Skip to Search



A Guide to the Papers of Louise Seaman Bechtel

Finding aid prepared by Carla Summers

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections
August 2004


Descriptive Summary

Provenance: Bechtel, Louise Seaman
Title: Papers of Louise Seaman Bechtel
Dates: 1917-1975
Abstract: The Papers of Louise Seaman Bechtel document the publishing of childrens' literature in the United States at mid-century and the rise of women as editors and publishers in the United States. The collection contains correspondence with several famous childrens' books authors and illustrators.
Extent: 6 linear ft. 10 Boxes
Identification: MS Group 136


Biographical/Historical Note

Editor, author, lecturer on children's literature. Louise Seaman Bechtel, 1894-1985, served as Editor and Head of the Juvenile Book Department of Macmillan Publishing Company in New York City. A 1915 graduate of Vassar College, Bechtel began work for Macmillan in 1919. After leaving Macmillan in 1934, Bechtel worked as a freelance writer and lecturer. She was the editor of the children's section of the New York Herald Tribune Book Review from 1948 to 1956 and was associate editor of The Horn Magazine, a journal on literature for children, from 1939 to 1957. She married Edwin DeTurch Bechtel in 1929. In 1980, Ms. Bechtel donated portions of her papers, an extensive book collection and memorabilia to Vassar College.


Scope and Content

Autobiography, correspondence, notes, travel information, itineraries, receipts, speeches, writings, diaries, photographs and miscellaneous papers. The collection is arranged by into groups. The first group contains Bechtel's correspondence and writings arranged alphabetically by title, the second group contains the manuscript and notes for her autobiography, the third group contains her diaries and the final group contains scrapbooks, slides and miscellaneous materials. This collection contains extensive documentation of Ms. Bechtel's writing including her speeches and articles. Of special note in this collection is the correspondence with Berta and Elmer Hader, children's book authors. This correspondence contains extensive marginalia of delightful pen, ink and watercolor illustrations by the Haders. Box 9 contains 43 Christmas greetings illustrated by the Haders. Also included are diaries from world travels and information on a remedial reading project.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

Collection is open for research.


Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Papers of Louise Seaman Bechtel, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.

Acquisition Information

The collection was received from the Cerimon Foundation after Ms. Bechtel's death. This Foundation was created by Ms. Bechtel to endow the George A Smathers Libraries Baldwin Library of Historical Children's Literature.


