Skip to Search



A Guide to the Haitiana Collection

Finding aid created by Dept. Staff

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections
August 2007


Descriptive Summary

Title: Haitiana Collection
Dates: 1805-1954
Abstract: Correspondence and other records documenting politics in Haiti in the 19th and 20th centuries.
Extent: 1.3 Linear feet. 3 boxes and oversize items.
Identification: MS Group 23
Language(s): French
Online Content Items from this collection have been digitized and are available online in the UF Digital Collections. For more information please see the note below.

Scope and Content

The records in the Haitiana Collection document the history of Haiti during the 19th century and the first half of the 20th century, 1805-1954. The collection primarily is comprised of correspondence to and from various Presidents and Emperors of Haiti, government officials (Secretaries for Foreign Relations, Economy, Public Instruction, etc.), and presidents and leaders of other nations, particularly in the Caribbean, the United States and Europe. A large number of the letters are from Roman Catholic popes and other heads of state around the world congratulating the leaders of Haiti on their inaugurations. Other documents include reports, commercial agreements (with the U.S. and other countries), reports of military activities, appointments, laws, and documents pertaining to diplomatic and consular affairs.

Among the many Haitian heads of state represented in this collection are Alexandre Pétion, Faustin Soulouque, Nissage Saget, Lysius Salomon, Pierre Nord Alexis, François Antoine Simon, Oreste Zamor, Joseph Davilmar Theodore, Jean Vilbrun Guillaume Sam, and Sténio Vincent. Other notable Haitians include Murville Ferere, Minister of Foreign Relations; Solon Menos, Haitian ambassador to the U.S.; and General Turenne Jean-Gilles; and Charles Moravia, Minister Plenipotentiary to the U.S. during the American occupation of Haiti.

The collection was acquired and processed as four groups: MS Group 23A spans 1900-1943; MS Group 23B spans 1903-1954; MS Group 23C spans 1900-1944; and MS Group 23D spans 1805-1899. The first three groups cover the 20th century, and the dates and subjects overlap considerably. The fourth group spans the 19th century, and there is very little overlap between it and the first three groups.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

The collection is open for research.


Administrative Information

Alternate Form of Material

Digital reproductions of items in this collection are available online via the University of Florida Digital Collections (UFDC). Please read the Permissions for Use statement for information on copyright, fair use, and use of UFDC digital objects.

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Haitiana Collection, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.

Processing Notes

Some of the documents in this collection are described at the individual item level, particularly in Group 23A. Many of the document descriptions use the following abbreviations: LS for Letter Signed; ALS for Autograph Letter Signed; and TLS for Typewritten Letter Signed.


