Skip to Search



A Guide to the Theodore R. Crom Papers

Finding aid prepared by John R. Nemmers

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections
September 2004


Descriptive Summary

Creator: Crom, Theodore R.
Title: Theodore R. Crom Papers
Dates: 1968-1987
Abstract: Research material collected and written by Theodore "Ted" R. Crom for his books on horological tools.
Extent: 2 Linear feet. 5 boxes.
Identification: MS Group 96
Language(s): English
Online Content Items from this collection have been digitized and are available online in the UF Digital Collections. For more information please see the note below.

Biographical/Historical Note

Theodore R. "Ted" Crom is a retired structural engineer contractor and the author of several publications on horological subjects, particularly focusing on the tools used to manufacture clocks and watches. He holds an honorary Doctor of Engineering degree from the University of Maryland, is a Silver Star Fellow of the National Association of Watch and Clock Collectors, a British Horological Institute Fellow, and a Barrett Silver Medal awardee, and is a member of numerous horological associations worldwide.


Scope and Content

Typescripts, galley proofs, illustrations, and bibliographic material used by Crom when publishing Horological Shop Tools (1980) and Horological and Other Shop Tools (1987).


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

The collection is open for research.


Administrative Information

Alternate Form of Material

Digital reproductions of items in this collection are available online via the University of Florida Digital Collections (UFDC). Please read the Permissions for Use statement for information on copyright, fair use, and use of UFDC digital objects.

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Theodore R. Crom Papers, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.


Contents List

Box
1 Horological and Other Shop Tools - galleys and illustrations.
1 Horological Shop Tools - galleys and illustrations.
1 Horological Wheel Cutting - galleys and illustrations.
2 Horological and Other Shop Tools - typescript.
3 Horological and Other Shop Tools - typescript and galleys.
4 Horological and Other Shop Tools - misc., bibliographic note cards.
5 Horological Shop Tools - typescript and galleys.
5 Horological and Other Shop Tools - typescript and galleys.

Selected Subjects and Access Terms

Clock and watch making -- Machinery -- History.



For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page