Skip to Search

Skip to Content



George A. Smathers Libraries (5 awards)

University of Florida Awards (5 awards)

Ben Walker, Access Services Department, 2007 recipient
Jackie Brown , Cataloging and Metadata Department, 2006 recipient
Gerald Langford, Cataloging and Metadata Department, 2006 recipient
Jack Waters, Acquisitions and Licensing Department, 2002 recipient

Cynthia Bowker , Systems Department, 2002 recipient

Winston Harris, Systems Department, 2002 recipient

Jack Waters, Acquisitions and Licensing Department, 2000 recipient

University of Florida Association of Academic Women

Carol Kem, Collection Management Department, 2004 recipient

Florida Library Association Awards (10 awards)

Deadline: February

Of particular interest:

  • FLA Leader of the Year
  • Librarian of the Year
  • Library of the Year
  • Lifetime Achievement Award
  • Intellectual Freedom Award
  • Library Web Site Award

American Library Association Awards

Deadline: primarily December-March (most awards have December deadlines)

Web site contains alphabetical list of ALA and ALA Division awards

ALA Allied Professional Association (1 award)

Award for Outstanding Achievement in Promoting Salaries and Status for Library Workers

Deadline: December

Brian Keith, Library Human Resources, 2007-2008 recipient

Association for Library Collections and Technical Services Awards (14 awards)

Deadline: December; November for SAGE Travel Grant

ALCTS awards cover the following areas:

    • Publishing
    • Technical Services Specializations
    • Professional Achievement
    • Support Staff
    • Special Service to ALCTS

Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL) Awards (18 awards)

Deadline: December-March (most awards have December deadlines); September for Leab Awards

ACRL awards fall into the following categories:

    • Achievement and Distinguished Service Awards
    • Research Awards/Grants
    • Publications
    • Best Practices in Marketing

Library Administration and Management Association Awards (11 awards)

Deadline: December-March (most awards have December deadlines)

Library and Information Technology Association Awards (5 awards; 3 scholarships)

Deadline: Awards: December-February (most due in December); Scholarships: March

Reference and User Services Association Awards (17 awards)

Deadline: December

Reference Service Press Award: Denise Bennett, Pam Cenzer, and Paul Kirk, 2006 recipients

RUSA MARS Achievement Recognition Certificate ("My Favorite Martian"): Leilani Freund, 2007 recipient; Denise Bennett, 2002 recipient

Society of American Archivists Awards

Deadline: most awards have February deadline (see Web site for list)

Special Libraries Association Awards

Deadline: most award nominations due in January

SLA Presidential Citations (accepted year-round)

SLA Awards and Honors (January deadline; Web site provides list)
ACS New Professional Award (sponsored by the SLA Chemistry Division and ACS Publications) Carrie Newsom, 2008 recipient

SAAAC Certificate of Merit Awards (May deadline)


University of Florida Home Page