Contents List

Ms 23A, 1900-1943


Box
1 Dubreuil, Monta. Leogane. ALS to: Justice of the Peace of Leogane asking for punishment of the citizen Jean Theophile for engaging in voodoo dances. 1p. 1900 January 17
1 Jean-Gilles, Turenne. Cap Haitien. LS to: Secretary of Foreign Relations reporting information about French citizen Jesus Leoncito Mislan. Enclosures: 1) Dominican testimony, 2) Confirmation that he is a rebel, 3) Report by Benjamin Marigat of conversation with Leoncio in prison, 4) Report by Commander of Fort Liberte, Damisca. 1903 March 18
1 Association de l'Independence Litteraire (Mr. Gelin, secretary). Croix des Missions. LS: regarding appointment of Murville Ferere as "Conseilleur d'honneur." 1 p. 1903 July 25
1 Jean-Gilles, Turenne. Cap Haitien. LS to: Secretary of Foreign Relations reporting to be in possession of the dispatch sent by the minister. 1p 1903 July 29
1 Jean-Gilles, Turenne. Cap Haitien. LS to: Minister of the Interior reporting the reasons why Baron Bender was taken to be interrogated: no visa in his passport and carrying arms. 3p. 1903 August 5
1 Simon, François Antoine, Pres. of Haiti. Cayes, Haiti. LS to: Secretary of State of Dep. of Foreign Relations. Willing to support the accusations of the General Inspector against the citizens. 2p. 1903 September 29
1 Jean-Gilles, Turenne. Cap Haitien. LS to: Minister of Foreign Relations reporting about the Dominican ship retained at the port at the request of the Dominican consul. Mr. Tischerland, CIA, asked for the release of that vessel. Asking for instruction. 1p. 1904 March 2
1 Jean-Gilles, Turenne. Cap Haitien. LS to: Secretary of Foreign Relations reporting that he has allowed the ship "Vidis" to depart. Asking clarification about the conduct to follow about the parties involved in the war. 1p. 1904 March 9
1 Manigat, Helvetius. Port-au-Prince. ALS to: Secretary of Interior who received the dispatch of the Secretary of Foreign Relations with a copy of that of Minister-Resident of Germany. Objects mentioned have been gathered and sent to Mr. Buckardt. 1p. 1904 April 18
1 Vittorio Emanuelle III, King of Italy. Rome. LS to: President of Haiti communicating the birth of a child to his uncle's wife, her Royal Highness, the Princess Maria Isabella. 1p. 1904 May 15
1 Vincent Aine. Cap Haitien. LS to: The Secretary of Foreign Relations... colleague from Plaisance about the incident between he and Martinez. 1 p. 1904 July 8
1 Derenoncourt, Marc. Port-au-Prince. ALS to: Secretary of the State of Foreign Relations announcing the arrival of the American warships "Neward," the "Desmoines" and the "Newport" from St. Domingo. 1p. 1904 July 15
1 Derenoncourt, Marc. Port-au-Prince. ALS to: Secretary of the State of Foreign Relations announcing the arrival of the Italian warship "llogali" and the American ship "Bancroft" coming from Guantanamo. 1p. 1904 July 18
1 Vincent Aine. Cap Haitien. LS to: The Secretary of Foreign Relations concerning Mr. Fausto. 1 p. 1904 July 20
1 Regnier, Charles. Port-au-Prince. LS to: Foreign Relations Secretary reporting that a man from St. Domingo called Mamellique shot a woman, he took care of her. 2p. 1904 July 26
1 Derenoncourt, Marc. Port-au-Prince. ALS to: Secretary of the State of Foreign Relations announcing the arrival of the English warship "Perilus" from Jamaica. 1p. 1904 August 24
1 Benjamin, Dorisma. Cap Haitien. ALS to: Murville Ferere, Minister of Foreign Relations, about citizen Altianase, the need for a budget, and a school in the "Bande du Nord." 2 p. 1904 September 2
1 Regnier, Charles. Port-au-Prince. LS to: Secretary of Foreign Relations reporting that citizen Apolino French has been sent to Jeremie going from post to post. 1p. 1904 September 14
1 Derenoncourt, Marc. Port-au-Prince. ALS to: Secretary of State, Foreign Relations announcing the arrival of the German ship "Bremen" from St. Domingue. 1p. 1904 December 2
1 Derenoncourt, Marc. Port-au-Prince. ALS to: Secretary of State of Foreign relations announcing the arrival of the ship first class "Dupleis" coming from St. Thomas. 1 p. 1904 December 14
1 Regnier, Charles. Port-au-Prince. LS to: Secretary of Foreign relations announcing that two French warships, the "Dauphine" and the "Jurien de la Graviere" have docked. 1p. 1904 December 16
1 Regnier, Charles. Port-au-Prince. LS to: Secretary of Foreign Relations announcing that a Venezuelan citizen was trying to drown himself. 1p. 1904 December 26
1 Colin, H. Bainet. ALS to: Secretary of State, Department of Education. Congratulations. 1 p. 1904 December 27
1 Regnier, Charles. Port-au-Prince. LS to: Secretary of Foreign Relations. 1p. 1904 December 27
1 Regnier, Charles. Port-au-Prince. LS to: Secretary of Foreign Relations sending a list of foreign prisoners in the city. 1p. 1905 February 18