Group 1: Correspondence and Writing

Box Folder
1 1 Biographical Information including:
Books Children Like and Why... The Parents Magazine, November, 1930
Books for Young People: Introducing Louise Seaman Bechtel, May Lamberton Becker, n.d.
Mr. Winkle Moves to Vassar, Nancy Willard Lindbloom and Joyce Bickerstaff Riley, Alumnae and Almuni of Vassar College, Alumnae House, Poghkeepsie, NY.; Vol. LXXVII, No. 3, Spring/Summer 1981, p. 18. About Ms. Bechtel's gift to Vassar, 1981
2 Biographical Information on Edwin DeT. Bechtel
3 Booklists and Reviews
4 Clippings
5 Correspondence, 1931-1971
6 Correspondence, Berta and Elmer Hader (Letters from the Haders are color-illustrated), 1944-1966
7 Correspondence, n.d.
8 Genealogies, Seaman, Van Pelt and Van Brunt
9 Notes, Poems, etc.
10 Other Authors
11-13 Other Authors, Margaret Pinckney Allen King
Box Folder
1A 1 A Book List for Boys and Girls. New York: Macmillan. "First catalog made by LHS for her department at Macmillans, 1920." With notes by Bechtel on the number of titles already published and the number published under her tenure. 1920
2 Macmillan Books for Boys and Girls. New York: Macmillan. With some manuscript notations by Bechtel. 1921-1927
3 Macmillan Books for Boys and Girls (1928), Reading List: Catalog of Macmillan Books for Boys and Girls (1929), and The Horn Book, v.4:3 (August, 1928). Manuscript notations by Bechtel. The Horn Book includes "The First Children's Department in Book Publishing," p. 3-6, referring to Macmillan's and to Bechtel's editorship. 1928-1929
Box Folder
2 1-2 Photographs
3 Remedial Reading Project, 1937
4 Speeches and Writings by Louise Seaman Bechtel, A, 7 items
About Helen Sewell, The Horn Book, July 1934
About the Biancos, The Horn Book, March 1926
Adventures in a Library, 2 talks for Katonah Library, October 16, 1944 and December 1946
Adventures in Bookmaking, Vassar Quarterly, ca. 1920
The A.I.G.A. Children's Book Show, 1958
The Art of Illustrating Books for the Younger Readers, NYT Book Review, November 10, 1940
Artzybasheff, Boris (1899-1965).
5 Speeches and Writings by Louise Seaman Bechtel, B, 8 items
[Bedford Village Talks], n.d.
Bedford Hills Public Schools, Book Week, 1940
Betsey's New Hat, n.d.
Beginning of Genius, Child Study, May, 1926
The Book Buyers of Tomorrow, Atlantic Monthly, 1927
The Book Nook: New Year's News From a Publisher, 1931
Bookmaking for Boys and Girls, Sept. 9, 1927
Books Before Five - A Selected List, n.d.
6 Speeches and Writings by Louise Seaman Bechtel, B, continued, 7 items
Books in Search of Children, 10th Bowker Memorial Speech
Books in Search of Children: An Exhibition from the Private Collection of LSB.
Books for Girls, Seattle Post-Intelligencer, Sept. 18, 1927
Books for Teens, Independent Education, November, 1928
Books on the Ladder of Time
By Way of Introduction, A. A. Milne, London: Methmen & Co., 1929, a review
Brown, Margaret Wise: Laureate of the Nursery, Horn Book, June, 1958
7 Speeches and Writings by Louise Seaman Bechtel, C, 14 items
Can Writing be Taught? The Horn Book, November, 1940
Catholicism in Mexico, n.d.
Celebrating 50th Anniversary of Children's Libraries in US, ALA Convention, July, 1950
"Changes in the Children's Book World: 1924-1949", n.d.
Children and Poetry in Several Eras, n.d.
Children and Their Books, The Baptist, 1926
Childrens Books in Spain, n.d.
Christmas Books, 1961
Christmas Books for Boys and Girls, The Club Candle, ca. 1920
"Collecting" People, n.d.
The Comics and Children's Books, The Horn Book, 1941
Comics and Culture, n.d.
Comics and Culture and a Harvard Report, 1940
The "Comics"- The Revolt of the Children, n.d.
8 Speeches and Writings by Louise Seaman Bechtel, E-G, 10 items
Eighteenth Century Writers, Skidmore College Lecture, August, 1949
England in Words and Pictures: A Treasure Ship Article, The Classmate, 1930
Finding Books in Europe, n.d.
Finding Stories for Problem Readers, The Children's News, March, 1936
The First European Trip for the American Express Company, 1917 and 1920
From Dr. Dolittle to Superman: 25 Years of Children's Books, n.d.
The Giant in Children, 1941
Giving the Young Person a Book, 1924
Graduating Into Good Reading, The Classmate, February, 1936
Grolier Club, New York City, On Ladies Night, Dec. 1954
Box Folder
3 1 Speeches and Writings by Louise Seaman Bechtel, H-L, 13 items
A Hands up Talk, 1941
The Hobby-Horse and Pegasus, n.d.
A Home Nature Library, n.d.
The Horn Book [The Louise Bechtel issue], August, 1928
How Some Books Came To Be, 1928?
The Illustration of the Christmas Book, The New York Herald, Dec. 2, 1923
[Introduction], n.d.
Jury for the First Show of Children's Books, American Institute of Graphic Arts, 1941
The Jury Reports, American Society of Graphic Arts, 1944
King, Margaret, Eulogy, Johnson Chapel, February 17, 1967
Lathrop Exhibit, Mrs. Bechtel's account, n.d.
A Little Talk About Poetry, 1940?
Long, Long Ago, MacMillan Children's Book Dept. Newsletter, 1969
2 Speeches and Writings by Louise Seaman Bechtel, M-P, 17 items
MacMillan Children's Book Department, n.d.
Massee, May, Publisher, The Horn Book, July-August, 1936
Modern Book Making for Boys and Girls, Independent Eduction, Nov. 1927
More Books in Search of More Children, Geneseo, NY, July 1949
My first speech, National Arts Club, 1922
My last speech at NYPL, n.d.
Ned and the arts, n.d.
New Books for Boys and Girls, America and its Friends, n.d.
Not Only in Spring, The Atlantic Bookshelf, 1927
Notes on Children's Books, Publishers' Weekly, 1920
Nursery School Snapshots , three short stories, n.d.
An Old Poetry Scrap Book, n.d.
On The Ladder Of Time, Dedication, new wing, St. Mathew's House, November 6, 1960
The Patient Speaks, Library Bureau, United Hospital Fund, December, 1941
Pratt Institute, January 1941
Presentation of the Julia Isham Taylor Books, Cosmopolitan Club, February 7, 1940
Prose Style for Boys and Girls, 1941
4 Speeches and Writings by Louise Seaman Bechtel, R-S, 11 items
Rackman, Arthur: His Life and Work, n.d
Reading as Experience, Child Study Association, 1936
A Rightful Heritage, Pittsburgh, Book Week, 1953
Sewell, Helen and Her Art for Children, Horn Book, 1946
Shelving Child Book Problems, Charm, 1928
A Short List of Christmas Books, n.d.
Short Stories for Short People, n.d.
Sixty Top Books for School Use, November, 1952
Some Help for the Puzzled Parent, 1930
Some Modern Authors, Elementary English Review, 1929
The Story of Mr. Winkle's Room, n.d.
5 Speeches and Writings by Louise Seaman Bechtel, T, 7 items
Teacher with a Gun, 1939?
That Budding Sense of Humor, The National Parent-Teacher, 1935
Thinking About Children's Classics, The Packet, 1955
To England and France, 1952
Trends, High Spots, Puzzles, Forecasts, of Fifty Years, NYPL 1960
Tribute to Babouska, Princess Marie Gagarin, 1864-1946,
Tribute to Margery Bianco, Elementary English Review, 1935
6 Speeches and Writings by Louise Seaman Bechtel, V-Y, 9 items
Vassar College Class Book, 1915
What is Literature for Children, c. 1940
When a Publisher Makes a Catalog, 1929
Who Are Your Heroes?, 1945
Why Do We Read Fiction?, 193?
WJZ Broadcast, n.d.
Women and the Book Publishing House, News-Bulletin, Bureau of Vocational Information, 1924
Writers' Conference, Boulder, Colorado, 1940
Your Christmas Picture, Classmate, December 1936
7 Speeches and writing, no title
8 Speeches, articles and odd jobs by L.S. and L.S.B (list of articles, publications, etc.)
9 Travel, Notes
Box Folder
4 1 Travels, Notes, itineraries and receipts
2 Travels, Notes



