Skip to Search



A Guide to the Ethel Fairmont Beebe Papers

Finding aid prepared by Dept. Staff

University of Florida Smathers Libraries - Special and Area Studies Collections
August 2004


Descriptive Summary

Creator: Beebe, Ethel Fairmont, 1881-1977
Title: Ethel Fairmont Beebe Papers
Dates: 1900-1977
Abstract: Manuscripts, correspondence, and other documents relating to Ethel Beebe and to her career as a writer and animal rights activist.
Extent: 4.5 Linear feet. 8 Boxes.
Identification: MS Group 115
Language(s): English

Biographical/Historical Note

Author, animal welfare activist. Born Ethel Fairmont Ryer, in La Crosse, Wisconsin, July 24, 1881. She moved with her family to Denver in 1895, and in 1899 married William Snyder and moved to Kansas City, Missouri. The Snyders were divorced in 1921. In 1922, she married Murray C. Beebe, a former University of Wisconsin engineering professor, whom Ethel had met while a student there (1915-1916). Murray Beebe died in 1943.

In Kansas City, Ethel founded the city's first animal shelter, beginning a life long career as an activist in the animal welfare movement, which was exemplified by her vegetarian beliefs and activities. She spent 1916-1917 in Japan, helping to establish the movement there. Active in various groups, she testified before the United States Senate Committee on Agriculture and Forestry in 1921 on proposed legislation to protect range animals.

In 1916 her well know book of children's verse, Rhymes for Kindly Children, was published, followed by The Lovely Garden in 1919, under the pen name Fairmont Snyder. She also contributed numerous pieces of verse to periodicals and wrote a newspaper column, "The Listening Heart," for the Waterbury-Republican, and some art history.

In addition to her year at the University of Wisconsin, she was a student in the Yale University School of Drama, 1926-27.

She died March 17, 1977, in Westport, Connecticut.


Scope and Content

Manuscripts, correspondence, photographs, newspaper clippings, notebooks, and other documents relating to the personal life of Ethel Beebe and to her career as a writer and animal rights activist.

Most of the literary works were never published, but there is material relating to her highly successful books of children's verse. Examples of an attempt to establish a newspaper cartoon with illustrator Warren Whipple are also included. Clippings illustrate her period as a newspaper columnist and also include some of her work on behalf of animal welfare.

Much of the correspondence is with colleagues in the animal welfare and vegetarian movements, including the actress Minnie Maddern Fiske, actor George Arliss, critic Henry Stephens Salt, Millennium Guild founders Curtis and Maude Freshel, and organization officials such as National Humane Review editor Sydney Coleman, and B. Maude Phillips, Animal Rescue League of Boston. Literary correspondents include playwright Alice Gerstenberg, with whom Beebe collaborated, the playwright E. P. Conkle, whom she met at Yale, two of the children of novelist of Leo Tolstoy, Alexandra and Ilya, and magazine writer Tom P. Morgan. Correspondents also include the book illustrator Johnny Gruelle, creator of Raggedy Anne, architect and writer Clay Lancaster and artist Nancy Cox-McCormack, and cartoon artist Warren Whipple. The correspondence also includes some letters from her husbands William Snyder and Murray Beebe, along with other marriage documentation. Other correspondents include Horace Meyer Kallen, professor of philosophy at the University of Wisconsin, minister John Hayne Holmes, who married the Beebes, and various friends and relatives including Margaret Ashmun, Murray Beebe's aunt Eleanor Beebe, Edna Campbell, Dorothy F. "Dolly" Coppock, sister Ivy M. Corrin, George Forsee, philologist James Taft Hatfield, Ernest Jackson, Helen McCaffey, Margaret L. Mills, Helen N. Shaw, Charlotte Sheriff, Lucille Sloan, Henry Bailey Stevens, Eva Ingersoll Wakefield, E. K. Whitehead, and Esme Wynne-Tyson.

The papers contain more than 40 photographic images of Beebe, ten of Murray Beebe, as well as approximately a dozen of her cats. Numerous photographs are dispersed throughout the papers, usually with the correspondence or other documents of the subject. There is an inscribed studio photo of Mrs. Fiske to Beebe.

Numerous example of the published writing of Beebe is in newspaper and periodical clippings, including her "Listening Heart" column (1940-41), newspaper articles and letters, usually relating to animal welfare (1908-1932), approximately 40 poems and stories from various periodicals. There is also a file about her work for animal welfare (1911-1932). A file of newspaper articles about her trip to Japan (1916-1917), in addition to numerous pieces of correspondence and other memorabilia, document that journey.

The papers also include various personal documents relating to Beebe's birth, marriages and divorce, her estate, university activities from Wisconsin and Yale, and lecturing. An addendum contains research material on her trip Japan, collected for the publication of "Ethel Fairmont Snyder, Mary Elkinton Nitobe and the Founding of the Japan Human Society," by Frederick C. Strong III and Nancy Strong Weyant, The East, 32:5.


Arrangement

Unpublished writings (Box 1); Published writings (Box 2); Notebooks and notes (Box 3); Correspondence, clippings, photograph, and other materials (Boxes 4-6); Oversize documents (Box 7); and an addendum of research material relating to Beebe (Box 8).


