Skip to Search



A Guide to the Richard Barksdale Harwell Papers

Finding aid prepared by Dept. Staff

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections
March 2005


Descriptive Summary

Creator: Harwell, Richard Barksdale
Title: Richard Barksdale Harwell Papers
Dates: 1950-1959
Abstract: Drafts, proof copies, notes, correspondence, and source material relating to Civil War publications by Richard Harwell.
Extent: 3 Linear feet. 6 boxes.
Identification: MS Group 30
Language(s): English

Biographical/Historical Note

Richard Barksdale Harwell was born in 1915 in Washington County, Georgia. A librarian, bibliographer, and historian, Harwell authored and edited numerous books relating to the Civil War and especially to the Confederacy.


Scope and Content

The Harwell Papers contain drafts, proof copies, notes, correspondence, and source material relating to twelve of his publications: Cities and Camps of the Confederate States, by Fitzgerald Ross (1958); Confederate Music (1950) ; Confederate Reader (1957); Cornerstones of Confederating Collecting (1953); Deconstruction and Reconstruction: Personal Experiences of the Late War, by Richard Taylor (1955); Kate, the Journal of a Confederate Nurse, by Kate Cumming (1959); A Military Tourist: Colonel Fremantle and His Confederate Travels (1953); More Confederate Imprints (1957); Songs of the Confederacy (1951); Stonewall Jackson and the Old Stonewall Brigade, by John Esten Cooke (1954); Three Months in the Confederate Army, by Henry Hotze (1952); and Union Reader (1958).


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

The collection is open for research.


Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Richard Barksdale Harwell Papers, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.

Processing Notes

Some papers were moved from the Creative Writing Collection to the Harwell Papers.


Contents List

Box
1 Harwell's presentation inscription, Cities and Camps of the Confederate States by Fitzgerald Ross. Edited by Richard Barksdale Harwell (Urbana: University of Illinois Press, 1958). Published in 1865 under the title A Visit to the Cities and Camps of the Confederate States.
1 Cities and Camps of the Confederate States. "Introduction" draft and chapter notes; a.ms., 57 pp.
1 Cities and Camps of the Confederate States. Correspondence relating to Harwell's edition. (A correspondence inventory is available in the Department of Special Collections).
1 Cities and Camps of the Confederate States. Correspondence (photocopies) from Ross to William Blackwood, 1864-1865. (A correspondence inventory is available in the Department of Special Collections).
1 Cities and Camps of the Confederate States. Photographs (5).
1 Cities and Camps of the Confederate States. "Preface," autograph ms. (4 pp.) and "Preface" and "Introduction," typed ms. (42 pp.) With copy of review of original edition (1865?).
1 Cities and Camps of the Confederate States. Galley proofs - Author's copy, with autograph revisions.
1 Galley proof. Confederate Reader, ed. by Richard Barksdale Harwell (New York: Longmans, Green, 1957).
1 Galley proof, marked for indexing. Confederate Reader
1 Photocopies of source articles and illustrations for the Confederate Reader
2 More Confederate Imprints. (Richmond: Virginia State Library,1957). Galley, 1st proof.
2 More Confederate Imprints. Galley, 2nd proof.
2 More Confederate Imprints. Galley, 3rd proof.
2 More Confederate Imprints. Page proofs.
3 The Union Reader (New York: Longmans, Green, 1958). Galley proofs, with revisions, 119 sheets.
3 The Union Reader. Galley proofs for indexing, 354 pages.
3 The Union Reader. Related correspondence, dust jacket. (A correspondence inventory is available in the Department of Special Collections).
3 The Union Reader. Introduction and chapter drafts
3 The Union Reader. Source material (photocopies)
4 Page proofs, 335 leaves. Kate: the Journal of a Confederate Nurse, by Kate Cumming (Baton Rouge: Louisiana State University Press, 1959). First published in 1866 under the title A Journal of Hospital Life in the Confederate Army of Tennessee.
4 Kate: the Journal of a Confederate Nurse. Typed preface, introduction, chapter notes, related correspondence. (A correspondence inventory is available in the Department of Special Collections)
4 Kate: the Journal of a Confederate Nurse. "Confederate Anti-Lincoln Literature," Lincoln Herald, 53:3, fall 1951 - Typescripts, notes, related correspondence, etc.
4 Confederate Music (Chapel Hill, University of North Carolina Press, 1950).Correspondence, 1947-1948.
4 Confederate Music. Correspondence - University of North Carolina Press, 1947-1950.
4 Confederate Music. Research and bibliographical notes.
4 Confederate Music. Galleys proofs.
5 Cornerstones of Confederate Collecting. 2d ed. Charlottesville: University of Virginia Press for the Bibliographical Society of the University of Virginia,1953 - Typescript, galley and page proofs, notes, and correspondence.
5 A Military Tourist: Colonel Fremantle and His Confederate Travels. (Chicago: Abraham Lincoln Bookshop, 1953. Reprinted from the Emory University Quarterly, 10:1, March 1954) - Typescripts, notes, correspondence, etc.
5 Songs of the Confederacy. (New York, Broadcast Music, 1951) - Typescript, research materials, and correspondence.
5 Three Months in the Confederate Army, by Henry Hotze, with an introduction and notes by Richard B. Harwell. (University of Alabama Press, 1952. Printed facsimile from the London Index, 1862). Typescript, paste-ups, correspondence, research material, etc.
5 Three Months in the Confederate Army. Photocopy of original article by Hotze, from the Index, 1862.
5 Stonewall Jackson and the Old Stonewall Brigade, by John Esten Cooke. Edited by Richard Barksdale Harwell. (Charlottesville: University of Virginia Press for the Tracy W. McGregor Library, 1954) - Typed ms. and page proofs. Includes correspondence between the editor and John Cooke Wyllie, University of Virginia Library, 1953-1954.
5 Destruction and Reconstruction: Personal Experiences of the Late War by Richard Taylor. Edited by Richard B Harwell. (New York: Longmans, Green, 1955. Original edition, New York, D. Appleton, 1879) - Typescript of introduction, notes, and index.
6 Taylor, Richard. Destruction and Reconstruction: Personal Experiences of the Late War Continued. Copy of 1879 edition, disbound and marked for use in setting reprint.
6 Destruction and Reconstruction. Galley proofs - "marked set", copy 1
6 Destruction and Reconstruction. Galley proofs - "marked set", copy 2
6 Destruction and Reconstruction. Galley proofs - "final."
6 Destruction and Reconstruction. Correspondence, autograph and typed notes.

Selected Subjects and Access Terms

Charities -- Confederate States of America.
Confederate States of America -- History -- Sources.
Cumming, Kate, 1835-1909.
Hospitals -- Confederate States of America.
Ross, Fitzgerald.
United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865.



For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page