1 Vincent Aine. Cap Haitien. LS to: The Secretary of Foreign Relations asking about the law concerning passports. 1 p. 1905 March 29
1 Derenoncourt, Marc. Port-au-Prince. ALS to: Secretary of State announcing the arrival of the American ship "Brooklyn" with twenty guns from Guantanamo. 1p. 1905 April 3
1 Regnier, Charles. Port-au-Prince. LS to: Secretary of Foreign Relations reporting the arrival of the American ship "Brooklyn.". 1905 April 3
1 Bornó, Louis. St. Domingo. LS to: Murville Ferere, Secretary of State, regarding agreement with Lopez about Article 14. Enclosure: articles of agreement. 1905 September 5
1 Jean-Gilles, Turenne. Cap Haitien. LS to: President of Haiti reporting that he has shipped the three assassins of the gang Dempaire that have taken refuge in the Dominican embassy. Money and persons involved. 1p. 1905 December 6
1 Jean-Gilles, Turenne. Cap Haitien. LS to: President of Haiti reporting to have conveyed his orders to the Commander of Fort Liberte. He discusses Berhmann and Leo de Catalogne 1p. 1906 February 14
1 Jean-Gilles, Turenne. Cap Haitien. LS to: President of Haiti reporting that order and perfect peace exists in the Depratment of Nord e de Nord-Oest. An account of what he is doing to break the rebels on the side of Mr. Firmin. 2p. 1906 December 11
1 Simon, François Antoine, Pres. of Haiti. Port-au-Prince. LS to: Secretary of Foreign Relations sending the Exequatur that will allow Mr. Luis Chaves to be Consul of the Dominican Republic at Mirebalais. 1p. 1910 April 16
1 Simon, François Antoine, Pres. of Haiti. Port-au-Prince. LS to: Secretary of Foreign Relations returning the letters with his signature appointing Mr. Emmanuel Nazon as consular agent of Haiti at Dajabon. 1p. 1910 May 4
1 Simon, François Antoine, Pres. of Haiti. Port-au-Prince. LS to: Secretary of Foreign Relations Aggee with appointment of Mr. Ernest Cords as Consular agent of Italy at Saint Maso. 1p. 1910 May 20
1 Simon, François Antoine, Pres. of Haiti. Port-au-Prince. LS to: Secretary of Foreign Relations sending the appointment of Mr. Victor Cauvin as Employee-editor of the Foreign Relations department. 1p. 1910 July 18
1 Simon, François Antoine. Port-au-Prince. LS to: Secretary of Foreign Relations. With the letter he is sending a signed commission for Mr. Edgar Neree Numa appointing him as Secretary for the Legation of Haiti in Washington. 1p. 1910 July 23
1 Simon, François Antoine. Port-au-Prince. LS to: Secretary of Foreign Relations stating he will pay attention to his recommendation to appoint Mr. Jules Lizair as a delegate to the Dominican Republic for the settlement of the country's borders. 1p. 1910 October 22
1 Simon, François Antoine. Port-au-Prince. TLS to: Secretary of Foreign Relations acknowledging the reception of his letter and copies of correspondence between Dr. L.J. Janvier and Mr. Georges Sylvain. 1p. 1910 November 3
1 Simon, François Antoine. Port-au-Prince. LS to: Secretary of Foreign Affairs authorizing him to do the necessary to appoint Mr. Juan Baredo de Torres for the post to be created in Malaya. 1p. 1910 November 30
1 Jean-Gilles, Turenne. Cap Haitien. LS to: President of Haiti reporting the answer he gave to the consul of Germany and Austria-Hungary. 1p. Enclosures: 1) TLS from Otto Schutt to Jean-Gilles, 2) ALS from Jean-Gilles to Schutt, 3) ALS from Hugo Leisner to Jean-Gilles, 4) ALS from Jean-Gilles to Leisner. 1911 February 8
1 Monplaisir, H. Port-au-Prince. LS to: Secretary of Foreign Relations received dispatch communicating that the President has given the Exequatur to Mr. Guarin Gonzalez as consult General of the Dominican Rep. in Haiti. 1p. 1911 March 11
1 Simon, Isenard. Quanaminthe. ALS to: Philius Philanttrope giving his news and a message from Commander Pierreme for his "Dame." 1p. Enclosure: draft? of letter to General S. Isenard. 1p. 1911 April 10
1 Monplaisir, H. Port-au-Prince. LS to: Secretary of Foreign Relations received the communication of the appointment of Mr. Emile Mers as Consul-general in Costa Rica and of Mr. W. Pohlman as Vice-consul in Argentina. 1p. 1911 April 19
1 Jean-Gilles, Turenne. Cap Haitien. LS to: Secretary of Foreign relations reporting he has received the dispatch with the information that the President has issued an exequatur to Mr. Schutt. 1p. 1911 April 26
1 Pierre, Salomon Jr. Cap Haitien. ALS to: Secretary of State regarding religious matter. 1911 September 22
1 Zamor, Charles. Cap Haitien. LS to: Secretary of Foreign Relations. Perfect order and tranquillity exists in the Department of the Nord (his jurisdiction). 1p. 1911 October 24
1 Sanon, Jh. Fleury. Jeremie. LS to: Secretary of Foreign Affairs reporting that he communicated to all the foreign representatives the death of the President's wife and a High Mass was ordered; conveying his sympathy to the President. 1p. 1911 October 31