Access or Use Restrictions

Access

The collection is open for research. By arrangement with the donor, the Department of Special Collections will notify the donor of the names of users of the collection through the year 2011.

Usage Restrictions

Rights to the unpublished writings of Ethel Fairmont Beebe have been transferred to the University of Florida Foundation. Permission is required for publication.


Related or Separated Material

Letters from Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings to Ethel Beebe are in the Rawlings Correspondence.


Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], Ethel Fairmont Beebe Papers, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.

Acquisition Information

Ethel Fairmont Beebe's papers were willed to her grand nephew, Frederick C. Strong III, who gave them to his daughter Nancy S. Weyant, who donated them to the University of Florida.


Contents List

Manuscripts, 1918-1944


Box Folder
1 1 Animal Rescue League Marionettes. The Convention in Perhapsburg (The Camel That Smiled) by Ethel Fairmont. Boston. 19 p. Typed ms. with numerous penciled notations. Heart-strings. An entertainment in 3 parts. 18 p. Typed ms. of Part II: The Convention in Perhapsburg by Ethel Fairmont only. Carbon copy of The Convention in Perhapsburg (above) with different penciled notations. Signed Ethel Fairmont on title page.
1 2 The Birthday, a one-act play by Ethel Fairmont, c1918. 16 p. Typed ms. with numerous notations. The title page is annotated with a new title, The Seeker, a three-act play, of which The Birthday is identified as act one.
1 3 The Canvas Trail, typed ms.notes and fragments of a story, with extensive autograph notes and revisions.
1 4 The Chalk Walkers. A.Ms. Fragment and outline for drama similar to Keep It Alive. 7 p.
1 5 Children's Books; typed lecture draft with autograph revisions.
1 6 Did I, or Didn't I / Ethel Fairmont. Mount Carmel, CT. 18 p. Typed ms. with annotations. Signed Ethel Fairmont.
1 7 Ducky by Ethel Fairmont. Typed ms., with extensive autograph revisions [7 p.]
1 8 Dusky / Ethel Fairmont. Typed ms., with a. revisions. 4 p.
1 9 Duty Bound, a one-act play by Ethel Fairmont. Fairfield, CT. 22 p. Typed ms., with annotations. Includes a 5p. fragment with caption: "Radio script."
1 10 From Afar. 11 p. Typed ms., with annotations.
1 11 The Good Old Days and the Good New Days / Ethel Fairmont. Typed ms., with numerous autograph revisions, 4 p.
1 12 Humane Education - Lecture drafts, notes, and background material.
1 13 If, a dramatic episode in one act by Augusta Stevenson and Ethel Fairmont. 15 p. Typed ms. Name originally typed as Fairmont Snyder, then changed to Ethel Fairmont.
1 14 It Is Not Always May / Ethel Fairmont. Original title, Everything's All Right with May, marked through. Typed ms. with extensive autograph revisions. 10 p.
1 15 Keep It Alive, or Ask Me No Questions; a domestic comedy in three acts by Ethel Fairmont. New York, c. 1944. Typed ms. 3 copies. One copy has autograph insert; one is dated 1944.
1 16 The Listening Heart, by Ethel Fairmont. Typed ms. with autograph revisions. 6 p. Notes for Listening Heart Story, April 27, 1932, 4 p.
1 17 The Lovely Garden by Fairmont Snyder (Ethel Fairmont). 13 p. Typed ms. with a. notation: "Ms. sold P.F. Volland Co. 1918." First published, 1919.
1 18 [Lyrics] by Fairmont Snyder. Typed mss. 6 p., and letter from G. Schirmer, Inc. declining to publish, 6 March 1931.
1 19 "The Market Price." Typed notes on text, probably by Alice Gerstenberg. 6 p. ANS "Alice Gerstenberg," Nov.13, 1923, on p. 4.
1 20 [Poems] - Mss. (mostly typed) of poems by Beebe. 20 leaves.
1 21 The Perfect Squelch, with notation: "Saturday Evening Post, sent Feb. 17, 1949"; The Listening Heart, Sept. 21, 1940; and untitled ms. note. 3 leaves.
1 22 Resolution (New Year page idea) Sept. 23, 1931. Typed ms. / Ethel Fairmont. 1 p.
1 23 Reunion in Redding / Ethel Fairmont. [ca. 1936?] Typed ms. with extensive a. revisions. 7 p.
1 24 Ride with a Stranger by Ethel Fairmont. Original and carbon typed ms. P.S. Tell Your Friend / Ethel Fairmont. New York Typed ms. Variant version of Ride with a Stranger. Accompanied by an ALS from Paul Lane, the man who was the source for the story, to Ethel Beebe and Dorothy Coppock [received 29 May 1924] returning Ethel Beebe's sweater and advising them against giving rides to strangers.
1 25 The Scourge, by Ilya Tolstoy and Ethel Fairmont. Typed ms. (carbon). 39, 41 leaves. Two versions. One annotated, "First Copy - before revisions, Jan. 4, 1931."
1 26 The Seeker, or Youth at Large. A three act play by Ethel Fairmont. Scenario. 22 p. Typed ms. with annotations.
1 27 The Sharing Heart. A play adapted from the book: The Lovely Garden by Ethel Fairmont. Westport, CT. 2 copies of typed ms., one with extensive annotations and 7 loose ms. leaves.
1 28 Sidetrack / Ethel Fairmont. Typed ms. with a. revisions. 10 p.
1 29 Souls on Fifth. A Fantasy by Ethel Fairmont Beebe. Suggested by the story of the same title by Granville Barker. 17 p. Typed ms. Folder includes a TLS (copy) to Barker; 14 August 1930, asking for permission to dramatize his story, and a copy of the story excised from Century Magazine.
1 30 Voyageurs / Ethel Fairmont, Cheshire, CT., Dec. 1932. 12 p. Typed ms. with annotations. Earlier titles, Fog and Interims struck through.
1 31 Weak Mortals, a tragi-comedy in one-act by Ethel Fairmont. Cheshire, Ct., New York. 18 p. Typed ms., with annotations.
1 32 You Can Get What You Want, a comedy in three acts by Alice Gerstenberg and Ethel Fairmont. Chicago. Typed ms. Accompanied by an announcement of pending production, Playshop Players, Philistine Theatre, Chicago.


