Skip to Search



A Guide to the Walter Lanier "Red" Barber Papers and Book Collection

Finding aid created by Joyce Dewsbury and Virginia Williams

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections
February 2008


Descriptive Summary

Provenance: Barber, Red 1908-
Title: Walter Lanier "Red" Barber Papers and Book Collection
Dates: 1925-1992
Abstract: Scrapbooks, correspondence, photographs documenting the life of Red Barber and the history of sports and broadcasting.
Extent: 19.5 linear feet. (47 boxes)
Identification: MS Group 71


Biographical/Historical Note

Walter Lanier "Red" Barber is a legend in the field of sports broadcasting. He began his career sixty-one years ago while studying English education at the University of Florida. In his junior year, while filling in for a reporter on the University's radio station WRUF, Barber realized that broadcasting was the profession he would pursue. He left school in 1930 to accept a full-time job announcing for WRUF where he worked for four years. In 1934, when the Cincinnati Reds decided to air their games on radio, Red Barber accepted his first major league broadcasting job doing play-by-play announcing. It was in Cincinnati that Red Barber announced the first night baseball game. Five years later, in 1939, he accepted an announcing job with the Brooklyn Dodgers where he worked for fifteen years. In 1954 Barber left the Dodgers to work for the New York Yankees. He broadcasted the Yankees' baseball games until 1966.

During his sportscasting career, Barber covered thirteen World Series, four all-star games, five Army-Navy games, one Sugar Bowl, two Rose Bowls, eight Orange Bowls, and four National Football League championship games. When he was appointed Director of Sports at CBS Radio in 1946, he created their unique "Football Roundup" coverage. From 1951 to 1955, Barber also served as Counselor on Sports for CBS.

In 1978 Barber won the first Ford C. Frick Award for Broadcasting Excellence and was inducted into the Baseball Hall of Fame in Cooperstown, New York. In 1979 he was given a Distinguished Alumni Award by the University of Florida and a Gold Award by the Florida Association of Broadcasters. In the same year he was also inducted into the Florida Sports Hall of Fame. Barber retired from sportscasting in 1972, but returned to radio as a sports commentator in 1980. He also was a frequent contributor to National Public Radio's "Morning Edition." Red Barber lived in Tallahassee, Florida, from 1974 until his death in 1992.


Scope and Content

The Walter Lanier "Red" Barber Papers include scrapbooks, correspondence, manuscripts, memorabilia, photographs, and visual materials from the 1920s through 1990. The thirty-one scrapbooks include magazine and newspaper clippings concerning articles about Red Barber, articles in which his name is mentioned, his column entitled "Redhead's Mailbag," programs, announcements, notices, and certificates such as one entitled "Citation for Bravery" for a "Rattlesnake Roundup". They document the period from 1925-1961. There are also many loose clippings now contained in archival folders which cover the period from 1961-1990.

One of these scrapbooks, Volume 31, should be mentioned because of its content. This scrapbook contains the record of the Red Cross Campaign in March, 1944 and was presented to "Red" Barber, the campaign chairman, as a memento of a job well done. The publisher of the Brooklyn Eagle, Frank D. Schroth, has his name inscribed under the acknowledgement.

On December 19, 1943 Red Barber was asked and accepted the chairmanship of the Red Cross War Fund drive in Brooklyn. The quota set for the borough was $3,331,000 nearly twice that of 1943.

Prior to and throughout the fund drive various articles and photographs appeared in the Brooklyn Eagle detailing the progress of the fund drive, the aides involved, calls for volunteers, and various human interest stories. On March 1, 1944, for instance, a long article and several photos appeared in the paper to herald the start of the campaign. Occasionally photos were included in the newspaper showing scenes of men wounded in action with articles concerning the need for Red Cross care back of the lines. One of the articles is captioned "Children's Pennies Spur Oldsters in Red Cross Fund Campaign". The photo accompanying the article pictures Red Barber with three children who are members of the Junior Commandos of the Sea Gate. One of them presents Red Barber with a check for $10 for the War Fund appeal - the entire treasury of the group apparently.

The correspondence covers the years 1966-1990 and contains letters to Red Barber from friends, colleagues, and ardent fans who listened to his broadcasts. The manuscript files include early drafts, revisions, and manuscripts of his books The Broadcasters, Show Me The Way To Go Home, and Walk in the Spirit as well as copies of the University of Southern Mississippi Oral History Program's interview with Mr. Barber dated 1974.

The memorabilia files contain playbills, press pass cards, programs, public relations' commentaries about Red Barber, the August 29, 1970 University of Florida Commencement Convocation program at which an honorary degree "Doctor of Letters" was conferred on Walter L. Barber, and the actual degree. The photographs cover a range of subjects such as family, broadcasting, and awards. There are photographs of WRUF chronicling the start of Barber's career in radio broadcasting at the University of Florida. Photographs also document special events such as Barber's induction into the Baseball Hall of Fame and a meeting of well-known sports broadcasters with President Reagan at the White House.


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

Collection is open for research.


Related or Separated Material

Along with the papers, Barber has given the University of Florida Libraries some 600 books dealing with the world of sports. Understandably, the majority of titles, including several by Mr. Barber himself, feature baseball. From the A's to the Yanks, the collection holds histories of teams and biographies of players, managers, and even umpires. There are also books about numbers, year-by-year statistics and their explanations in baseball dictionaries and directories.