1 Leconte, Cincinatus. Port-au-Prince. LS to: Secretary of Foreign Relations returning the necessary signed letters for the appointment of Henry N. Fippenhauer as consul of Haiti at Philadelphia. 1p. 1911 November 20
1 Edouard, Datagnan. Aquin. LS to: General J. N. Leger wishing him a Happy New Year. 1p. 1911 December 27
1 Grand-Pierre, Emmanuel. Saint Mare. ALS to: Secretary of Foreign Relations and Cults wishing him a Happy New Year. 1p. 1911 December 28
1 Catulle, Alexandre. Port-au-Prince. LS to: Secretary of State reporting that Hugo John (England), W. Muller (Holland) and Dante Napulio (Italy) have entered Haiti. 1914 January 8
1 Craft, Barnave. Jacmel. LS to: Secretary of Foreign Relations complaining about the behavior of Dominican Consul Garrido, enclosing the correspondence between them. 1 p. 5 enclosures. 1914 February 18
1 Pollas, Jules A. Port-au-Prince. ALS to: Secretary of Foreign Relations asking for authorization for him and his son in order to get from Mssr. L. Laraque and Co. the complete military equipment according to their rank. 1p. 1914 February 19
1 Pius X, Pope. Vatican. AL to: Oresti Zamor, Pres. of Haiti offering congratulations of the occasion of his inauguration as President of Haiti. Enclosure: Letter signed by the sec. of the Papal State. 2p. 1914 April
1 Germain, Charles. Port-au-Prince. LS to: Secretary of State of Foreign Relations. Some irresponsibles have gone to the border to General Romelius Caire Charles' house called Grand Garde to create disturbances. 1p. 1914 April 13
1 Vittorio Emanuelle III, King of Italy. Roma. LS to: Oreste Zamor offering congratulations on the occasion of Zamor's inauguration as President of Haiti. 1p. 1914 May 21
1 Howard, Daniel Edward. Moravia, Liberia. LS to: President of Haiti congratulating on his inauguration. 1914 June 12
1 Wilson, Woodrow, Pres. of USA. Washington, D.C. LS to: President of Haiti appointing Mr. Arthur Bailly Blauehard as Envoy Extraordinary and Minister Plenipotentiary of USA in Haiti. 2p. 1914 June 15
1 Wilson, Woodrow, Pres. of USA. Washington, D.C. LS to: President of Haiti. Mr. Madison R. Smith has resigned his mission as Envoy Extraordinary and Minister Plenipotentiary of USA in Haiti, he will take leave from him. 2p. 1914 June 15
1 Zamor, Charles. Port-au-Prince. LS to: Secretary of State sending him the Commission of Mr. Maurice Menos who he has appointed as Secretary of the Legation of Haiti in Washington. 1p. 1914 June 22
1 Ferdinand of Rumania. Bucarest. LS to: The President of Haiti concerning the death of his uncle King Carol I. 2p. 1914 October 17
1 Theodore, Davilmar; President of Haiti. Port-au-Prince. AL to: (with corrections) his Saintly Benedict XV congratulating him on his inauguration to the Pontificat.1p. 1914 December 15
1 Porras, Belisario, Pres. of the Republic de Panama. Panama. LS to: Vilbrun Guilluame Sam offering congratulations on the occasion of his inauguration as president. 1p. 1915
1 Albert ?. Grand Quartier General. LS to: Davilmar Theodore congratulating him on his inauguration. Enclosure: a copy. 1 p. 1915 January 19
1 Christian, King of Denmark. Copenhague. LS to: President of Haiti (Davilmar Theodore) congratulating him on his inauguration. 1 p. 1915 February 6
1 Arriaga, Manuel de, Pres. of Rep. Portuguesa. Belem. LS to: Davilmar Theodore congratulating him on his inauguration. 1 p. 1915 February 27
1 Gustaf, King of Sweden. Stockholm. LS to: Davilmar Theodore, Pres. of Haiti. Congratulations on the occasion of his inauguration 1p. Two enclosures: 1) French translation of letter and 2) Letter from the Swedish Sec. of Foreign affairs. 1915 February 28
1 Schaerer, Eduardo, Pres. of Paraguay. Ascencion. LS to: President of Haiti (Davilmar Theodore) congratulating him on the occasion of his inauguration. 2p. 1915 April 28
1 Wilhelmina, Queen of the Low Countries. La Haye. LS to: President of Haiti (Vilbrun Guillaume Sam). Offering congratulations on the occasion of his inauguration. 2p. 1915 June 4
1 Plaza, Leonidas, Pres. of Ecuador. Quito. LS to: Vilbrun Guillaume Sam, Pres. of Haiti. Congratulations for the confidence the people have had in him when appointed president by the National Assembly. 2p. 1915 June 5
1 Braga, Joaquim Theophile, Pres. of Rep. of Portugal. Palacio de Belem (Lisboa). LS to: President of Haiti announcing his inauguration as president of Portugal. 1 p. 1915 June 6
1 Christian, King of Denmark. Copenhague. LS to: Vilbrun Guillaume Sam, President of Haiti, congratulating him on his inauguration. 1 p. 2 enclosures. 1915 June 24
1 Concha, Jose Vicente, President of Colombia. Bogota. LS to: Vilbrun Guillaume Sam, President of Haiti, congratulating him on his inauguration. 1 p. Enclosure: letter of the Columbian Foreign Minister sending the letter. 1915 June 30
1 Melendez, Carlos, Pres. of El Salvador. San Salvador. LS to: Vilbrun Guillaume Sam, President of Haiti offering congratulations on the occasion of his inauguration as President. 1p. 1915 July 16
