Skip to Search



A Guide to the Julia E. Harn Manuscripts

Finding aid prepared by Dept. Staff

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections
September 2004


Descriptive Summary

Creator: Harn, Julia E.
Title: Julia E. Harn Manuscripts
Dates: 1899-1931
Abstract: Typescript of "Old Canoochee Backwoods Sketches" and other manuscripts by author, Julia E. Harn.
Extent: 0.5 Linear feet. 1 Box.
Identification: MS 73
Language(s): English
Online Content Items from this collection have been digitized and are available online in the UF Digital Collections. For more information please see the note below.

Biographical/Historical Note

Author Julia Harn was born in Georgia. She is described as having lived in Savannah and Waycross, Georgia, and Gainesville and Punta Gorda, Florida. She was a teacher in Punta Gorda.


Scope and Content

The Harn manuscripts include typescripts of several works describing southern backwoods life, including "Old Canoochee Backwoods Sketches." In addition, there is a drama entitled "The Dusenberrys" and some miscellaneous papers. Some of these works were published in the Georgia Historical Quarterly.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

The collection is open for research.


Administrative Information

Alternate Form of Material

Digital reproductions of items in this collection are available online via the University of Florida Digital Collections (UFDC). Please read the Permissions for Use statement for information on copyright, fair use, and use of UFDC digital objects.

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Julia E. Harn Manuscripts, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.


Contents List

Box
1 Old Canoochee Backwoods Sketches. Life in the Backwoods of the Lower South in the Late Ante-bellum Days. In three parts. Part I: The Family Life. Typescript with corrections, complete. 92p.
1 Old Canoochee Backwoods Sketches. Part II: Times and Pastimes. Typescript with corrections, complete. 45p.
1 Old Canoochee Backwoods Sketches. Part III: The Harrison Family. Typescript, first draft, complete. 60p.
1 Old Canoochee Backwoods Sketches. Part III: The Harrison Family. Second draft, complete. 23p.
1 Old Canoochee - Ogeechee Chronicles. Typescript, complete. 83p.
1 Old Canoochee - Ogeechee Chronicles. Part II: Life over the River. First draft, complete. 13p.
1 Old Canoochee - Ogeechee Chronicles. Part II: Life over the River. Second draft, complete. 13p.
1 All Black and Rightly Named Typescript. 6p.
1 The Dusenberrys: A Three Act Play Typescript; first draft. 36p. May, 1909
1 The Dusenberrys: A Three Act Play Typescript; second draft. 37p. May, 1909
1 Pencil Sketches accompanied by explanations, Autograph manuscript. 10p.
1 Miscellaneous. (1) Georgia Historical Quarterly, March, Sept. 1931, Dec. 1939. (2)Clipping, DeSoto County, Dec. 15, 1899: Miss Harn in Teacher's Institute. (3)Letter to Merton Coulter from Harn, Mt. Dora, Fl., Dec. 2, 1930. 1899-1931

For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page