Published Writings, 1908-1954


Box Folder
2 1 The Listening Heart - Clippings of 30 newspaper columns in the Waterbury Republican, 1940. Columns signed Ethel Fairmont.
2 2 The Listening Heart - Clippings of 37 newspaper columns in the Waterbury Republican, 1941. Columns signed Ethel Fairmont.
2 3 The Listening Heart - Clippings of 24 newspaper columns in the Waterbury Republican, 1942. Columns signed Ethel Fairmont.
2 4 The Listening Heart - Clippings of 9 newspaper columns in the Waterbury Republican, n.d. Columns signed Ethel Fairmont.
2 5 "The Man Who Is the Mary Pickford of Japan," by Farimount [ sic ] Snyder, Newspaper Feature Service, 1918. Proof copy. 1 sheet.
2 6 Newspaper articles and letters to editors, Kansas City Star, Waterbury Republican, etc., 1908-1932.
2 7 Poems clipped from a newspaper, probably the Kansas City Star, mostly signed Ethel Fairmont Snyder, one dated July 23, 1911. 16 pieces.
2 8 Poems, published, includes clippings, pamphlets, and Valentines believed to be by Ethel Beebe, 15 pieces.
2 9 Portraits in "Little," by Fairmont Snyder. International Studio, 69:274 (Dec. 1919), 69-73, including background material and research. Includes letter from artist Margaret Foote Hawley; Boston, 1 April 1919.
2 10 Prose writings- Tear sheets from various publications of writing by Fairmont Snyder.
2 11 Preventing the Transportation and Sale of Stunted Food Animals. Statement of Mrs. Ethel Fairmont Snyder, Corresponding Secretary, the National League to Conserve Food Animals. Hearing before the Committee on Agriculture and Forestry, United States Senate, 67th Congress, 1st Session, May 10, 1921. Washington: Government Printing Office, 1921. 13 p.
2 12 Rhymes for Kindly Children, The Kindly Children Book. Rhymes by Ethel Fairmont. Illustrated by Johnny Gruelle. New York: Wise-Parslow Company, c.1937. Page proofs.126 leaves.
2 13 Rhymes for Kindly Children - Readers letters, 1919-1949; reviews (2), 1916.
2 14 Rhymes for Kindly Children - P. F. Volland Company promotional material. Includes a flyer for The Lovely Garden.
2 15 Rhymes for Kindly Children - Wise Book Company. TLS to Ethel Beebe; New York, 13 Nov. 1951 re edition of Rhymes for Kindly Children. Folder includes promotional material and royalty statements, 1954.
2 16 St. Nicholas. 8 poems by Fairmont Snyder, Jan. - April, 1919; July 1923.
2 17 Volland, P. F., Company (publisher). 3 TLLS to Ethel Beebe; Chicago, 17 Dec. 1919-26 May 1933 re Rhymes for Kindly Children and The Lovely Garden.


Manuscript Notebooks and Notes


Box Folder
3 1 Loose, unsorted notes, mostly literary.
3 2 Notebook with many loose notes inserted.
3 3 Notebook with many inserts [ca. 1950?]
3 4 "Ethel Fairmont: Her Own Book" (Original Thoughts) 1923-1933
3 5 Copy book, some original writing, inserts
3 6 Ethel Fairmont Beebe. English study book. Sentence Work.
3 7 Practice Book on the Use and Words of Construction
3 8 The Listening Heart, or The Lost Key
3 9 Notebook, signed Ethel Fairmont S. on cover.
3 10 Notebook: Analecta"
3 11 Notebook: Imagination. Includes loose-leaf sheet of story "Dusky."
3 12 Copy book; front cover missing


Ethel and Murray Beebe Correspondence, 1916-1969


Box Folder
4 1 Beebe, Ethel. 2 ALLS "Peg," to Murray Beebe; En route to Japan and Tokyo; 3 October and 5 November 1916.
4 2 Beebe, Ethel. ALS "Ethel Fairmont" to Nancy [Cox-McCormack] Cincinnati, 4 February [ca. 1920?] re to baby born to friends, Katherine and Clayton, and to possibility of production of her play. 5 p.
4 3 Beebe, Ethel. 3 TLS to Nancy (Mrs. Charles) Weyant; Westport, CT. 22 Nov. 1968 - 17 June 1969.
4 4 Beebe, Ethel - Excerpts and fragments from letters.
4 5 [Beebe, Ethel Fairmont] Letters from unidentified correspondents.
4 6 Beebe. Murray C. ALLS and telegram to Ethel Beebe; Madison, WI., etc. 21 April 1920- 11 Feb. 1927. Includes several fragments.


