Skip to Search



A Guide to the Frank R. Crumbie Papers

Finding aid created by Dept. Staff

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections
December 2008


Descriptive Summary

Creator: Crumbie, Frank R.
Title: Frank R. Crumbie Papers
Dates: 1922-1955
Bulk dates: 1922-1946
Abstract: Scrapbooks, photographs, bibliographical notes, news clippings and correspondence of Frank R. Crumbie, who served in several government positions in Haiti during the period of United States occupation, 1915-1934.
Extent: 4 Linear feet. 7 boxes.
Identification: MS Group 14
Language(s): Materials are written in English and French.
Online Content Items from this collection have been digitized and are available online in the UF Digital Collections. For more information please see the note below.

Biographical/Historical Note

Frank R. Crumbie served in several government positions in Haiti during the period of United States occupation, 1915-1934. He was customs inspector at Port-au-Prince and Cape Haitian from 1926 to 1927. In 1929 he assumed the duties of Customs Revenue Collector for Jeremie and Cape Haitian. During his time in Haiti Crumbie traveled extensively around the country, taking an extended trip in 1936-37 with photographer-writer Philip Hanson Hiss. Faustin E. Wirkus, also represented in the collection, was a U.S. marine who became known as the "White King of La Gonave" (he authored a book of that name: Doubleday, 1932).


Scope and Content

The papers consist primarily of scrapbooks, photographs, bibliographical notes, and correspondence. Seven of 10 scrapbooks are sequentially arranged from approximately 1922 to 1946, including news clippings and other material relating to all aspects of Haiti. Other scrapbooks contain material pertaining to specific topics such as superstitions and Faustin E. Wirkus, a U.S. Marine who became known as the "White King of La Gonave" (a Haitian island). The photographs, including some picture postcards, depict numerous Haitian scenes as well as from Puerto Rico and the Dominican Republic. Many of the photographs were taken by Hiss on the 1936-37 trip. Four notebooks contain bibliographical notes relating to Haiti and the West Indies in general. The papers also include correspondence and some manuscript notes by Hiss. In addition to the correspondence in Box 1, letters are dispersed throughout the scrapbooks. There is no distinct listing of this correspondence.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

The collection is open for research.


Administrative Information

Alternative Format Available

Digital reproductions of some of the photos and documents in the Frank Crumbie Papers are available online via the University of Florida Digital Collections (UFDC).

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Frank R. Crumbie Papers, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.

Acquisition Information

Crumbie's papers, along with some of his library of Haitiana, were acquired by purchase from his widow after his death in 1960.


