivant Press, 1977.
Inscribed by H. Juergensen, Aug. 17, 1977.
|
|
Woyzeck by Georg Buechner, newly translated by Hans Juergensen . . . . Fragmentary holograph and typewritten pages. Introductory
material.
|
|
Woyzeck, translated by H. Juergensen. Holograph pages.
|
|
Woyzeck, by Georg Buechner, Xerox copy of the play, printed in Hebrew.
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Poems by Ilse Juergensen
|
Box 3 |
The Second Time, poems by Ilse Juergensen. Typed ms. Presentation letter from H. Juergensen to Laura Monti, July 22, 1977.
|
|
I Don't Want a Thunderbird Anymore poems by Ilse Juergensen. Typed ms. |
|
|
|
|
|
|
The following terms have been used to index the description of this collection in the Library's online catalog: |
|
|
|
Personal Names: |
|
|
Juergensen, Ilse. |
|
Subject Terms: |
|
|
Poets, American -- 20th century -- Correspondence. |
For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access
Services.