Ethel and Murray Beebe Newspaper Clippings, 1911-1943


Box Folder
4 7 Beebe, Ethel - Newspaper articles about Ethel Beebe, mostly re humane movement, 1911-1932
4 8 Beebe, Ethel. - Newspaper articles re visit to Japan, 1916-1917. Also see Japanese memorabilia
4 9 Beebe, Murray C. - Obituaries (1943)


Ethel and Murray Beebe Personal Documents, 1915-1974


Box Folder
4 10 Beebe, Ethel - Personal Documents
4 10 Photostat of affidavit by Annie H. Ryer to the birth of Ethel Fairmont Snyder (nee Ryer) in LaCross, WI, July 24, 1881; Denver 21 August 1916. Enclosed with a letter from the Department of State, Passport Division, June 1, 1944.
4 10 Special Police Officer's Commission to Ethel Fairmont Snyder; Kansas City, MO., 1 January 1914.
4 10 University of Wisconsin, Letters and Science. Student's Receipt Check to Ethel F. Snyder; 20 Sept. 1915.
4 10 Petition for divorce, Ethel F. Snyder v. William D. Snyder; Kansas City, June 1920. Typed draft (not filed). Includes a. note by Ethel Beebe explaining conditions of petition.
4 10 Petition for divorce, William D. Snyder vs. Ethel F. Snyder; Cleveland, October 20, 1920. Copy certified by the Deputy Clerk, Cuyahoga County court, 8 Oct. 1920. Note on cover states that the divorce was granted, Jan. 8, 1921.
4 10 Two locks of hair, one with note signed Ethel Fairmont Beebe, Oct. 1924; the other undocumented.
4 10 Yale University. Printed receipt for tuition made to Ethel F. Beebe; 10 Oct. 1926, 1 Feb. 1927.
4 10 Biographical sketch for Who's Who in the East, 1942-1943; final proof.
4 10 Last Will and Testament of Ethel Fairmont Beebe; typed draft with numerous ms. revisions; Darien, CT.? 1955?
4 10 Last Will and Testament / Ethel Fairmont Beebe; New Haven. Typed copy signed Ethel Fairmont Beebe, witnessed and notarized, August 3, 1961. With letter from her attorney, March 20, 1974, returning the will and suggesting that she destroy it.
4 10 Leaves from two books; one identified as as from a book owned by Alexander Hamilton, a New York Loyalist who came to Shelburne in 1793 and the other from Welsh printing of the Book of Ruth.
4 11 Beebe, Murray C. and Ethel Fairmont Snyder- License and other mementos of wedding, 13 Jan. 1922. Marriage license issued to Murray C. Beebe and Ethel F. Snyder; New York City, 13 Jan. 1922 (Photostat made August 3, 1946 and receipt for photostat.) A copy from the New York Times wedding announcement is included [14 Jan. 1922] Cf. letter by John Haynes Holmes.


Ethel and Murray Beebe Photographs


Box Folder
4 12 [Beebe Ethel] - Cats; twelve photographs of Ethel Beebe's cat, one of which includes her, 1906 - 1954.
4 13 Beebe, Ethel - Photographs. Approximately 35 prints and 10 photographic negatives, ca. 1916-1940 and [n.d.] Locations include trip to Japan; Madison, WI; Cincinnati; Lake Geneva, NY; Weekapugh, RI; Cheshire, CT; and unidentified sites. Several photographs include Murray Beebe, or some unidentified individuals.
4 14 Beebe, Murray - Photographs: a) Inscribed photograph to "Ethel." 1917. Photo by The Wooleys, 1916. b) 10 photographic prints, 1923-1942, and [n.d.]


