Skip to Search



A Guide to the Richard Eberhart Papers

Finding aid created by Frank Orser

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections
September 2011


Descriptive Summary

Creator: Eberhart, Richard, 1904-2005
Title: Richard Eberhart Papers
Dates: 1977-1990
Abstract: Typescripts and copies of poems and addresses by poet Richard Eberhart.
Extent: 0.2 Linear feet. 1 box (24 items).
Identification: MS Group 85b
Language(s): English
Online Content Items from this collection have been digitized and are available online in the UF Digital Collections. For more information please see the note below.

Biographical/Historical Note

Richard Eberhart was born in Austin, Minnesota, on April 5, 1904. He received a B.A. degree from Dartmouth College, which conferred an Honorary Doctorship in Letters on him in 1954, a B.A. and M.A. from Cambridge University, and attended graduate school at Harvard. He was a school teacher, before entering the U.S. Navy in World War II. After the war, he joined a family business, the Butcher Polish Company of Boston. In 1952 he went back to teaching and served as a poet in residence, professor, and lecturer at various colleges and universities.

His first book, A Bravery of Earth, 1930, was followed by many others, including Reading the Spirit, 1936, Song and Idea, 1940, Undercliff, Poems, 1946-1953, and Great Praises, 1957, and Selected Poems, 1966. His Collected Poems, 1930-1986, was published in 1988. He received many prizes for his work, including the the Harriet Monroe Poetry Award (1955), the Bollingen Prize (1962), the Pulitzer Prize (1966), the National Book Award (1976), and the Poetry Society of America Robert Frost Medal. He was the Library of Congress Consultant in Poetry from 1959 to 1961. He died June 9, 2005.


Scope and Content

The collection includes typescripts, handwritten, and copies of poems and addresses, usually with inscriptions. Proofs of the books Of Poetry and Poets (1979) and Ways of Light (1980). A copy of the manuscript of William Packard's First Selected Poems (1977) is also included.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

The collection is open for research.


Administrative Information

Alternate Form of Material

Digital reproductions of items in this collection are available online via the University of Florida Digital Collections (UFDC). Please read the Permissions for Use statement for information on copyright, fair use, and use of UFDC digital objects.

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Richard Eberhart Papers, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.

Acquisition Information

The nucleus of this group of papers was presented to the University of Florida by Mr. Eberhart during the spring term of 1977, while he was in residence. Additional items were added between 1978 and 1990.


Contents List

Poems


Box Folder
1 1 Address to God. 22 lines. Xerox from Times Literary Supplement, 3/12/76. Autograph signature, 5/77. 1976-1977
1 2 Address to Time. Typed ms. (copy) 2 pp. Signed autograph inscription "Vanderbilt, R. P. Warren". 1977 April
1 3 Alcaic and Sapphic. A.Ms.S. [class exercise] . 1977 May
1 4 Autumn. 45 lines. Typed Ms. (Xerox copy). Auograph inscription signed: "first number of New York Quarterly". 1977 May
1 5 For a Lamb [etc.] Typescript (mimeographed copy). Signed autograph inscription, "UF Class W 1977". Included in the same typescript are: 1) The Groundhog; 48 lines; 2) The Cancer Cells; 22 lines; 3) If I could only live at the pitch that is near Madness; 16 lines; 4) On a squirrel crossing the road in Autumn, in New England; 17 lines. 1977
1 6 The Fort and the Gate. 37 lines. Xerox from Times Literary Supplement, Sept/76. Signed autograph inscription, 5/77. 1976-1977
1 7 The Gods of Washington, D.C. Broadside, published from Collected Poems, 1930-1976, Oxford University Press, N.Y., 1976. A Folger poetry broadside, inaugural series, 1977 . Holograph inscription, "To the University of Florida, May, 1977. Read at the Folger before Carter's Inauguration, Jan 18, 1977." 1976-1977
1 8 Incidence of Flight. 24 lines. A.Ms.S., "Gainesville, Spring, 1974. "From Collected Poems, 1930-1976". 1974
1 9 Love Life. 12 lines. Holograph poem, (3 drafts) typescript (Xerox copy). Gainesville, May 4, 1977, 7:30 a.m. 1977
1 10 Night Thoughts. Typescript (Xerox copy). Signed inscription: Gainesville, winter term. 1977
1 11 Poetry is a Search for Perfection. 9 lines. Typescript (Xerox copy) Signed inscription: UF library". 1977 May
1 12 Quarry-Stone .24 lines. Xerox copy from Thistle Magazine. Holograph inscription: "Then I received the President's Medallion from Robert Marston." Presentation to UF library. 1977 May
1 13 A Snowfall. 27 lines. Xerox copy. Autograph inscription and presentation copy to UF libraries. 1977 May
1 14 Time's Bludgeon. 26 lines. Holograph and typed ms., (copy). Autographed. 1977 May


Prose


Box Folder
1 15 Address: Third World Congress of Poets, Baltimore; June 13-27, 1976. June 22, 1976. Two Xeroxed items. Signed presentation to UF library, 5/77. 1976-1977
1 16 Address for the National Book Award, delivered at the American Academy , April 13, 1977. 2 p. Autograph note and presentation inscription to the University of Florida Library, May 1977. 1977
1 17 Wade, Nicholas. Nicholas Wade's Trousers. 2 pp. Photocopy from the Times Literary Supplement. March 4, 1977. With Eberhart's holograph commentray: "I enjoyed this in TLS." Presentation inscription to UF Libraries, 5/77. 1977


Additions to the Collection


Box Folder
1 18 Announcement of the poet's public reading at Charleston College, March 31 [1978] Broadside, 45 1/2 x 30 cm., with author's photo bt William Packard. Signed inscription presentation to the University of Florida Library, April 1978. 2 copies. 1978
1 19 Of Poetry and Poets. Page proofs with author's revisions.[13] 312 leaves. Signed presentation inscription to Laura Monti for the University of Florida Library; Gainesville. 1979
1 20 Ways of Light; Poems 1972-1980. Galley proofs with author's revisions. Presentation inscription "To Rare Books, the University of Florida with All Best Wishes, Richard Eberhart". 1980
1 21 Recapitulation of a Poem Taken by the New Yorker (broadsheet 32x23 cm.). [Winston-Salem, NC, Palaemon Press, c.1984] Signed by the author, with presentation inscription to Sidney Ives, Rare Books and Manuscripts, University of Florida. 1984
1 22 Eberhart, Richard. TLS to Sidney Ives; Hanover, NH, June 25, 1985. Enclosing a TLS from Eberhart to Chince N. Allen; Hanover, June 13, 1985, and several publications regarding Darmouth College and himself. 1985
1 23 Maine Poems (1988). Typed contents page (carbon) with xerox copies of text from the Collected Poems (1988) and other publications. All inserted within a "title page" tablet. Accompanied by an TLS with autograph P.S. from Bill Butts, editor of Horns of Plenty, to Richard Eberhart; Chicago, 7 Oct. 1988, thanking him for contribution to the Malcolm Cowley issue. All enclosed in an envelope with a presentation inscription to "Sidney Ives for your Richard Eberhart Collection," April 29[?] 1989. 1988-1989
1 24 Packard, William. Collected Poems. Manuscript (copy). With TLS (carbon) from Richard Eberhart to William Packard; Gainesville, March 20, 1990 regarding the manuscript his and placing it in the University of Florida Library. Published as First Selected Poems (New York: Pylon Press, c1977). 1990


Selected Subjects and Access Terms

Packard, William
Poetry



For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page