Skip to Search



A Guide to the Italian Miscellaneous Manuscripts

Finding aid prepared by Dept. Staff

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections
March 2005


Descriptive Summary

Title: Italian Miscellaneous Manuscripts
Dates: 1680-1778
Abstract: Italian manuscripts created between 1683 and 1778 by authors such as Laurentius Balbi and Joseph Balbus.
Extent: 1.75 Linear feet. 4 Boxes.
Identification: MS Group 49
Language(s): Materials are written in Italian and Latin.

Scope and Content

Miscellaneous Italian and Latin manuscripts created in Naples between 1683 and 1778 by authors such as Laurentius and Franciscus Balbi and Joseph Balbus. The collection materials are grouped according to author (e.g., series 49, 49a, 49b, etc.).


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

The collection is open for research.


Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Italian Miscellaneous Manuscripts, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.


Contents List

Box
1 49: Balbus, [Joseph]. Antiguitatum Romanorum, [Neapoli?], 1770. 6 v., 3 fold., maps, diagrams. In latin, mss. No pagination. Original vellum covers.
1 49a: Institutionem juis Regni Neapolitani, [Neapoli, 1715 ?]. In latin, mss. Each gathering is numbered on the first page. Law, Italian history and criticism. Original paper covers.
2 49b: Institutiones logicae, [Neapoli], 1776. In latin, mss. 684 pp., diagrams. Colophon: Neap. XVII, Mas Feb MDCCLXXVII. Original paper covers.
2 49c: Balbi, Laurentius. De Immunitate ecclesarium materia, (Colophon: Neapoli, 1683). In latin, mss. 64 leaves. (Bound with: Peccatorum reservatorum materia, [1684], and De iureiurando, [n.d.], [Balbi, Laurentis?]. 91 leaves.) Text damaged by one contigionus wormhole. Initial rubricated. Original vellum covers.
2 49d: Juris natura, [Neapoli], 1778. In latin, mss. 291 pp. From southern Italy. Titles in Roman script. Original paper covers.
2 49e: Institutionem canonicarum liber, [Neapoli, c 1770]. In latin, mss. 200 pp. Original vellum covers.
2 49f: Ad teologiam dognaticam de precipuis fidei catholice veribus. Dissertatio prima, (through sexta), [n.p., c 18th century]. In latin, mss. From southern Italy. 54 leaves. Titles in Roman script. Original vellum covers.
2 49g: [Balbi, Franciscus]. Ius caonicum ad Langellot. Institutiones explicatum. In latin, mss. 66, 36, 80, 46 l. Titles in Roman script. Original vellun covers.
2 49h: Theologi naturalis, [Neapoli], 1778. In latin, mss. From southern Italy. 250 pp. Some damage from humidity and vermin. Original paper covers.
2 49i: [Balbi, Franciscus]. Introductio in ius naturae at gentium, ethicam, oeconomicam atgue politicam; lioc est philosophia practica iunversalis seu protopractica, [Neapoli], 1770. In latin, mss. 145 pp. Title in Roman script. Original vellum covers.
3 49j: De Universa philosophia, [Neapoli], c 1770. In latin, mss. 160 [48] 1. Original paper covers.
3 49k: Aquinas, St. Thomas. Tractatus II. De Deo uno eiusgue atributis, [Neapoli, c. 1700]. In latin, mss. Engarved frontispiece. [81] 1. Original vellum covers.
3 49l: Ad tertiam institutionem canonicarum librum commetaria, [Neapoli], 1740. In latin, mss. 216 pp. Some water stains. Original vellum covers.
3 49m: Balbi, Joseph. Institutionum canonicarum, Neapoli, 1698. In latin, mss. 503 pp. Original vellum covers.
3 49n: [Institutiones iurii privati Regni Neapolitani], [Neapoli, c 1740]. In latin, mss. 138 pp [4 blanks], 87 leaves. Title taken from opening. Title page illegible due to water damage. The last date mentioned [in text] is 1738.
3 49o: Institutionu civiliu, [Neapoli, 1683]. In latin, mss. 43 pp [4 blanks], 75 pp [4 blanks], 68 pp [3 blanks], 70 pp [2 blanks]. (Bound between: Liber III and Liber II is: De Dote ex fuerat.) The date is taken from Liber III, and place from LiV. IV. [Balbus]. Original vellum cover.
3 49p: Balbus, Joseph. Institutionum civilium, [Neapoli, 1698-1699]. In latin, mss. 100 pp [3 blanks], 609 pp [5 blanks]. Insect and water damage throughout. Original vellum covers.
4 49q: Satura rethorica, Neaploi, 1719. In latin, mss. 252 pp. Includes ink drawings as hea tails and eand tails. Original vellum covers.
4 49r: Grammatica francese, [Neapoli], 1777. In Italian, mss. 2 vol. Colophon: 18 Ottobre 1777. Second volume written by distinctly different hand.
4 49s: Osservazioni nella grammatica latina, [Neapoli], 1769. In Italian, mss. 4 vol.s. (Bound with: De Methodo Mathematico commentatio brevis, [Neapoli, 1769], 30 leaves; Elementa arithmetica, [Neapoli, 1769], 122 leaves; and De Juris Natuirae elementa, [Neapoli, 1769], 94 leaves.).

For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page