Correspondence and Other Material, 1900-1977


Box Folder
4 15 Adam, Medora. An Uncrowned Queen - To Ethel. A.Ms.S. 1 sheet. Annotated Yokohama 1917.
4 16 Animal Rescue League of Kansas City, Missouri - Clippings of effort to establish the first animal shelter in Kansas City, ca. 1907-1915.
4 17 Animal Rescue League of Kansas City, Missouri. Documents, forms, etc.
4 18 [Animal Shelter Documents] Forms, promotional material from shelters in Cleveland, Denver, etc.
4 19 Arliss, George. 4 ALLS to Ethel Fairmont Snyder; New York, 6 April 1912 -July 1921.
4 20 Ashmun, Margaret. 4 ALLS to Ethel Beebe; London, Northampton, MA.; 4 April 1928 - 13 March 1931, [n.d.]
4 21 B________. ALS to Ethel Beebe? Madison, WI [191?] Love letter, possibly from Murray Beebe, but handwriting is not consistent with that of his signed letters.
4 22 Bakon-Yeast, inc. Correspondence to Ethel F. Beebe, balance sheets, notices to stockholders, etc., 1959-1966. (Officers of Bakon-Yeast, inc., included the founders and officers of the Millenium Guild, including the Freshels and Honor Young.)
4 23 Barrett, Edna. ANS to "Monty"; [s.l. August 1962] Note in greeting card.
4 24 Barrow, M. C. ("Bill Barlow") TLS to Miss Snyder; Douglas, Wyoming [191-?] re publication of her verse in Sagebrush Philosophy.
4 25 Barton, William L. "Bill." ALS to "Aunt Ethel"; [Avon Park, Fl. 30 Sept 1931?] Letter from a cadet in pilot training, and a birthday card to Ethel Beebe, July 24, 1945. With this are letters, clippings, and photographs re Barton who was reported killed in action over Germany in 1944, but was later found to be a prisoner war and liberated by Russians in May 1945.
4 26 Bassett, Frances C. ALS to "Ethel"; On board the Kaiserim Auguste Victoria, 17 July 1914. Also includes a letter fragment, ca. 1900, and a photograph of Bassett.
4 27 Bates, Mary Elizabeth. ALS to "Mrs. Beebe;" Denver, 17 Oct. 1953. Includes copy of citation for the American Human Award and clippings (1953), a letter from a friend Walter Reed, 1954, and a printed portrait inscribed to EFB, 1924.
4 28 Beebe, Eleanor (Murray Beebe's aunt). 2 ALL S to "Ethel"; La Mesa, 1 Jan. 1923- [ca. 1930?] With the letters is a manuscript, "Dog Neighbors," by Eleanor Beebe.
4 29 Big Moose School District (New York) Library. Correspondence, July 1922 - 21 May 1923 and documents. After the school district library was destroyed by fire, Ethel Beebe successfully undertook to raise funds to purchase books for a new one.
4 30 Briggs, Harold S. (pianist) - A postcard S to EFB, Scranton, PA, 10 August 1946, Christmas greeting, and photograph.
4 31 Busbee, Juliana (Mrs. Jacques) 3 ALLS to Ethel Beebe; Steeds, NC, ca. [1940-1948]
4 32 Campbell, Edna. 6 ALLS to Ethel Fairmont Beebe; 6 Jan 1957 - 26 Sept. 1958.
4 33 Cavanaugh, Mary. ALS to Monty Beebe; 29 Oct. 1943 re recommendation of Rhymes for Kindly Children by Ernest Hemingway.
4 34 Clements, Renee (Mrs. Frank Crowell, Kansas City, Mo.) 3 photographs, ca. 1913.
4 35 Coleman, Sydney H. (National Humane Review). 2 TLLS to Ethel Fairmont Snyder; Chicago, 7 Jan. 1919, 1 p. re her article in the January Review; 16 Sept 1919, 1 p. re his reaction to A Lovely Garden.
4 36 Conkle, E. P. (1889- ) 24 Autograph and typed letters, notes and postcards; Austin, TX., etc. [1936] - 8 April 1974. Folder includes photographs of Beebe and Conkle, 1956; Conkle and family, 1942, and other Conkle memorabilia.
4 37 Conkle, Virginia. A. Postcard S. and Christmas greeting with long ANS to Monty Beebe; [Austin, TX.] etc., 12 August 1956 and [24 December ca.1972]
4 38 Coppock, Dorothy F. ("Dolly") 2 A. and typed LLS; Cincinnati, ca. 1931. Photo.
4 39 Corrin, Ivy M. (Ethel Beebe's Sister) and Family - 5 ALLS and telegram to Ethel Beebe; Denver, [n.d.] 1 March 1954-26 August 1955. Includes two photos of Ivy Corrin, photo of her son Wilbur, studio photos of her granddaughters, Dorris and Joyce Martin, and snapshot of Joyce and her husband Arthur.
5 1 Darling, Elizabeth Kent. ALS to Ethel Beebe; Green Hills Farm Hotel [near Philadelphia] 14 Jan. [1922] Congratulations on her marriage to Murray Beebe.
5 2 Elam, Burnley. ALS "Burnley" to Monty Beebe; Hartford, CT, 5 April [n.y.] 1 p. Writer identified from note on verso by Ethel Beebe.
5 3 Fiske, Minnie Maddern - 22 ALLS, notes, postcards, and telegrams to or re Ethel Beebe; [v.p.] 11 March 1920 - 30 May 1930 [n.d.]
5 4 [Fiske, Minnie Maddern] Miscellaneous items relating to Mrs. Fiske, including a photo with a stray dog, 1929, and an inscribed studio photograph to "Mrs. Beebe." 1921-1949. Clippings.
5 5 [Fiske, Minnie Maddern] Clippings.
5 6 Forsee, George -- 4 ALLS and one ANS to [Ethel Beebe?] Kansas City, 19 May [1915] 12 Nov. 1945 and [n.d.] Letters are addressed to "Dear Delicia" and "Dear friend."
5 7 Fitzgerald, Pegeen - Statement re Curtis Freshel's estate, 31 October 1968, with photo, 1970.
5 8 French, Mabel. ALS to "Dear Monte;" Cheshire, 4 Feb., with photo of Mabel and Sydney French.
5 9 Freshels, Maude R. L. and Curtis - 6 ALLS "Emarel"; Boston, etc. [n.d.] 23 July 1925-26 Sept. 1935 and 2 TLLS (C.P. Freshel) New York, 9 May 1944 and 29 January 1962. Includes portraits of both Freshels and obituary clippings.