1 Constantin, King of Greece. Athens. LS to: Vilbrun Guillaume Sam, President of Haiti, congratulating him on his inauguration. 1 p. 2 enclosures: 1) letter from Secretary of Foreign Relations sending the letter, 2) a copy. 1915 July 25
1 Benedict XV, Pope. Rome. AL to S. Dartiguenave, President of Haiti, announcing the appointment of Rev. François Cherubini, Archbishop of Nicosia, as envoy to Haiti. 1 p. 1915 November 20
1 Benedict XV, Pope. Rome. LS to: Vilbrun Guillaume Sam, President of Haiti, congratulating him on his inauguration. 1 p. 1915 December 20
1 Bornó, Louis. Port-au-Prince. TLS to: Charles Moravia subscribing to Courrier des Etats-Unis and Revista Americana de Derecho International. 2 p. 1916 May 10
1 Benoit, Constantine. Port-au-Prince. TLS to: Colonel Littleton W. Waller asking him to avoid the use of force and brutality. 3 p. 1916 June 13
1 Vincent, Sténio. Port-au-Prince. LS to: Director of the National Printing Office asking a printing of an ordinance. 1p. 1917 February 13
1 Simon, J.A. Ulyssee A. T. Cayes. LS to: Secretary of Foreign Relations communicating the repatriation of nine Haitians that illegally have entered Cuba. 1p. 1917 April 18
1 Bornó, Louis. Port-au-Prince. LS to: Charles Moravia... financial report of tax revenue and expenses of consulate. Enclosures: two copies of financial statements. 2 p. 1918 April 18
1 Menos, Solon. Washington, D.C. TLS to: Charles Moravia who received his letter and is glad he is again in charge of the General consulat. 1p. 1918 May 13
1 Menos, Solon. Washington, D.C. TLS to: Charles Moravia about trade of honey with the United States. 1p. 1918 May 14
1 Menos, Solon. Washington, D.C. TLS to: Charles Moravia about some citizen's troubles with passports. 1p. 1918 July 1
1 Menos, Solon. Washington, D.C. TLS to: Charles Moravia about involvement of some citizens. 1p. 1918 September 18
1 Minister Plenipotentiary of the Riff Republic (Morrocco). London. LS to: Minister of Foreign Affairs of Haiti sending him the "Declaration of State" and inviting the Haiti Republic to appoint a consul and to trade. 1p. Enclosures: French translation. 1923 August 28
1 Stimson, Henry L. Port-au-Prince. LS to: Minister of Foreign Affairs of Haiti. Appointment of Mr. Donald R. Heath as Charge d'Affairs ad interim of USA at Port-au-Prince. 1929 December 1
1 Hoover, Herbert. Washington, D.C. LS to: Sténio Vincent, Pres. of Haiti offering congratulations on the occasion of his inauguration as President. 1931 January 21
1 Ortiz Rubio, Pascual, Pres. of Mexico. Mexico. LS to: Sténio Vincent offering congratulations on the occasion of his inauguration as President of Haiti. 1p. 1931 March 12
1 Ubico, Jorge, Pres. of Guatemala. Guatemala. LS to: Sténio Vincent offering congratulations on the occasion of his inauguration as President of Haiti. 1p. 1931 March 19
1 Conseil Federal Suisse. Berne. LS to: Sténio Vincent, President of Haiti, congratulating him on his inauguration. 2 p. 1931 June 20
1 Trujillo Molina, Rafael Leonidas, Pres. of the Dominican Republic. San Jose de las Matas. LS to: Sténio Vincent appointing Dr. Moises Garcia Mella as Plenipotentiary Minister in Haiti. 2p. 1932 August 18
1 Trujillo Molina, Rafael Leonidas, Pres. of the Dominican Republic. San Jose de las Matos. LS to: Sténio Vincent communicating the end of the official function of Dr. Francisco Henriquez y Carvajal, Plenipotentiary Minister of the Dominican Republic in Haiti. 2p. 1932 August 18
1 Hoover, Herbert. Washington, D.C. LS to: Sténio Vincent appointing Mr. Norman Armour as Plenipotentiary Minister in Haiti. 1p. 1932 September 19
1 Trujillo Molina, Rafael Leonidas, Pres. of the Dominican Republic. Cuidad Trujillo. TL to: Sténio Vincent communicating the end of the official function of Mr. Rafael Vidal as Plenipotentiary Minister of the Rep. Dominicana in Haiti. 1p. 1936 July
1 Lescot, Elie. Washington, D.C. TLS to: Leon Laleau introducing a photographer, Mr. Sternberger who is trying to make a collection of photographs of American presidents. 1p. 1940 March 28
1 Chandler, Joseph. Port-au-Prince. TLS to: Time Magazine complaining about Presient Elie Lescot's photograph and article. 2 p. 1941 May ?
1 DuChamp, Fermin. Port-au-Prince. TLS to: Elie Lescot, Pres. of Haiti presenting his resignation as Cabinet Chief of the President. 1p. 1941 May 14
1 Lacroix, Abel. Port-au-Prince. TL to: Elie Lescot, Pres. of Haiti sending him the French translation of the contract of a quantity loan for coffee and discusses the loan. 3p. 1942 August 20
1 Lescot, Gerard. Port-au-Prince. TLS to: Elie Lescot sending copies of the note no. 20866 (Note dealing with the establishment of Dominican consulat in three cities of Haiti). 1p. Enclosures: Two copies of note 20866 and a translation. 1943 October 23


