Skip to Search



A Guide to the Ramiro Guerra Speech

Finding aid prepared by Dept. Staff

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections
September 2004


Descriptive Summary

Creator: Guerra, Ramiro, 1880-1970
Title: Ramiro Guerra Speech
Dates: 1934
Abstract: Manuscript and translation of "El latifundio azucarero y la poblacion de las Antillas" ("West Indian sugar plantations and peoples"), by Ramiro Guerra in 1934. Also includes correspondence.
Extent: 0.01 Linear feet. 1 folder (2 items).
Identification: MS Group 301
Language(s): Spanish
Online Content Items from this collection have been digitized and are available online in the UF Digital Collections. For more information please see the note below.

Biographical/Historical Note

Author, economic historian, and Cuban nationalist. Born 1880, died 1970. Author of the influential work, Sugar and Society in the Caribbean: An Economic History of Cuban Agriculture.


Scope and Content

Typescript of a speech and correspondence. This collection contains the manuscript and translation of "El latifundio azucarero y la poblacion de las Antillas" ("West Indian sugar plantations and peoples"), as presented before the Atheneum Club of the University of Florida on October 19, 1934. Also, there is a letter from H. Harold Hume to C.L. Crow, Professor of Modern Languages, dated November 2, 1934, indicating that Crow is the translator.

Both paper and translation were discovered in records of the Institute of Inter-American Affairs (Series 23a, University Archives Public Records). Original document is in Spanish, and the translation is in English.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

The collection is open for research.


Related or Separated Material

This collection is part of the Cuban Miscellaneous Collection.


Administrative Information

Alternate Form of Material

Digital reproductions of items in this collection are available online via the University of Florida Digital Collections (UFDC). Please read the Permissions for Use statement for information on copyright, fair use, and use of UFDC digital objects.

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Ramiro Guerra Speech, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.


Selected Subjects and Access Terms

Plantation life -- West Indies.
Sugar trade -- West Indies.



For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page