5 10 Gerstenberg, Alice. 20 autograph and typed signed letters to Ethel Beebe; Chicago and Minneapolis [n.d.] 20 Oct. 1924-6 June 1972. Several of the letters are about a play, "Freddie's Passport" and other works on which Beebe and Gerstenberg collaborated. See "You Can Get What You Want" in manuscripts section.
5 11 Gerstenberg, Alice. Miscellaneous. 2 letters re Ethel Beebe, etc.
5 12 Goodfriend, Simon - 2 ALLS to [Ethel Beebe] New York [nd.] 22 Dec. 1936. Also extract from letters and clipping of obituary, 1939.
5 13 Gruelle, Johnny. TLS (photocopy) to Mrs. Snyder; Norwalk, CT., 23 August 1917. The original is in the possession of Nancy S. Weyant.
5 14 Guthrie, Florence (Japan) - ALS; American Embassy, Tokyo; 11 April [n.y.]
5 15 Hatfield, James Taft (Northwestern University). 2 LLS to Ethel Beebe; Evanston, IL., 8 December 1925 -15 June 1927.
5 16 Holmes, John Haynes (The Community Church, New York). ALS to Ethel Snyder; Cambridge, MA., 6 July 1921 re his position on marrying divorced people and agreeing to marry her and Murray Beebe. 2 p.
5 17 Jackson, Ernest - 2 ALLS to [Ethel Beebe]; Great Barrington, MA. 25 Nov. 1930 - 9 June 1931.
5 18 Japan Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals - Clippings and notes in Japanese.
5 19 Japanese Memorabilia (Letters, notes, notebook of Japanese lessons, and other items. Includes a photograph of Mary Elkinton Nitobe and Inazo Nitobe). [Other folders relating to Beebe's Japanese trip include: Beebe - Newspapers articles and Photographs; Adam, Medora; Guthrie, Florence; Japan Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals; Mori, T.F.; Nishiwaki, Junzabro; Nitobe, Mary P. Elkinton; Ozaki, Yei T; Research Addendum]
5 20 Kallen, Horace M. 3 ALLS to Ethel Fairmont; Madison, WI., Roxbury, Ma., etc. 3 June 1915-11 July 1916, and 22 Dec. 1962. Includes holograph poem, "The Night Watch," inscribed to Ethel Fairmont, Madison, 1915; another "For E.F.S." and a manuscript reading list, University of Wisconsin, 1915.
5 21 [Keezer, Dexter M.] TL to [Ethel Beebe] [s.l., n.d.] Fragment, p. 2-3 only. Re meeting with Mrs. Fiske, accompanied by copy of newspaper clipping. Name supplied in note on verso of letter.
5 22 Lancaster, Clay. A) ALLS and cards to Monty Beebe; Brooklyn, Nantucket, 12 May 1962 - 21 July 1974. Some are copies and fragments. B)2 TLLS (copies) from Beebe to Clay Lancaster; Westport, CT., 18 Oct. 1968 - 12 January 1971. C) TLS (copy) to the Niece of Ethel Fairmont Beebe; Eutaw, AL., 22 March 1977 re the disposition of Beebe's books and manuscripts.
5 23 McCaffey, Helen. 5 ALLS to Ethel Beebe; New York, 28 Oct. 1923 - 13 July 1926.
5 24 Massachusetts Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals. 2 TLL; Boston, 1964-65.
5 25 Millenium Guild - Pamphlets, tracts, etc. Presidents' report, 1946; copies of correspondence, 1954, and letters to Ethel Beebe; Radcliffe Women's Archives, 21 Feb. 1951.
5 26 Mills, Margaret L. 5 ALLS to Ethel Beebe; Rostrevor, N. Ireland, 1956-1958. Photographs of Margaret and George F. Mills.
5 27 Morgan, Tom P. 10 TLLS to Ethel Beebe; Rogers, Arkansas, 24 May 1915 - 27 May 1923. Some are fragments.
5 28 Mori, T.F. ALS to Ethel Snyder; Tokyo, 19 November 1916. Offering to teach her Japanese.
5 29 National Card Company. TN to Ethel Fairmont Beebe; Philadelphia, 28 Feb. 1945 aking her to submit sample verses for greeting cards. Excised verses from cards included.
5 30 National League to Conserve Food Animals. - Miscellaneous material with note by Beebe; clippings re Mrs. Fiske.
5 31 Nishiwaki, Junzabro. 5 ALLS to Ethel Snyder; Tokyo, etc. 29 Jan. 1917 - 15 March 1920. Also 2 leaves of verse, signed and dated Tokyo, 1916.
5 32 Nitobe, Mary P. Elkinton. 2 ALLS to Ethel Snyder; [Tokyo? 1917?] 27 April 1917. Cf. photograph in Japanese memorabilia, and the Research Addendum.
5 33 Nyi, Zau Tsung. 7 Autograph and typed letters to Ethel Beebe; Peking, Los Angeles, New York, 15 Nov. 1922-1933 June 20.
5 34 O'Hara, Dorothea Warren. Christmas card with ANS to Ethel Beebe; [ca. December, 1956?]
5 35 Ozaki, Yei T. ALS to Ethel Snyder; Shimagawa? Japan, 1 Feb. 1917
6 1 Peabody, Anna May. ALS to Ethel Beebe; Yonkers, NY [n.d.] 4 p.
6 2 Phillips, B. Maude (Animal Rescue League of Boston) 4 TLLS to Ethel Beebe; Boston, 8 Dec.1933 - 23 Dec.1934. Re Animal Rescue League Marionettes.
6 3 Price, W. T. TLS to Ethel Snyder; New York, 6 Feb. 1919. 3 p. re changes in "Tasting Life."
6 4 Raymond, Gilbert H. TLS to Ethel Fairmont Beebe; New York, 30 Sept. 1944 re stock she has bought. Cancelled check from Beebe to Raymond attached.
6 5 Rowley, Francis H. 2 TLLS to Ethel Snyder; Boston, 12 Sept. 1919 - 4 Nov. 1922.
6 6 Salt, Henry S. 9 ALLS to Ethel Beebe; Brighton, 6 May 1923 -29 Feb. 1932. Includes a pamphlet by Salt, sent to Beebe (letter of Feb. 24, 1924) and some clippings of verse by Salt and biographical information.
6 7 Sandford, Emily White. ANS to Monty Beebe [Brandford. CT?] 10 Aug. [n.y.] Accompanied by three photographs of Emily White and her husband Percy, an obituary, Nov. 19, 1960, and a TLS "Frank G. O'Connor" to Ethel Beebe; Brooklyn, 29 Nov. 1960 re the death of Emily Sandford.