Contents List

Correspondence and Miscellaneous Materials


Box
1 Articles from publications
1 Book catalogs and bibliographical notes about Haiti
1 Business Cards
1 Clippings and notes about voodoo, supernatural, etc., ca. 1937-1947
1 Clippings from Scrapbook 6
1 Clippings and other items from Scrapbook 6
1 Clippings from Scrapbook 8
1 Clippings from Scrapbook 9
1 Clippings from Scrapbook 10
1 Correspondence - Faustin E. Wirkus, 1931-1940:
1 1932 Nov. 4. New York. Wirkus, Faustin E. ALS to Frank R. Crumbie, Jr. Upper Nyack on the Hudson, NY. 2 p. Article on Haiti, a misrepresentation. Feels Haitians will not approve. Mentions film he is working on and necessity of visiting California.
1 1932 Nov. 24. New York. Wirkus, Faustin E. ALS to Frank R. Crumbie, Jr. 1 p. Note with new address and telephone number.
1 1933 January 6. New York. Wirkus, Faustin E. ALS to Frank R. Crumbie, Jr. 1 p. Plans to meet. Discusses possibilities in Haiti.
1 1933 March 7. New York. Wirkus, Faustin E. ALS to Frank R. Crumbie, Jr. St. Petersburg, Fl. 1 p. Will need another job soon. Work on film progressing well. Keeping in touch with developments in Haiti and Santo Domingo.
1 1933 April 19. New York. Wirkus, Faustin E. ALS to Frank R. Crumbie, Jr. Upper Nyack, NY. 1 p. Picture completed and being shown in New York.
1 1933 April 27. New York. Wirkus, Faustin E. ALS to Frank R. Crumbie, Jr. Upper Nyack, NY. 1 p. Showing of picture being postponed one week.
1 1933 May 3. New York. Wirkus, Faustin E. ALS to Frank R. Crumbie, Jr. Upper Nyack, NY. 1 p. Picture to be shown 17 places in New York City. Reports conflict between U.S. State Department and the Consul General in Santo Domingo.
1 1933 Sept. 30. New York. Wirkus, Faustin E. ALS to Frank R. Crumbie, Jr. Upper Nyack, NY. 1 p. Writes about mutual friends and erroneous rumor that he is to be married.
1 1938 Jan. 18. New York. Wirkus, Faustin E. ACS to Frank R. Crumbie, Jr. Upper Nyack, NY. 1 p. Reports changes in Haitian government. Wants to see Crumbie before he leaves for Haiti.
1 1940 March 15. Quantico, VA. Wirkus, Faustin E. ALS to Frank R. Crumbie, Jr.1 p. Suggest article to be read. Mentions he will be back home in April.
1 Correspondence - General, 1926-1940:
1 1926 May 29. Cap Haitien. [No signature]. AL to Lion Sullivan, Captain, Chief of Police. 1 p. In French.
1 1933 May 17. New York. Nichols, Thomas B. TLS to Frank R. Crumbie, Jr. 1p. Discusses letter of introduction for Crumbie from the Chase National Bank of New York City to Arthur Kirstein, Jr., officer in the Cuban Dominican Sugar and Sales Corporation. Enclosure missing.
1 1933 May 31. Nyack, NY. [Signature Illegible]. TLS to Frank R. Crumbie, Jr. 1 p. Requests Crumbie to act as broker in obtaining $150,000, with commission of $15,000.
1 1939 August 31. Port-au-Prince. Lespinasse(?) ________. ALS to Frank R. Crumbie, Jr. 2p. In French.
1 1939 December 11. Port-au-Prince. Carrie, ________ A. ALS to Frank R. Crumbie, Jr., Nyack, NY. 2p. In French.
1 1939 December. Haiti. [No signature]. AC with photograph to Frank R. Crumbie, Jr. Christmas greeting.
1 1939 December. Haiti. Briene, Mr. and Mrs. Franklin A. ACS with photograph to Frank R. Crumbie, Jr. Christmas and New Year's greeting.
1 1940 January 4. Port-au-Prince. Mado(?). ACS to Frank R. Crumbie, Jr., Nyack, NY. Greeting, invitation to visit old friends in Haiti.
1 1940 August 31. Jeremie, Haiti. Briene, Franklin T. ALS to Frank R. Crumbie, Jr., Nyack, NY. 1 p. In French.
1 [n.d.]. Haiti. Vincent, Charles B. TC to Frank R. Crumbie, Jr. Christmas greeting from the Consul General of Haiti.
1 [n.d.]. Haiti. Scott, ________. ACS with photograph to Frank R. Crumbie, Jr. Picture postcard with note.
1 [n.d.]. Haiti. Scott, ________. TCS to Frank R. Crumbie, Jr. Greeting card.
1 [n.d. n.p.]. [No signature]. Picture postcard, photograph of primitive utensils.
1 Correspondence - Selden Rodman, 1954-1955:
1 1954 September 23. Dingman's Ferry, PA. Crumbie, Frank R. Jr. TL (copy), Oakland, NJ. 2 p. Differing opinions than those in Rodman's book, Haiti. In general, praises it, but, based on personal experience, Crumbie disagrees with certain passages, particularly one which is critical of U.S. Marine actions. Enclosure: Summary of Crumbie's experiences in Haiti and his reading about Haiti (3 p.).
1 1954 December 28. Oakland, NJ. Rodman, Selden. ALS to Frank R. Crumbie, Jr. Dingman's Ferry, PA. 3 p. Expresses appreciation of criticism and indicates future editions of Haiti will include revisions.
1 1955 January 5. Dingman's Ferry, PA. Crumbie, Frank R. Jr. AL (copy) to Selden Rodman, Oakland, NJ. 4 p. Further discussion of Crumbie's activities in Haiti, travels with Philip Hiss, Haitian geography, and invitation for Rodman to visit Crumbie.
1 1955 January 11. Oakland, NJ. Rodman, Selden. TLS to Frank R. Crumbie, Jr. 1 p. Plans to visit and to return to Haiti.
1 Navassa Island - Correspondence (1953), notes, postcards, map (1928)
1 Raborg, Paul C. Radio Broadcasts, 1941
1 Richards, Horace G. - Letter, article, 1938-1939
1 Theater Programs (from Scrapbook 4)
1 Wilberforce, W. - Letters (1817-1820)


Photographs and Postcards

Many of these photographs are stamped "Bertha Klausner, Artists' and Literary Agency, New York" on the back. Many have descriptions, probably written by Crumbie.


Box
2 Photographs - Cap Haitian
2 Photographs - Comerio
2 Photographs - Dominican border
2 Photographs - Jeremie (fold out postcards)
2 Photographs - La Decouverte Valley and others
2 Photographs - La Romans and others
2 Photographs - Palma Real and other Puerto Rican scenes
2 Photographs - Port-au-Prince
2 Photographs - Puerto Plata and other Dominican Republic scenes
2 Photographs - San Juan, P.R.
2 Photographs - Santiago, D.R.
2 Photographs - Santo Domingo
2 Photographs - Tessier and Anse Rivers
2 Photographs - Miscellaneous #1
2 Photographs - Miscellaneous #2
2 P.H. Hiss Photographs - Note by Irene Zimmerman
2 Hiss photographs - Cap Haitian
2 Hiss photographs - Citadel
2 Hiss photographs - Cock fighting
2 Hiss photographs - Dondon scenes
2 Hiss photographs - Fond Verettes and vicinity
2 Hiss photographs - Miscellaneous scenes
2 Hiss photographs - Morne La Selle
2 Hiss photographs - Port-au-Prince
2 Hiss photographs - Port-au-Prince and vicinity
2 Hiss photographs - Ra-ra-di
2 Hiss photographs - Sans Souci
2 Hiss photographs - Sisal production and manufacture


Notebooks


Box
3 Notebooks 1-2. Notes on voodoo, 1934. Table of contents.
3 Notebooks 3-5. Bibliographical citations on Haiti and the Indies.


Scrapbooks


Box
4 Scrapbook 1. Haiti: 1922-1930.
4 Scrapbook 2. Haiti: 1922-1934.
5 Scrapbook 3. Haiti: 1922-1935.
5 Scrapbook 4. Haiti: [1937-1938].
5 Scrapbook 5. Haiti: [1938-1940].
6 Scrapbook 7. Haiti: [1942-1946].
6 Scrapbook 8. Superstition 2.
6 Scrapbook 9. Superstition 3.
6 Scrapbook 10. Re: Faustin Wirkus, "White King of La Gonave".
7 Scrapbook 6. Haiti: [1940-1944].


Selected Subjects and Access Terms

Haiti -- Description and travel.
Haiti -- History -- American occupation, 1915-1934.
West Indies -- Description and travel.



For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page