Skip to Search



A Guide to the Lisa von Borowsky Collection

Finding aid prepared by Dept. Staff

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections
August 2004


Descriptive Summary

Creator: Borowsky, Lisa von
Title: Lisa von Borowsky Collection
Dates: 1922-2001
Abstract: Photographs and documents of Lisa von Borowsky, including photographs taken at the Chinsegut Hill estate of Raymond and Margaret Robins.
Extent: 1.25 Linear feet. 2 boxes.
Identification: MS Group 154
Language(s): English

Biographical/Historical Note

Lisa von Borowsky was born August 9, 1904, in Wurtemberg, Germany, the daughter of a military officer. She entered the United States in 1922, and became a citizen in 1935.

By 1924, she had met Raymond Robins and his wife Margaret Dreier Robins. She was to become known as their "unofficially adopted daughter." She lived at their home, Chinsegut Hill, near Brooksville, Florida, where she was curator of gardens and wildlife at the large estate. She was executor of the Robins's estate and lived the rest of her life in the Brooksville area. Throughout her life, she was a lover of nature and a conservationist. She died October 15, 2001.


Scope and Content

One photograph album, embossed "Chinsegut Hill Sanctuary," one loose-leaf notebook of photographs and documents, a photograph album from her early days in the United States, and a journal. The album contains approximately 135 photographs, most of which are believed to have been taken at the Chinsegut Hill estate of Raymond and Margaret Robins, near Brooksville, Florida. A few photographs are of the Robins, their nephew Theodore Dreier, and visitors to the estate, but the bulk are of natural scenes, flora, fauna, and landscapes. The photographs are believed to have been taken by Ms. Borowsky and a few bear her initials and the date 1932. The photographs have identifying labels. A similar volume can be found in Series 5 of the Margaret Dreier Robins Collection. Both volumes are missing photographs.

The notebook was created by a friend and shared with guests at Ms. Borowsky's memorial service held on Ahhochee Hill Sanctuary in November, 2001. It contains photos of her taken throughout her life, as well as photographs of her parents. It also contains photocopies of documents, including documentation of her entry into the United States (1922) and her Certificate of U.S. Citizenship (1935), a photocopy of an article about her from the St. Petersburg Evening Independent (1939), and information about the Robins.

The second photograph album was found in the Margaret Dreier Robins Collection in 2005, but is clearly associated with Lisa von Borowsky's life, not Robins'. The album depicts scenes from Germany as well as New York City, Long Island, Fire Island, and Washington, DC. All of the photographs were taken in the early 1920s, although there is one page devoted to World War I and Borowsky's father.

The last item, also found in the Robins Collection, is a journal entitled "Chinsegut" given to Margaret Dreier Robins by Borowsky. Entries are in several hands, but mostly that of Borowsky. Most of the entries are observations of natural phenomena during the years 1929-1938.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

The collection is open for research.


Related or Separated Material

Margaret Dreier Robins Papers, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida


Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Lisa von Borowsky Collection, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.

Acquisition Information

Bequeathed to the University of Florida as part of Lisa von Borowsky's estate.


Selected Subjects and Access Terms

Chinsegut Hill (Fla.)
Wildlife conservation--North America



For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page