6 8 Shaw, Helen N. 5 ALLS to Ethel Beebe; Pasadena CA. 20 Jan. 1932 - 8 Dec. 1932. Re production of The Lovely Garden. One letter is fragmentary.
6 9 Sheriff, Charlotte (Mrs. A. N.) 7 ALL and postcard signed; Clearwater, FL., 29 March 1969 - 3 January 1971.
6 10 Shipley, Helen. TLS to Monty Beebe; Chevy Chase, Md., February 1971.
6 11 Sloan, Lucille. 11 signed letters and one fragment to Ethel Beebe; Denver, 2 May 1955 - 12 Sept. 1973. Clipping enclosed.
6 12 Smith, Anna K. Postcard photograph with notation and identification on verso.
6 13 Snyder, Lillian E. TLS to Ethel Beebe; [Kansas City, Mo.?] 4 Nov, 1958. Clipping of Lillian Snyder's obituary enclosed.
6 14 Snyder, William D. (2nd husband). 8 ALLS to Ethel Beebe; Kansas City, Cleveland, New York; [n.d.] 8 June 1921 - 11 July 1924. Folder also includes a card from Hot Springs, Arkansas, 21 March 1906, and clippings relating to the Snyders home and family property.
6 15 Sperry, Pauline (Mrs. Roger). ALS to Montie; Cheshire, CT [n.d.]
6 16 Stevens, Henry Bailey. 5 LLS to Ethel Beebe; Durham, NH, 11 Oct. 1928-28 April 1970. Folder includes duplicated Christmas letter, 1957, clipping about Stephens, pamphlet, and photos of Henry and Edna Stevens and Ethel Beebe, 1957.
6 17 Thompson, Mildred. ALS to Ethel Beebe; Christchurch, Hants [England] 9 Feb. 1934. 6 p.
6 18 Tolstoy, Alexandra L. 2 ALLS and TLS to Ethel Beebe; Haddam CT. and New York, 9 Oct. 1933-7 Oct. 1941. Includes clippings relating to Alexandra Tolstoy.
6 19 Tolstoi, Ilya. 3 ALLS to Ethel Beebe; New York and Southbury, CT., 15 March 1926 - 17 Nov. 1931. 7 p., 3 envelopes. Letters re her comments on his novel, a possible speaking engagement, and the co-authored story "The Scourge."
6 20 Tolstoi, Ilya. My Tribute to Justice; typed ms. New Haven Hospital, 18 Nov. 1933. 7 p., with a. annotations by Ethel Fairmont on p.1 and the verso of p.7. A defense of his mother against allegations by his sister Alexandra. Also letters between Paul Boytinck and Nikolai Tolstoy, 1997, re the manuscript.
6 21 [Tolsoti, Ilya] Beebe, Ethel. TLS to Nancy; Cheshire, CT., 20 Dec. 1933. An account of the final illness and death of Ilya Tolstoy. Mrs. Beebe drove him to the hospital at the time of his final illness and visited frequently. Includes newspaper obituaries of Tolstoi, clippings about him, and a periodical article by him.
6 22 Tompkins, Abigail Brown and Emma Louisa. 2 A. Notes S.; South Orange, NJ, 25 September and 18 Nov. 1925. Appreciations of the Lovely Garden.
6 23 Turner Ralph H. (NEA Service). TLS to Ethel Beebe; Cleveland, 27 June 1945 re her proposal about the "What a World" comic strip. With this are a draft of her letter to Turner, a typed note, July 1945, about an illustrator named Ethel Rogers, and a photograph of the Turner family, Christmas, 1929.
6 24 Tuvin, Leigh (surrogate daughter). ALS "Blanche," [s.l.] 12 Sept. 1909; photo (Curtiss Photograph Shop, Kansas City) identified as "Blanche Leigh Patrick, 1908 or 1909; Leigh Tuvin, Fort Lauderdale after Julius died." (c) ALS "Leigh" (Mrs. Julius H, Tuvin); Fort Lauderdale, 12 Nov. 1973.
6 25 University of Wisconsin [Playbill] Red Domino and Edwin Booth Dramatic Clubs present The Admirable Crichton by J.M. Barrie, Friday, January 14, 1916. Staff and cast includes the names of Mrs. Ethel Snyder and Marjorie Kinnan.
6 26 Van Dam, Lucia (Mrs. Henry Van Dam, daughter of Lillian Snyder) About 18 ALLS to Ethel Beebe; Madison, NJ., etc, 1970-1975, [n.d.]. Includes clippings and other material.
6 27 Vivisection Investigation League--Antil-Vivisection Society of New York. Notice of Annual Meeting to Members, 1968. Mrs. Murray C. Beebe, director.
6 28 Wakefield, Eva Ingersoll. 5 TLLS to Ethel Beebe; New York, 25 June 1957 - 30 Nov. 1964. Includes information re a memorial service for Eva Wakefield, May 10, 1979, and her grandfather, Robert Ingersoll.
6 29 Wayside Inn (Sudbury, MA) Tablet - Correspondence and other documents re a plan to place a tablet honoring humane workers with a quotation from Longfellow's Tales of a Wayside Inn to be placed on a tablet at the Inn. Principally correspondence from Francis H. Rowley to Ethel Beebe, 1926-1930.
6 30 Whipple, Warren. 7 ALLS to Ethel Beebe; East Hampton, NY [ca. 1945-46] re illustrations for her "What a World" cartoon. Includes letters from NEA and the New York Post Syndicate rejecting the cartoon, June -July 1946, other documents and clippings of cartoons.
6 31 Whitehead, E. K. 8 autograph and typed LLS to Ethel Beebe; Denver, 18 August 1913- 21 Dec. 1934. B) Numerous letter fragments to Ethel Beebe? C) Conception of a Humanitarian University, typed ms. (carbon) by E. K. Whitehead. D) TLS to Minnie Madern Fiske; Denver, 23 August 1919. E) Photograph of E. K. Whitehead.
6 32 Wynne-Tyson, Esme. 3 ALLS to Mrs. Beebe; Selsey, Sussex, 3 March 1962-Jan. 30 1965.
6 33 Yale University- Dept. of Drama. TLS "Maxine Schlingman," New Haven, 9 March 1953. Also memorabilia from Beebe's time as a student, 1927-28. Includes notes either from lectures or writings of George Pierce Baker, Yale Drama Alumni Newsletter, 1955,1959 and playbills, 1927-1932. The folder also includes a small collection of playbills from other theaters.
6 34 Young, Honor. TLS to Ethel Beebe; [s.l.] 29 Jan. 1952