Ms 23B, 1903-1954


Box
2 Alexis, Nord. Port-au-Prince. LS to: State Secretary sending the signed appointments of Darius Caliste and Murvil Etienne. 1p. 1903 September 22
2 Regnier, Charles. Port-au-Prince. LS to: Secretary of State announcing that the brothers Vender-Horts have been freed by the President. 1904 March 19
2 Union Sportive Haitienne. Port-au-Prince. ALS by the Secretary to Mr. De Murville. 1p. 1904 March 24
2 Joseph, Dalbemar. Port-au-Prince. ALS to: State Secretary. Adjoining copy (not present) of the conversation with the Chancellor of the Legation in Paris. 1906 September 17
2 Theodore, Joseph Davelmar. Port-au-Prince. LS to: Secretary of State. He has appointed Mr. Herisse Narcessee as Counsul at Dajabon and Mr. Louis Proudhomme as "Commendador" and asking him to expedite the matter. 1p. 1914 November 14
2 Louis II, Prince of Monaco. Monaco. LS to: Sténio Vincent offering congratulations in occasion of his inauguration as President of Haiti. 2p. 1931 May 28
2 McCarthy, Hella. Sidney, Australia. TLS to: Col. Magloire asking for a residence permit for Vilmos Lotsos envolved in their project of Thermol bath and restaurant in Port-au-Prince. 2p. 1949 February 11
2 Roy, Georges Eug. Port-au-Prince. TLS to: President thanking him for the present he brought him coming back from his tour. 1p. 1954 July 17


