Skip to Search



A Guide to the Jeremie Journal

Finding aid prepared by Carl Van Ness

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections
August 2004


Descriptive Summary

Title: Jeremie Journal
Dates: 1820-1821
Abstract: Journal of unidentified American smith who lived briefly in Haiti.
Extent: 0.03 Linear feet. 1 volume (28 leaves).
Identification: MS Group 168
Language(s): English
Access: Researchers should consult with Special Collections staff before using the collection because there are access restrictions. See the Access note for more information.
Online Content Items from this collection have been digitized and are available online in the UF Digital Collections. For more information please see the note below.

Scope and Content

The diary covers part 1820 and 1821 when its writer, an unidentified Catskill, New Yorker, lived in Jeremie, Haiti. The man, who was trained as a smith, attempted to make his living working as a smith and eventually, out of necessity, as a carpenter. The diary has some rich descriptions of Mardi Gras, a New Year's celebration with an elaborate procession and parade, funerals and wakes, and the landscape around Jeremie. It also contains some interesting rumors about Christophe, Petion and Boyer. The smith ultimately becomes disenchanted with the lack of economic opportunities and the racial situation (he often complained of injustices because he was a white man), and the diary ends with his return to the United States.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

The collection is available in digital format. Use of original diary is restricted.


Administrative Information

Alternate Form of Material

Digital reproductions of pages from the Jeremie Journal are available online via the University of Florida Digital Collections (UFDC). Please read the Permissions for Use statement for information on copyright, fair use, and use of UFDC digital objects.

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Jeremie Journal, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.


Selected Subjects and Access Terms

Haiti--Description and travel--19th century
Jeremie (Haiti)



For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page