Oversize Material


Box Folder
7 1 Rhymes for Kindly Children - Lyrics and music. Mrs. Bundy's Stair Steps," etc.; music and score.
7 2 Songs for Kindly Children. Words: E.F. Beebe; Music: R LoPresti. Ms. lyrics and scores.
7 3 Songs for Kindly Children. The Kindly Children Song Book. Rhymes by Ethel Fairmont; Music by Ernest Jackson; Illustrated by Johnny Gruelle. Joliet [etc.] P.F. Volland Co. Ms. dummy layout of text.
7 4 "What a World," text by Monty Beebe [illustrated by Warren Whipple] 12 comic strip panels, 8x19 inches.
7 5 "What a World," text by Monty Beebe [illustrated by Warren Whipple] 12 comic strip panels (negative and positive photographic plates) 4x9 inches.
7 6 [What a World] - Notebook with outline of strip and several inserted looseleaf sheets.


Research Addendum


Box Folder
8 1 Letter from Elizabeth E. Wiseman to Nancy Weyant, May 16, 2002, re: Beebe's ashes being spread on Wiseman's property and other memories of Beebe.
8 2 "Ethel Fairmont Snyder Beebe: A Memoir" by Elizabeth M. Wiseman, August 4, 2002.
8 3 Notes, correspondence, etc. associated with article "Ethel Fairmont Snyder, Mary Elkinton Nitobe and the Founding of the Japan Humane Society," by Frederick Carl Strong, III, and Nancy Strong Weyant, The East, 32:5.



For further information, please contact: Special Collections Access Services.

University of Florida Home Page