Ms 23C, 1900-1944


Box
2 Sam, Tirésias Augustin Simon, Pres. of Haiti. Port-au-Prince. DS: Appointment of Mr. Leonee Leazard as accountant at the Fronderie Nationale. 1p. 1900 February 7
2 Alexis, Nord., Pres. of Haiti. Port-au-Prince. DS: Appointment of Mr. Neplitalie Terel as Justice of the Peace of the county of Port Margot. 1p. 1903 January 20
2 Roosevelt, Theodore. Washington, D.C. DS: Ratification of the treaty of naturalization of 1902. 4p. 1904 March 17
2 Alexis, Nord, Pres. of Haiti. Port-au-Prince. Appointment of Rochesta Mathias as Justice of Peace of Grand Gosier. 1906 April 9
2 Simon, François Antoine. Port-au-Prince. DS: Appointment of General Nicolas Robergeau as Chief of the section of Grand Boucan-du-Sud. 1p. 1909 April 26
2 Simon, François Antoine, Pres. of Haiti. Port-au-Prince. DS: Appointment of Mr. Neplitialie Thural as Justice of Peace of the small t own of Fort Margot. 1p. 1909 May 7
2 Simon, François Antoine. Port-au-Prince. DS: Appointment of Commander Diedonne Jacques as adjutant to the Post of Leogane. 1p. 1909 July 19
2 Leconte, Cincinatus, Pres. of Haiti. Port-au-Prince. DS: Appointments of Mr. claudin Dartiguenave as Justice of Peace at the commune of Anse-a-veaux. 1911 April 29
2 Simon, François Antoine. Port-au-Prince. DS: Ratification of the convention of arbitration signed in Washington, D.C. the 25th of April 1910 between Haiti and Brazil. 2p. 1911 June 14
2 Leconte, Cincinnatus. Port-au-Prince. DS: reporting to the commander of Leogane his satisfaction for being able to keep calm and peace in that section. 1p. 1912 April 27
2 Oreste, Michel, Pres. of Haiti. Port-au-Prince. DS: Appointment of Mr. Camille Lavand as Justice of Peace at Baie-de-herme. 1p. 1913 December 2
2 Agriculture, Secretary of. Port-au-Prince. TDS: Report to the Senators and representatives on the situation of the Agriculture in Haiti for the years 1913/14. 10p. 1914
2 Finances, Secretaire d'Etat des. Port-au-Prince. TDS: Report to the Senators and representatives about the financial situation. 9p. 1914
2 Zamor, Oreste, Pres. of Haiti. Port-au-Prince. DS: Appointment of General Alcius Day as Honorary Aide-de-Camp. 1p. 1914 June 15
2 Theodore, Joseph Davilmar, President. Port-au-Prince. DS: Appointment of Mr. Danton Charlier as Judge of Civil Court. 3p. 1914 December 2
2 Secretaire de L'Instruction Publique. Port-au-Prince. Report to the senators and representatives of the situation in the Department of Public Instruction during the years 1914/1915. 22p. 1915
2 Secretaire d'Etat des Relations Exterieures (Gaston Delancour). Port-au-Prince. TDS: Report to the senators and representatives on the situation of the Department, 1914-1915. Additional copies of memoranda by A. Bailly Blanchard and Louis Bornó. 23p. 1915
2 Secretaire d'Etat des Travaux Publics. Port-au-Prince. TDS: Report to the senators and representatives on the situation of the Department of Public Works. 10p. 1915
2 Secretaire d'Etat des Commerce. Port-au-Prince. DS: Report on the situation of Commerce during the years 1912-1915. 4p. 1915
2 Secretaire d'Etat des Cultes. Port-au-Prince. Report to the Senator and representatives on the situation of the Department. 6p. 1915
2 Bornó, Louis; Davis, Robert Beale. Port-au-Prince. TDS: Convention for the development of Haiti signed between USA and Haiti. 11 p. 1915 September 16
2 Haiti, Parliament. Port-au-Prince. DS: Decret de la Corps Legislative. Sanction of the treaty between USA and Haiti of September 16, 1915. 1915 November 11
2 Menos, Solon, Min. Plen; Lansing, Robert. Washington, D.C. TDS: Agreement between USA and Haiti in regard to salaries to be paid to engineers in charge of supervision and improvement of sanitation in Haiti. 2p. 1916 June 27
2 Menos, Solon, Min. Plen, Lansing, Robert. Washington, D.C. TDS: Agreement between USA and Haiti for the appointment of a Deputy General and general Reciever of Customs and of a Financial Adviser and their salaries. 2p. 1916 June 27
2 Moravia, Charles; Lansing, Robert. Washington, D.C. TDS: Fo. French and English in opposite colums-seals convention signed between USA and Haiti about operations of funds to pay debts. 6p. 1920 January 14
2 Bornó, Louis, Pres. of Haiti. Port-au-Prince. DS: Appointment of Mr. Camille Lavaud as substitute Justice of Peace of the commune Jean-Rabel. 1p. 1923 March 19
2 Dejean, Leon; Merrell, George R. Port-au-Prince. TDS: Agreement about the Gendarmery, salaries and ranks. Enclosure: the ratification.8p. 1925 February 28
2 Bornó, Louis. Port-au-Prince. DS: Appointment of Mr. Nicolas Leger as Representative of Haiti at the Pan American Union Congress. 1p. 1927 March 11
2 Bornó, Louis. Port-au-Prince. TDS: Approval of the multilateral treaty of peace. 1p. 1929 may 5
2 Penciled convention commercial. Port-au-Prince. TDS: French and English in opposite columns. Commercial agreement between Canada and Haiti. 10p. 1937 April 23
2 Impressions on Haiti and on France under the Nazis. 3p. 1944 January 2