Group 2: Autobiography

Box Folder
4 3 Chapter 1: At the Turn of the Century
3 Chapter 2: Scholar or Editor
3 Chapter 3: The Cold World Turns Kind
4 Chapter 4: To Be Released On...
4 Chapter 5: "Good Morning Mrs. Seaman, Pray Be Seated"
5 Chapter 6: Catalogues and Classics
5 Chapter 7: Interlude, Europe
6 Chapter 8: Some Famous Books (missing)
6 Chapter 9: Very Special
6 Chapter 10: Riches in Small Packages
7 Chapter 10: "Riches in Small Packages" continued
7 Chapter 11: All In the Days Work
7 Chapter 12: The Wonders of Reality
Box Folder
5 1 Chapter 13: All Those Speeches!
1 Chapter 14: Interlude: An Anthology
2 Chapter 15: Odd Jobs for A Teacher
2 Chapter 16: The Old Hand Returns to the Fray
2 Chapter 17: Epilogue: In Mr. Winkle's Room
3 Autobiography, miscellaneous pages and notes



Group 3: Diaries

Box Folder
5 1 Diaries, 1918-1926
1. School Notes, n.d.
2. Collected Poems, 1918
3. Poetry scrapbook, 1920
4. Reading, 1922
5. School days, 1922-1926
Box Folder
6 1 Diaries, 1925-1935
6. Macmillan trip, 1925-1926
7. Untitled, 1927
8. Chilmark, 1928
9-10. Wedding/Morocco, 1929
11. Hospital year/learning to walk, 1931?
12-14. Europe, 1931
15. Europe, 1933
16. Egypt and Sicily, 1935
Box Folder
7 1 Diaries, 1925-1935
17-18. England and Paris, 1937
19. Notes, lectures, books, 1940-1944
20. Home, office, roses, 1946
21. Mexico, 1947
22. Paris, 1947-1948
23-24. France and Spain, 1949
25-27. Europe, 1955



Group 4: Slides, Scrapbooks, and Miscellaneous Materials

Box Folder
8 1 Slides
Box Folder
9 1 Christmas Greetings from Berta and Elmer Hader. Four printed, colored illustrated Christmas greetings, sizes 5x6.5" from 9.5x12.5", two with a supplied date of 1926, and one 1920s. Two have autograph greeting to Louise and Ned, signed "Berta" and "Berta and Elmer." 1926 and n.d.
2 Christmas Greetings from Berta and Elmer Hader. 39 printed, colored illustrated Christmas posters, approximately 18x12". Twenty-one have supplied dates of 1937-1975; the others are undated. Almost all have autograph greeting on the verso to "Louise and Ned" from "Berta and Elmer." 1937-1975 and n.d.



Selected Subjects and Access Points

The following terms have been used to index the description of this collection in the Library's online catalog:
Subject Terms:
Authors--Diaries
Bechtel, Louise Seaman, 1894-1985--Correspondence
Bechtel, Louise Seaman, 1894-1985--Diaries.
Bechtel, Louise Seaman, 1894-1985--Journeys
Bianco, Margery Williams, 1880-1944
Children's literature
Field, Rachel, 1894-1942 Bianco
Hader, Berta--Correspondence
Hader, Elmer, 1889---Correspondence
Illustrators--Correspondence
Petersham, Maud Fuller, 1890-1971
Petersham, Miska, 1888-1960
Women editors
Women in the book industries and trade


For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page