Other books explore the wider symbolic relations of man and his sports: The Nazi Olympics, Sport and the Spirit of Play in American Fiction, The Boys of Summer, Good Clean Violence. Besides baseball, football, basketball, hockey, and other team sports, this collection includes works on individual sports such as boxing, tennis, skiing, fishing, and golf. There are biographies and memoirs of sports broadcasters and descriptions of the interactions between the business and the sports worlds.

Many of the books are inscribed to Red Barber by their authors; others were sent to him by publishers for his comments and review. All are a tribute to the wide interests and many friendships of this broadcasting legend. They now form a unique core collection for the University of Florida Libraries and the Department of Special Collections.


Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Walter Lanier "Red" Barber Collection, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.

Acquisition Information

In January 1990, Mr. Barber donated his papers and collection of sports-related books to the Department of Special Collections of the University of Florida Libraries.


Contents List

Clippings


Box 1-3

Volumes 1-10. 1925-1939
Volumes 11-16. 1940-1947
Volumes 17-31 - Unboxed. 1942-1961
Loose. 1961-1990



Correspondence


Box 4

Correspondence 1965-1971

Box 5

Correspondence 1972-1973

Box 6

Correspondence 1974-1979

Box 7

Correspondence 1979-1983

Box 8

Correspondence 1983-1984

Box 9

Correspondence 1984-1988

Box 10

Correspondence 1989

Box 11

Correspondence 1989-1990



Manuscripts


Box 12

Manuscripts

Box 13

Manuscripts

Box 14

Manuscripts

Box 15

Manuscripts



Memorabilia


Box 16

Memorabilia

Box 17

Memorabilia

Box 18

Memorabilia

Box 19

Memorabilia

Box 20

Memorabilia



Photographs


Box 21a-c

Awards
Awards - Baseball Hall of Fame - Cooperstown, NY (1978)
Awards - Florida Sports Hall of Fame - Cypress Gardens (1979)
Awards - George Polk Award (1984)
Awards - Unidentified
Baseball Related
Broadcasting - Baseball - Cincinnati Reds - Airplane Broadcast
Broadcasting - Baseball - Cincinnati Reds - WSAI
Broadcasting - Baseball - Cincinnati Reds - WLW
Broadcasting - Baseball - World Series
Broadcasting - CBS
Broadcasting - CBS (contact sheets)
Broadcasting - CBS - "Red Barber's Club House"
Broadcasting - CBS - "Red Barber's Club House" (contact sheets)
Broadcasting - Harness Racing
Candid photographs of Red
Celebrities - Baseball and Others
Dedications
Dodger Stadium Tribute
Eightieth Birthday Party
Eighty-Third (?) Birthday
Electronics Park (Visit - 1951)
Family - Immediate (Red, Lylah, Sarah)
Family - Lylah M. Barber
Family - Red Barber
Family and Others - Later
Florida Association of Broadcasters - Meeting (1979)
Lay Ministry
Little League
Lylah Murray Scarborough Barber
Lylah and Red #1
Lylah and Red #2
Miami Stadium
Miscellaneous - Dinners, Meetings
National Public Radio (NPR) - Morning Edition
Negatives
Newspaper Article, Letter (photos which were attached)
Photo Portraits
Residences
Sarah Lanier Barber (Red's and Lylah's daughter)
Television - NBC Today Program
Television Filming
Unidentified
Vietnam
White House Meeting - President Reagan
WRUF
WRUF - matted photos



Addendum #1


Box 32

Clippings - 1990-1991
Memorabilia - 1990-1992

Box 33

Phonograph Records. 35 records - 10" in diameter. 6 records - 12" in diameter. The 10" records are 16 2/3 RPM. Four of the 12" records are 33 1/3 RPM and the fifth 12" record is 78 RPM. There may be difficulties locating a phonograph with a 16 2/3 speed. Nine of the thirty-five 10" in diameter records listed above were items from the Library of Congress. They were boxed in a film case with the statement "Free Matter for the Blind or Handicapped". They are a series of readings by Red Barber and Ralph Bell from the book Rhubarb in the Catbird Seat.

Box 34

Book - Fridays with Red by Bob Edwards, 1993
Correspondence - 4/90-7/91; 10/91-3/92
Films - 3 reels

Box 35-37

Scrapbooks

Box 38-39

Slides

Box 43

Films - Florence - Rome - Spain
Films - Virgin Islands - Puerto Rico
Films - Cuba
Films - Dominican Republic - Haiti
Films - Brazil
Films - Debut and Beau. Sara Spears. Christmas tree and daughter's home
Films - Various family - both black and white and color film
Films - Scarsdale
Films - Daughter at camp
Films - House
Films - Marathon
Films - Comesky Park
Films - Comesky Park
Films - Unidentified (four)

Box 44

Photo Albums - Christmas 1947
Photo Albums - 50th Wedding Anniversary

Box 45

Scrapbooks

Box 46

Slides. Tray 1 - Rehearsal dinner; Debut Party; Rollins - 1956; Lamberts Graduation Party
Slides. Tray 2 - 25th Party; Aunt Laura; Mary Ann; St. Pete 56; Crystel River; Summerville, NC; Home - Winder 56
Slides. Tray 3 - Bermuda

Box 47

Slides. Tray 1 - Canadian Rockies 1961
Slides. Tray 2 - Far East 1961
Slides. Tray 3 - Far East 1961

Box -

Miscellaneous Items: One 3-D camera. Two 3-D viewers. Seven small plastic viewers. Approximately 1800 slides which are 3-D




For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page