Ms 23D, 1805-1899


Box
3 Empire d'Haiti. Expedition. Direction des Domaines de l'Etat. 1805 September 24
3 Pétion, Alexandre, President. Also includes Recette - Envois des fonds. 1807
3 Decres, Denis. Ministre de la Marine et des Colonies. 1809 May
3 Pétion, Alexandre, President. 1811 October 3
3 President de la Commission Militaire Permanante. 1813
3 Loppinot, Comte, Governor of St. Domingue re: political rights to be given to "les hommes de couleurs libres". Circa 1814
3 Detri, Z. Port-au-Prince. 1814 January 7
3 Jambert re: Capitaine Gilbertaine. 1814 September 7
3 Pétion, Alexandre, President. To Bogles and company, Jamaica. 1814 December 2
3 Pétion, Alexandre, President. To General Leblanc. 1814 January 4
3 Pétion, Alexandre, President. 1816 April 28
3 Boyer, Jean-Pierre, President. Two items. 1818
3 Wholesale Prices Current at Port-au-Prince (includes letter to Howell and Son, Baltimore). 1818 December 24
3 Boyer, Jean-Pierre, President. 1819 March 15
3 Boyer, Jean-Pierre, President. 1820 September 23
3 L'Ouverture, Isaac. Letter. 1823 September 14
3 L'Ouverture, Isaac. Letter. 1824 February 10
3 Inginac, B. Letter to Isaac Louverture. 1825 December 6
3 Boyer, Jean-Pierre, President. Reenlistment - Renvoie de Service Militaire... (includes "Loi sur les Animaux Epaves" item). 1828 September 23
3 Boyer, Jean-Pierre, President. Reenlistments - Renvoie de Service Militaire... 1834
3 Boyer, Jean-Pierre, President. Re: Lieutenant Louis Levasseur. 1835
3 Laws. 1835-1857
3 Secretatire d'Etat to L'Administrateur des Finance. 1836
3 Commissaire du Gouvernement pres le Tribunal Civil de Jeremie. 1840
3 To Administrateur des Finance. 1842 April 5
3 Le Duc de Saint-Louis-du-Sud. 1857
3 Faustin I, Emperor of Haiti. 1857
3 Faustin I, Emperor of Haiti. 1858
3 Lizaire, J. 1858 May 2
3 Le Duc de Saint-Louis-du-Sud. 1858
3 Terrier-Rouge, Comte de. Program for celebration of the 55th anniversary of independence. 1858 August 17
3 Geffrard, Fabre. "Arrete: Sur les decheances, forclusions et peremptions". 1859
3 Galbert, St.-Eloi Jacques Rossignol. 1860 September 30
3 Pierre-Louis, J.-B.-N. Clette. 1860 October
3 Geffrard, Fabre. President. 1862
3 Lizaire, J. Includes document regarding Monsieur Van Bocklen. 1864
3 Geffrard, Fabre. President. 1865 May 14
3 Saget, Nissage. 1866
3 Saget, Nissage. President. 1871
3 Legation d'Haiti to Washington. Letter to General Destin. 1871 April 28
3 Legation d'Haiti to Washington. Letter to General Destin. 1871 May 9
3 Saget, Nissage. President. 1873
3 Legros, L. 1873 April 21
3 Domingue, Michel. President. 1874
3 Saget, Nissage. President. 1873
3 Tanis, Louis, aine. To President d'Haiti. 1874 April 27
3 Autorisation pour le Droit de Visite signed by President Salomon. 1882
3 Letter to Secretaire d'Etat charge du affaires... 1883
3 Salomon, President. To Secretary of Foreign Relations. 1883 November
3 Langston, John Mercer. To C. Fouchard, Secretary of State of Foreign Affairs. 1883 November 16
3 Langston, John Mercer. To C. Fouchard, Secretary of State of Foreign Affairs. 1883 November 17
3 Secretary of State of Foreign Affairs. 1883
3 Fouchard, C., Secretary of State of Foreign Affairs (several documents). 1883
3 Various Officials: Secretary of Foreign Affairs, Secretary of War, etc. (several documents). 1883
3 Salomon, President. To Secretary of Foreign Relations. 1883
3 Letter to Secretary of State of Foreign Affairs. 1884
3 Prophete, Joseph. To Secretary of Foreign Relations. 1884 April 15
3 Letters to Secretary of Foreign Relations. 1884
3 Letters to Secretary of State (two from General Brutus St. Victor). 1884
3 Letters to Secretary of State. 1884
3 Various Officials: Secretary of Foreign Affairs, Agriculture, etc. (several documents). 1884
3 Le Senat - Message, Secretary of State of Foreign Relations. 1884
3 Letters to Secretary of Foreign Relations. 1884
3 Miscellaneous documents: Autorisation pour le Droit de Visite; Letter from John B. Labine; Letters from President Salomon. 1884
3 Miscellaneous documents: Banque Nationale d'Haiti; Commissaire du Gouvernement. 1884
3 L'Administrateur Principal des Finances de cet Arrondissement. 1885
3 Secretaire d'Etat au Departement des Finances et du Commerce. 1885 December 28
3 Saint Victor, B. To Secretary of State. 1885
3 Miscellaneous documents: L'Administrateur Principal des Finances de cet Arrondissement; Journal L'Emigration; Le Chef des Mouvements de ce Port. 1885
3 Neptune, Darius. To Secretary of Foreign Relations. 1885
3 Chambre des Comptes. To Secretary of State. 1885
3 Miscellaneous authors: Tirésias Augustin Simon Sam; President Salomon; Joseph Letrois Saint-Arromand; Dorassaint Saraphin. 1885
3 Theodate, Pierre Augustin. 1885
3 Vincent jeune. To Secretary of Foreign Relations. 1885
3 Miscellaneous authors. 1885
3 Zephir, Marcellus. 1885 September 12
3 Compagnie des Pompiers Libres de Port-au-Prince - Le Commandant Roux. 1887 February 2
3 German Consulate in Haiti. To Secretary of State. 1891
3 Hyppolite, President of Haiti. 1892
3 Secretary of Foreign Relations. Central America (Costa Rica, Colon). 1892
3 Secretary of Foreign Relations. Dominican Republic. 1893
3 Sam, Tirésias Augustin Simon. President. 1898
3 Sam, Tirésias Augustin Simon. President. 1899
3 Receipts of passage: New York and West Indies Steamship Company. 1873
3 Illustration of General Alexandre Pétion. Not dated


Selected Subjects and Access Terms

Haiti -- Commerce.
Haiti -- Foreign relations.
Haiti -- History.
Haiti -- Politics and government.



For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page